We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise above and under water”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lumbalumba Diving

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lumbalumba Diving
Certificate of Excellence
Forch near Zürich
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Paradise above and under water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

For the second part of our diving holidays, we spent a week in this really beautiful resort on the mainland of Sulawesi. Leaving the dirty and loud mainroad, you enter a paradise garden. On the partly steep slopes are trees, many sorts of orchids and tropical shrubs composed together with small ponds and footpathes, everything is well thought-out. A real gem is the infinity pool.
The garden alone would make already a wonderful holiday, but not enough of the paradise: The food is extremely good. The bungalows with a marvellous view over the garden to the sea are spacious, extremely clean and very comfortable. The staff knows reasonably well English, is very friendly and helpful, met all our needs.
Diving with the well equipped dive boat is just great. The diving equipment is very well maintained and in good shape. Diving with a difference, indeed! Yet, the long ride to the divesites near Bunaken Island is one of the only disadvantages here. Also the fact, that there is no beach can be easily accepted with all the other advantages. We felt everywhere, that the owners love this place and put all their energy into it.
In short, a place, we can wholeheartedly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank boxfish70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
57
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

When you read only good things about a place on tripadvisor it raises your expectations. The fantastic thing is that LumbaLumba still exceeds that. Everything from the warm welcome, to the fantastic diving crew (Maxi, Kres and the rest ), the tasty food and Revols perfect Margaritas really made our stay something we will carry with us for the rest of our lives.
Thanks Ruel we will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I've been travelling around SE Asia for 25 years and Lumba Lumba is the best place I've ever stayed in. The people are great, the gardens are beautifully laid out, the food is consistently excellent. They very kindly gave a wonderful birthday party to my daughter. The upper cottages are light, well designed and have an awe-inspiring view. Only got home yesterday, but can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AndrewHK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I first stayed at Lumbalumba eight years ago. I have returned every year since. Roel and Juud and the staff at the resort and on the boat have made for a pleasent experience every year. The food is consistently great. I see constant improvements being made on the facility (Infinity pool, lounge, resturant and flowers) and i always seem to find something new and exciting in the water. The boat is roomy and easy to get on and off of (great for me). The quides are patient and experienced. They dive at your speed and experience level. You get individual attention. You are spread out on the reef so you can see, relax and enjoy the view. They respect the reef and the life that abounds there. Occasionally there are barbeques on the boat if the guests agree. (this is an extra expense, but worth it to enjoy real Indonesian flavor) These folks are definately interested in providing you with a great experience, at the resort and in the water. Give them a try.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Butch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I spent a lot of time researching a good dive resort at Manado, we weren't disappointed.
Lumbalumba Dive is the perfect boutique dive resort. It is small and intimate, only around 10 guests. The staff are all very long term employees which reflects on the wonderful, caring atmosphere stemming from the resident owners Juud and Roel.
The resort has great rooms, pool, landscaping and dining area. As there was my wife and I and two grown children we had the family bungalow with three adjoining rooms, each with own bathroom. Great view over the sea and pool.
The diving at Bunaken and closer coast dives were brilliant- warm, clear and huge array of sea life.
We have over 1000 underwater photos from the week diving.
The dive boat is wonderful- spacious, comfortable, well appointed and a dream to enter and exit water.
The dining is also fantastic, food is mostly buffet style with excellent range and enjoyed at communal table along with other guests and Juud and Roel. I guess you could dine at private table, but why would anyone want to.
Can't speak highly enough of each and every member of staff. They treated us more as friends than hotel guests, we all enjoyed their company, on the boat, in the resort and on two land based tours.
If you like small, happy, quality resorts this is the place.
We combined this stay up with 5 days at Kungkungan Bay Resort at Lembeh to see both wall diving at Bunaken and macro dives at Lembeh which was a great combination, but we were also amazed at the macro side of Lumbalumba.

We will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nzdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

very beautiful garden with pool and view over the ocean.
awesome food and very nice, helpful staff!
individual dive trips with an own boat just next to the hotel.
very recommendable and very fair prices

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ravenheart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Dutch owner-managers Roel and Juud deserve their number 1 ranking on this site. The hotel is clean and modern while retaining an Indonesian "feel". The impressive, sloping tropical gardens are beautifully maintained with a lovely view out to the islands of Bunaken and the volcano Manado Tua. Roel and Juud have a well-trained, friendly staff who are very helpful. The diving is world-class. The only drawback (compared with staying on the island) is the 75 minutes travel time to the dive sites (each way),but that is more than compensated for on return by some of the best food we've tasted in Indonesia. And for the price...what incredible value!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rusty_Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manado hotels
12.2 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 46 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 46 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
3.8 mi away
Murex Dive Resort
Murex Dive Resort
#3 of 20 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
15.3 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 46 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumbalumba Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumbalumba Diving

Property: Lumbalumba Diving
Address: PO Box 1721 | Sulawesi, Manado 95017, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lumbalumba Diving" is an informal, small and comfortable dive resort in Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia. With no more than 6 luxurious chalets, (9 rooms), we offer a familiar and flexible atmosphere with the personalized attention you are looking for. "Lumbalumba Diving" is a complete dive resort with own accommodation, excellent cuisine, bar, tropical pool, limited spa facilities, dive center, Private jetty and spacious dive catamaran. Located on a 3.5 hectare, mountain slope, in a lush botanical garden and overlooking the famous Bunaken Marine Park, we also have one of the most spectacular views you can find in Manado. "For us, you are not just another tourist. For you we are not just another dive resort" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lumbalumba Diving reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing