We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality diving and quality resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lumbalumba Diving

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lumbalumba Diving
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality diving and quality resort!”
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I stayed at LumbaLumba for a week and it was really superb. I travelled by myself and had a great and relaxing time! The quality of the divingschool and the resort is absolutely very outstanding! The place with only four rooms and a big familyhouse are surrounded by a beautiful and very big garden. This completed with a magnificent pool and the stunning view from the rooms and the restaurant (with great food every nght!), make this resort a place to come back to. The diving was also high quality. Divemasters who really now the marine live. Everyday out on the boat was fun, relaxing, educational, and totally something you can do for weeks without getting bored.
A marvelous place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCHvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
57
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gondrin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Lumbalumba is a small but perfect dive resort with great personal service and excellent facilities. Spacious detached comfortable bungalows set in a magnificent tropical garden, an open bar and restaurant where guests have dinner with the Dutch owners of the resort, enjoying the most delicious asian dishes and specialities, super friendly staff and of course great diving facilities. We went muck diving along the coast where we saw mimick optopusses, seahorses and many other extraordinary sea creatures. The very comfortable boat took us also to Bunaken with its many wall dive, sandy slope and coral garden dive sites. Sometimes we were even accompanied by dolphins and small wales. Not to forget the fantastic mandarin fish we spotted just in front of the peer at dusk! We were even spoiled by the staff who took over the preparing, rinsing and drying of our equipment. Certainly one of the best diving holidays we ever had. We surely won't forget the Sateh prepared for us on the barbeque on the boat by the staff! Thanks very much for the great time we had!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brouquere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed at Lumbalumba Diving resort four days and three nights on Oct, 09. But we should have had stayed there at least 2 more days. Because this accommodation was totally amazing! The cabin (family suites) was simple, clean, and comfortable. the garden was adorable, stuff was wonderful and friendly and the food (especially dinner) was remarkable. You will enjoy Asian Western cuisine. I didn't expect that they served such wonderful dish. We were off to Bunaken Marine Park every morning. My hubby did diving and an eight -year-old my daughter and I did snorkeling. We had lunch on the boat then moved to another point for the 2nd diving, after that we got back to hotel about 4. But if you want to try 3rd dive, they can arrange for you. Dinner started about 7. Many guests walked into the restaurant before dinner and chatted about what they see in the sea with a beer. It pumped up! We made a plenty of unforgettable memory and really had fun at Lumbalumba not only diving and snorkeling. We are looking forward to visit there next time.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Temancantik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Reading all the reviews so far there is really not a lot more to say, i guess they sum it all up. But just in case you did not read the previous reviews here we go again: Lumba Lumba is a small (very small) resort with a capacity for 12 guest. There are 4 cabins for 2 guests and 1 cabin that sleeps 4. The resort has been built by the owners Roel en Juud, brick by brick, stone by stone and the result is amazing. A beautiful garden with the best infinity pool ever, a nice restaurant with bar and very comfortable accommodation. As the resort is small you feel like you are at home and all the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The diving is out of this world, with a great crew on board the boat, we could not have wished for anything else. The best thing i feel is the fact that Roel en Juud have poured all their previous resort experiences (only the good of course)! into this little slice of heaven and you can feel it!!
Great work guys, keep up the good work!
Michiel and ingrid

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLinSinCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2009

This was my second trip to Lumbalumba and my partners 4th. Lumbalumba is predominantly a dive resort, it has four cabins which sleep 2 and a family cabin which sleeps 4, so they are full at 12 guests.

The cabins are simple, but very clean and comfortable. The bedroom is spacious with air-conditioning and a ceiling fan, has an ensuite with shower and separate toilet. There are tea and coffee making facilities and unlimited free drinking water. Each cabin has a verandah with a hammock overlooking the beautiful gardens and with a stunning view of the ocean.

The most amazing thing about lumbalumba is the staff, you couldn't ask for better hosts than Roel and Juud who join you for dinner every night and do anything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They have altered our bookings and changed flights for us, and are happy to accommodate non-divers. The dive guides and boat crew are fantastic! They go out of their way to ensure you have the best dive experience ever, find the tiniest sea creatures as well as the big stuff such as rays, sharks and turtles and make the boat trips a genuinely enjoyable experience. As they also look after all your dive gear for you there's nothing to worry about after the dives. If you are lucky the crew sometimes cook satays on the boat!

The food is exceptional! It is truly fantastic and in a beautiful setting. The restaurant has views of the ocean and is halfway back to your cabin so a great place to grab a beer after a dive then head up to the infinity pool to soak the salt off before heading back to the room to relax in the hammock.

I can't say enough about how wonderful an experience staying at lumbalumba is, if you get the opportunity stay there and marvel at just how amazing a dive holiday can be, but be warned it is so good it may ruin diving anywhere else for you!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieAndyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groingen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Where to start...., I travelled alone and looked for something reasonable priced. With relative luxority though not over done but also not in the back packers leaque. What I found at Lumbalumba Diving exceeded all my expectations. The place is in one word "fantastic!", Small, with 12 guests they are full. The property is small in terms of accommodation but quite big in terms of size. It is over 3.5 hectare big of which most is beautifull landscaped botanical garden. There are small waterfalls with ponds, and a stroll through the garden is already a real treat. The resort is complete with bar, restaurant with excellent food and they have an amazing swimming pool with infinity effect and tiled on the inside with flagstones. The diving is the best I ever had. Ok, the reefs are there for any one but the difference was the guides they have at Lumbalumba and the boat. The guides know everything to find, speak good english and are very pleasent company. The boat is inboard powered, spacious and has a very convenient platform for easy in and out.
Maybe I can find only one minus and that is that the resort looks way better then it looks on their web site. That one needs some updating....The resort lies on a mountain slope and if you have trouble walking it is maybe not the best place for you, all though you can also be driven to you room if necessary. The owners and managers are Roel & Juud. A Dutch couple who live already 15 years in Indonesia and build the place themselves. Every part from the stone jetty with harbor, dive center to the great accommodation, restaurant and pool. I can go on for hrs like this but have to stop now. But folks believe me. This is a place to go and actually hope not too many people will find out!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank poeldiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Since one month I'm back from Lumbalumba - if I think about it it still warms up my haert and puts a smile on my face!! For the second time I've been there - and I'm sure it wasn't the last one! Excellent diving with an amazing Dive-Crew, beautiful food, friendly stuff, charming rooms with balconies with "the perfect view" and a lovely swimming-pool - all you need for relaxing and unforgettable holiday!! Juud and Roel and all the rest of Lumbalumba Crew you are tremendous and you're doing a great job! See you again in your Paradise! Big hug

  • Liked — Just everything!!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Diisli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manado hotels
12.2 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 46 in Manado
118 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 46 in Manado
465 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
3.8 mi away
Murex Dive Resort
Murex Dive Resort
#4 of 20 in Manado
104 reviews
15.3 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 46 in Manado
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumbalumba Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumbalumba Diving

Property: Lumbalumba Diving
Address: PO Box 1721 | Sulawesi, Manado 95017, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lumbalumba Diving" is an informal, small and comfortable dive resort in Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia. With no more than 6 luxurious chalets, (9 rooms), we offer a familiar and flexible atmosphere with the personalized attention you are looking for. "Lumbalumba Diving" is a complete dive resort with own accommodation, excellent cuisine, bar, tropical pool, limited spa facilities, dive center, Private jetty and spacious dive catamaran. Located on a 3.5 hectare, mountain slope, in a lush botanical garden and overlooking the famous Bunaken Marine Park, we also have one of the most spectacular views you can find in Manado. "For us, you are not just another tourist. For you we are not just another dive resort" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lumbalumba Diving reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing