We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will visit Lumbalumba, again!”
Review of Lumbalumba Diving

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manado
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lumbalumba Diving
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed at Lumbalumba Diving resort four days and three nights on Oct, 09. But we should have had stayed there at least 2 more days. Because this accommodation was totally amazing! The cabin (family suites) was simple, clean, and comfortable. the garden was adorable, stuff was wonderful and friendly and the food (especially dinner) was remarkable. You will enjoy Asian Western cuisine. I didn't expect that they served such wonderful dish. We were off to Bunaken Marine Park every morning. My hubby did diving and an eight -year-old my daughter and I did snorkeling. We had lunch on the boat then moved to another point for the 2nd diving, after that we got back to hotel about 4. But if you want to try 3rd dive, they can arrange for you. Dinner started about 7. Many guests walked into the restaurant before dinner and chatted about what they see in the sea with a beer. It pumped up! We made a plenty of unforgettable memory and really had fun at Lumbalumba not only diving and snorkeling. We are looking forward to visit there next time.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
2  Thank Temancantik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2009

Reading all the reviews so far there is really not a lot more to say, i guess they sum it all up. But just in case you did not read the previous reviews here we go again: Lumba Lumba is a small (very small) resort with a capacity for 12 guest. There are 4 cabins for 2 guests and 1 cabin that sleeps 4. The resort has been built by the owners Roel en Juud, brick by brick, stone by stone and the result is amazing. A beautiful garden with the best infinity pool ever, a nice restaurant with bar and very comfortable accommodation. As the resort is small you feel like you are at home and all the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The diving is out of this world, with a great crew on board the boat, we could not have wished for anything else. The best thing i feel is the fact that Roel en Juud have poured all their previous resort experiences (only the good of course)! into this little slice of heaven and you can feel it!!
Great work guys, keep up the good work!
Michiel and ingrid

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLinSinCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

This was my second trip to Lumbalumba and my partners 4th. Lumbalumba is predominantly a dive resort, it has four cabins which sleep 2 and a family cabin which sleeps 4, so they are full at 12 guests.

The cabins are simple, but very clean and comfortable. The bedroom is spacious with air-conditioning and a ceiling fan, has an ensuite with shower and separate toilet. There are tea and coffee making facilities and unlimited free drinking water. Each cabin has a verandah with a hammock overlooking the beautiful gardens and with a stunning view of the ocean.

The most amazing thing about lumbalumba is the staff, you couldn't ask for better hosts than Roel and Juud who join you for dinner every night and do anything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They have altered our bookings and changed flights for us, and are happy to accommodate non-divers. The dive guides and boat crew are fantastic! They go out of their way to ensure you have the best dive experience ever, find the tiniest sea creatures as well as the big stuff such as rays, sharks and turtles and make the boat trips a genuinely enjoyable experience. As they also look after all your dive gear for you there's nothing to worry about after the dives. If you are lucky the crew sometimes cook satays on the boat!

The food is exceptional! It is truly fantastic and in a beautiful setting. The restaurant has views of the ocean and is halfway back to your cabin so a great place to grab a beer after a dive then head up to the infinity pool to soak the salt off before heading back to the room to relax in the hammock.

I can't say enough about how wonderful an experience staying at lumbalumba is, if you get the opportunity stay there and marvel at just how amazing a dive holiday can be, but be warned it is so good it may ruin diving anywhere else for you!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieAndyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Where to start...., I travelled alone and looked for something reasonable priced. With relative luxority though not over done but also not in the back packers leaque. What I found at Lumbalumba Diving exceeded all my expectations. The place is in one word "fantastic!", Small, with 12 guests they are full. The property is small in terms of accommodation but quite big in terms of size. It is over 3.5 hectare big of which most is beautifull landscaped botanical garden. There are small waterfalls with ponds, and a stroll through the garden is already a real treat. The resort is complete with bar, restaurant with excellent food and they have an amazing swimming pool with infinity effect and tiled on the inside with flagstones. The diving is the best I ever had. Ok, the reefs are there for any one but the difference was the guides they have at Lumbalumba and the boat. The guides know everything to find, speak good english and are very pleasent company. The boat is inboard powered, spacious and has a very convenient platform for easy in and out.
Maybe I can find only one minus and that is that the resort looks way better then it looks on their web site. That one needs some updating....The resort lies on a mountain slope and if you have trouble walking it is maybe not the best place for you, all though you can also be driven to you room if necessary. The owners and managers are Roel & Juud. A Dutch couple who live already 15 years in Indonesia and build the place themselves. Every part from the stone jetty with harbor, dive center to the great accommodation, restaurant and pool. I can go on for hrs like this but have to stop now. But folks believe me. This is a place to go and actually hope not too many people will find out!

Stayed: September 2008
2  Thank poeldiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Since one month I'm back from Lumbalumba - if I think about it it still warms up my haert and puts a smile on my face!! For the second time I've been there - and I'm sure it wasn't the last one! Excellent diving with an amazing Dive-Crew, beautiful food, friendly stuff, charming rooms with balconies with "the perfect view" and a lovely swimming-pool - all you need for relaxing and unforgettable holiday!! Juud and Roel and all the rest of Lumbalumba Crew you are tremendous and you're doing a great job! See you again in your Paradise! Big hug

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Diisli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

I have just left Lumbalumba Diving after spending nine days there. I was also there last summer and this is the first time that I have ever visited a resort more than once! This place is special.
From the moment that you arrive you are made to feel like part of a family. The cottages are beautiful, the food is delicious and the people are the friendliest that I have ever met. The owners Roel and Juud dine with guests every night and go to a great deal of trouble to give everyone a wonderful experience.
My husband and I are divers and we went diving everyday. The dive crew are lovely and they simply cant do enough for you. The boat is spacious and the lunch is great. The diving groups are very small and the crew are experts at finding amazing underwater creatures. My personal favourites are turtles and the crew knew just the sites to take me to...I saw ten turtles on one dive!!
If you dont want to dive or you have a partner that doesnt dive then there is still plenty to do. There is a beautiful swimming pool and trips can be arranged to local spots such as the volcano or Manado town.
I would recommend this place to anyone. I now count all of the people at Lumbalumba as true friends and I call it my second home!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wonderwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank OpkikkerLogies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manado hotels
3.3 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
9.3 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 49 in Manado
568 reviews
1 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
#12 of 49 in Manado
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mapia Resort
Mapia Resort
#11 of 49 in Manado
109 reviews
32.7 mi away
Gangga Island Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Murex Dive Resort
Murex Dive Resort
#8 of 38 in Manado
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumbalumba Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumbalumba Diving

Address: PO Box 1721 | Sulawesi, Manado 95017, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Manado
Price Range: £30 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lumbalumba Diving" is an informal, small and comfortable dive resort in Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia. With no more than 6 luxurious chalets, (9 rooms), we offer a familiar and flexible atmosphere with the personalized attention you are looking for. "Lumbalumba Diving" is a complete dive resort with own accommodation, excellent cuisine, bar, tropical pool, limited spa facilities, dive center, Private jetty and spacious dive catamaran. Located on a 3.5 hectare, mountain slope, in a lush botanical garden and overlooking the famous Bunaken Marine Park, we also have one of the most spectacular views you can find in Manado. "For us, you are not just another tourist. For you we are not just another dive resort" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing