We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Manado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed in room 1145.
The good:
1: breakfast buffet. Large selection of food. I especially appreciate the omelette bar (they can do egg white omelette - yay!).
The local specialties - bubur & Nasi kuning manado were quite nice). The bacon was a little weird, but at least it was real pork bacon. There was plenty of other hot and standard continental breakfast items as well.
2: gym. It's alays a little tough working out in the hot and high humidity limate of indo, but the gym was nicely equipped. They have one each of the standard cardio equipment, as well as some free weights and weightlifting machines. Towel service, tv, and nice adjoining locker rooms. The gym has a good view of the pool and golf range! And mountain in the back.
3: free wifi. This is available in the lobby areas only. Not the fastest, but at least there is something. The rooms only have hard line connection.
The not so good:
1: room. like a lot of other hotels these days, the electricity into the room requires you to put in a card. So it will take awhile for the air conditioning to get all of the humidity out of the room. It took a full day to alleviate the hot, humid feeling in the room.
2: service. It doesnt seem like the front desk is able to see the room from which you are calling. The mini fridge in the room is locked, so you need to get housekeeping to open it for you. After calling and waiting for 40 min, they still hadn't showed up. I called again, and after another 20 min, still nothing. I called a third time and the front desk person said they had already opened it.... Turns out it was for a different room. That was frustrating.
Other tips: housekeeping props the room door open when they clean the room each day, so this inevitably let's in a few Mosquitos/ gnats. I suggest you stay up to kill em before they attack you in your sleep.
Overall: had a few issues with the room, but the hotel has nice amenities. Probably a decent choice given the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VtDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGreenaway, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2011

Hi and thank you for your feedback and comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed so much of our resort. The system of the mini bars being locked when the room is unused, is being discontinued on December 1st and we are sorry that we did not have this removed prior to your arrival. Housekeeping do keep the doors partially opened, and this is to alert guests if they return to the room during service that our staff are in fact in the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards


Ross Greenaway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 526 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Surabaya
1
Reviewed 13 November 2011

First time moment while we entered to the hotel is an Luxury Hotel. The hotel located nearby to the Air Port. Luxury room decoration and Golf view is an amazing facility. However there is a few adversity for me that the hotel is a bit distance to the center of city (Boulevard road) and food center.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Accompanied husband on a business trip so I didn't expect much.

Pros: Close to the airport. Reputable blue bird taxis are always available on hotel grounds. Convention center right across lobby. Nice small pool with "infinity edge" with view of the mountains, enjoyed swimming there with my baby. Surprisingly as a no frills business hotel it has a kids activity center, but nothing special.

Cons: Since it's close to the airport, there's nothing much to see close by, you'd have to travel to the city for that. No proper mini fridge in room, just a drink cabinet that happens to run on electricity, (personally i think a cooler box with crushed ice would have done a better job) so I had to ask the concierge to keep my expressed milk for my baby in their fridge, which they were very obliging to help with. Actually there were ants in the drink cooler but to be fair i was too lazy to point it out to the staff.
No lunch or dinner buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chatoyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The service is great we stayed 4 nights at the Novotel and felt very spoiled for the low price we paid. I booked through Novotel website and got the room for around $50 US a night including breakfast buffet for 2. We had the best sleeps in our entire 2 1/2 months travels at the Novotel. I loved the powerful rain shower and big tub and the best beds in the world. The breakfast buffet was great. The pool was never busy and a perfect way to relax and as a spectacular view on the Volcano. It’s the best Novotel I ever sleep, the building is very beautiful also the restaurants where you can have a very nice dinner and good wine.
The staffs is very friendly and professional on the last day we had a big problem but the hotel manager mister Ross himself save our neck,

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Bogor, Indonesia
11
Reviewed 8 September 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Not recommended for the single traveler, this is not a "leisure" hotel in anyway. The pool is very small, the golf course is very run down and brown rather than green. It's very much a conference center hotel and very very far from the city (close to airport). The hotel itself was not good but not the worst ive been too. Service was not very good (considering how friendly indonesian culture is), room was smell of mold, got moved to a new room (upgraded) but was only a little better and only half the lights could be turned out at night. The rest wouldn't turn off. The food is very mediocore yet very expensive especially for the quality and volume you get. I personally would never stay nor recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kris_goku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

We are a truely integrated Resort catering for both Conference and Leisure Guests alike with many Resort facilities. Our Pool is substantial in size and its dimensions are 33 metres by 8 metres. We were not aware that you played Golf during your stay and are surprised that if you did, you didn't notice the concluding stags of our extensive Course renovations. The strip of grass between the Pool and the Fairways has browned off a little as it is currently the dry season, but that is not part of the actual Golf Course. The Resort is located 5 kilometers from the Airport,and 11 kilometers from the City - ideal for a Resort as accessible to both, but in the countryside not the city.

We met personally on the first day of your stay for over an hour and you were subsequently upgraded from a Standard Room to a One Bedroom Suite, it is disappointing to hear that this was still not a suitable to you. Also during that meeting we discussed the fact that culturally the Indonesian staff tend to “shy away” from loud and demonstrative behaviour, directed at them.

Our average menu price for a main course dish, ranges between USD$7-$17 which we are confident represents very good value.


Best regards


Ross Greenaway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

A very nice newly hotel in Manado, just 15 minutes to the airport.....

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fajar a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manado hotels
4.2 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 49 in Manado
568 reviews
4.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Manado
10.3 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Maleosan Manado
3.9 mi away
Aston Manado Hotel
Aston Manado Hotel
#10 of 49 in Manado
446 reviews
7.7 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 49 in Manado
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre

Address: Jl. AA. Maramis - Kayuwatu / Kairagi II | Grand Kawanua International City, Manado 95254, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manado
#9 Spa Hotel in Manado
Price Range: £26 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Center is 15 minutes from Sam Ratulangi International Airport and 20 minutes from city center. Nestled in 180 hectares of land. The hotel stylishly appointed rooms & suites embrace the splendid view of golf course and manicured garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manado Hotel Manado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing