We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Good Rooms, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sintesa Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Manado
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Location, Good Rooms, Good Value”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

If you paid the same in Europe or USA as you do for this hotel you would definitely not get the same value. The rooms are good size, bed is very comfortable and the amenities are good. The internet connection in the room is great as well. Housekeeping standards were good and I liked that they did some towel origami!! The pool is large and clean and long enough to allow you to do laps and you can easily order food and drinks there if you just want to relax around the pool. Breakfast was good and plentiful - sometimes too much choice, eggs and pancakes made to order. We ordered room service one night and the burger was great! For indonesian options I would go out into the town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    131
    56
    16
    13
See reviews for
47
54
17
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I've stayed here for few times and I think this is the best hotel in Manado City. The price, location, the view, room design and facilities are excellent. It has modern feel and clean, even the President stays here for every event in Manado. Manado need to upgrade the service, and this hotel is not an exemption. It took an at least 30 minutes to check in, without any queue.

This hotel is located on a hill, so you can see stunning view from your room, especially when you got a sea view window. The shops and restaurants are just walk away, but be prepare to climb the hill on the way back, or just ask for shuttle.

Room Tip: Ask for their corner room with the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This hotel is located at the central of the town, it is convenient, peaceful and quiet. Not only that, the room is huge with the big writing table in the room, huge TV, free WIFI. It is perfect for the business traveler. I was staying there for 4 nights. My hotel room was located at 10 floor and was facing the mountain and sea, therefore, I can enjoy the viewing of the nice sunrise and sunset everyday. As I was too tired to explore the town, therefore, most of time I was having my dinner in the hotel. The Hotel restaurant is big, food was good, and the price was reasonable. This hotel has a good size swimming pool, Gym facilities are fully equipped and the the Gym are crowded in the evening. You have to pay for the use of sauna at Rp50,000++ even if you are the hotel guest. and it's located at the 1 st floor Spa area. Besides, the Sauna room is too small, I believe its cater for one user only. Even with this minor problem, I will still stay at this hotel again on my next business trip.

Room Tip: Please choose the mountain and sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hankwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

A nice hotel equivalent to a European 4 Star hotel but definitely not a 5 Star hotel. This is one of the better hotels in Manado. The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious.

It was formerly the local Manado hospital which has been turned into a hotel. Therefore it does not have the design or layout that any purpose built hotel would have. The lobby is nice but not impressive. Looks like they just removed part of the 2nd floor to give height to lobby ceiling. On the ceiling of the 2nd floor in two places there is evidence of mould or perhaps it is some water leakage. The swimming pool is quite open in fact guests eat right next to the pool and it could have been made more private if located a little further away.

Food was good and fresh and breakfast staff were very helpful especially with regards to special diets. Breakfast can be eaten outdoors overlooking the pool which is nice.

On the downside I checked-in in the morning a few hours before the official check in time of 12 noon and was charged an early check in fee of close to the one night rate. Check in is a guests first impression and not off to a good start for me. I stayed here for 3 nights and Hotel occupancy was very low during my stay. There was no porter on either check in or check out to help with luggage.

Secondly to my great surprise when I asked for some extra towels and a bed sheet change they said yes but only if I pay an extra 50,000 Indonesian Rupiah = approx. US$6. I agree if you stay at some cheap hotel but not here, no way, not when you are paying top rate. This left me with the feeling of it being a money grabbing hotel. I would not be charged this when staying in a ‘The Peninsula’ Hotel. But please note that this hotel does not belonging to ‘The Peninsula’ Hotels Group thus please do not compare
.
When they cleaned my room they did not renew any of the bathroom toiletries and I did not dare ask as I felt they would charge for this too, well that was my feeling. Also due to the size of the room not all parts of the floor was clean. Under the table and next to some of the walls were still dirty.

The rooms do have broadband internet access but unfortunately no Wifi. The gym is well equipped & popular with locals but the view out of window is all the hotel bins, not a pleasant sight. The bathroom scales were not working, basically needing a new battery. If English is your language then be prepared to repeat yourself several times as staff English skills need a lot to be desired.

One annoying aspect is that each time I received a fax they hand delivered it to my room but instead of putting it in an envelope under the door like other hotels do, instead they rang my door bell and woke me up each time! A sure lack of finesse.

I stayed here only due to the reviews on Tripadvisor thus I feel compelled to share my feedback.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rm1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stayed there for a short business trip. Judging from the looks of the other hotels in town, this seems to be the best alternative for a business hotel. The hotel lobby and receiption does not have any charme and neither do the rooms, but everything is clean, tidy and in good working condition.
The rooms are big and bright and mine had a nice view to the active volcanoe couple of kilometers outside Manado. There is a basic set of amenities in the big bathroom, an LCD TV and wired broadband in the room, but for example no fruits as a welcome gift (guess I am kind of spoilt from Jakarta).
The lobby has free wireless, but it is quite slow.
The breakfast is good if you like the local varieties early morning, if you are more into Western food it is so-so only.
The pool is big, but the location is a bit strange right in front of the restaurant. The Gym is surprisingly big and well equipped and frequented mainly by Manado residents and not Hotel guest. I didnt try the massage, but the prices seemed very reasonable and the place looked nice and clean.
As other reviewers have commented, the views are very nice and thanks to the location, it is also very quite. Nevertheless, main Boulevard and Shopping Malls are in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Very clean and huge room, location is very strategic in the middle of town. Free internet everywhere, wifi in lobby area but cable internet in the room....

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fajar a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel is reasonably priced and the room I stayed in was large, modern and very comfortable. It is up on a slight hill so it is a way from the noise of local traffic. A taxi from the airport costs less than US$10 and the ride takes 20-30 minutes. The hotel restaurant has a reasonable selection of a la carte choices. Local food options are within walking distance. If you aren't from Manado, or don't know anyone there, it might not be the place to have a family holiday. But it works for buisness meetings and conferences.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk_Franklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manado hotels
0.5 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 46 in Manado
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston Manado Hotel
Aston Manado Hotel
#4 of 46 in Manado
407 reviews
3.7 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Maleosan Manado
6.2 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 46 in Manado
118 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sintesa Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sintesa Peninsula Hotel

Property: Sintesa Peninsula Hotel
Address: Jln. Gunung Wenang | Gunung, Wenang, Manado 95117, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sintesa Peninsula Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sintesa Peninsula features 150 beautifully appointed, bright and airy guest rooms and suites designed with your complete comfort in mind. Each room boosts over-sized bathrooms with double vanity units and separate shower cubicles, large flat screen TV and free internet access for your comfort. Also, for the discerning business traveler the exclusive Sintesa Club Floor rooms and Executive Club Lounge are ideal for your demanding business needs with many additional benefits such as free laundry and complimentary drinks and snacks in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sintesa Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing