We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but need some improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Manado
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“Great hotel but need some improvements”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Overall, great hotel with nice mountain and golf course view, long lap pool and the food was also good which includes local Manadonese food varieties. Some facilities we tried were the pool and bicycles which we rented at the hotel's lobby and rode around the area. It was great value for money since we got the upgraded to the suite room, complement from the hotel manager :). We stayed at one of the suites room on the ground floor. As it is a great hotel and the reception was equally great, it deserves inputs for improvements on the following:

- smelly linens and pillow cover on second night, however, we realized it too late since our kids already fell asleep on the linens and its was already very late at night. So, we had to wait for the next morning's room make up, but when got back to the room at the next night it was still the same smell. From the odor we guessed it was due to the fabrics not drying completely. Only after the next day's room make up we got the proper clean linens and pillow covers. Later we learnt, there was a problem with their drying machines.
- although the room setting from first glance was great with minimalist style interior decoration, after looking more closely we noted poor paint, electrical outlet and wall plastering works which were easily noticeable around the bedroom and bathroom area. Thought to get some picture of them but decided to leave them alone.
- the staffs presented themselves nicely, however, some need to learn to greet when they meet with hotel guests. We note this since we had traveled to some other tourist destinations and felt the hotel's lacking slightly by comparison;
- laundry staffs made minor mistakes by mistakenly wrote different room number for our clothes, which happened twice. Though at the end they managed to return all our clothes prior to our departure.
- the hotel has a spa which masseurs massaged quite well, however, they tend to whisper and joked around with each other during me and wife's couple massage session. So this was distracting, particularly, if we compare it to other destination hotels' spas where the staffs treated guests more professionally.

In summary, we enjoyed the stay and hope to see the improvement when we come back next year. Hope you enjoy it too if ever to visit.

Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleep_Eat_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGreenaway, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, feedback is very much appreciated by us as we strive to improve our services and facilities. Please accept our sincere apologies, however we are delighted that you enjoyed so many of our wonderful Food items and sports facilities..........

The issue with the linen is unacceptable and we can guarantee that this would not be repeated, coincidently we have recently added a second industrial dryer to our operation ensuring a perfect result.

Again, we greatly appeciate the time you took to write your review.


Regards


Ross Greenaway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    210
    102
    40
    14
See reviews for
101
105
41
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The hotel is nearby the airport, next to the Kawanua Convention Centre and far from city centre. At saturday night it took 1 hour to go to city centre, turns out the traffice not only happen in Jakarta, but its also in Manado.

I love the internet service, its fast and easy. The room is big enough for 2 or 3. It has a large garden, big parking lots, but small swimming pool.

The restaurant a la carte menu has not much variety.

Over all, its nice to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sepuluhdesember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGreenaway, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for that positive feedback. I can let you know that we have a new Chef at the Resort who specializes in a la carte, and is launching a new menu in Square Restaurant very soon!


Regards and safe travels


Ross Greenaway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Novotel Manado is a nice hotel with a very reasonable rate. I got further 10% reduction using Garuda Indonesia boarding pass.

It is the right option when you arrive late eveinning or depart early in the morning, it takes 10 min away from airport. However, it is not the right option if you want to down town, it may take you in traffic...

Room is pretty much clean though there are some repair to be done in bath room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The location of this hotel is not at city centre, and also far from any store or local/traditional restaurant. But there are some restaurants at the hotel.
You can rent car with driver, but the rate is not cheap.
If you play golf this hotel is right for you. You can rent from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel is about 10 minutes from the airport and excellent for a overnight stay, or a longer one. The grounds are beautiful and the pool has a lovely outlook. Staff were excellent and efficient. Breakfast was really good with a wide range of food provided. Rooms are large with a well appointed bathroom. Booked online for an unbelievably low price. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vyonne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you very much for the positive feedback, it will be very encourgaing to us all here at Novotel Manado as we strive for constant improvement in our service and product.

Safe travels..................


Ross Greenaway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Novotel Manado is very nice and peacefull hotel. Staff are very friendly. Nice view over the golf course. It is very good place for meeting and convention. However, the location is quite far from the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esantoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

From Manado Airport a short taxi ride leads to Novotel Manado and Convention Centre. The WOW factor kicks in when the taxi enters into the driveway with it’s manicured lawns and then up to the Grand entrance. You are given a most warm welcome and directed to the reception where the warm welcome continues and the check in is completed in a few minutes carried out with efficiency and courtesy. The best is yet to come. The whole of the inside of the Novotel is open plan with no doors to go through from the magnificent entrance to the rear leading to the outdoor swimming pool and outside seating area. I was allocated room 1150 on the ground floor. As I entered the WOW factor took over because the room is large, the décor and the design especially the desk chair which is a unique shape as well as the lounge chair. There is a door from the room to a courtyard which has a seating area. The bed was comfortable and the room and the bathroom were spotless with a big square shower room. Great choice at breakfast, Western,Asian. The best of this hotel is the staff. They make a visit to Novotel Manado a place to visit where you are greeted at all times by a genuine smile from all staff. Manado is a beautiful city on the Island of Sulawesi and a good tourist attraction.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WFSGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you very much for this positive feedback, when we share this with our team it reinforces that our efforts do make a difference to our Guests - which is what we strive for.

we look forward to seeing you again soon!


Rgards


Ross Greenaway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manado hotels
4.2 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
524 reviews
4.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Manado
10.3 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sintesa Peninsula Hotel
7.7 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 45 in Manado
135 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aston Manado Hotel
Aston Manado Hotel
#6 of 45 in Manado
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre

Property: Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Address: Grand Kawanua International City | Jl. AA. Maramis - Kayuwatu / Kairagi II, Manado 95254, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Manado
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manado
#7 Spa Hotel in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Center is 15 minutes from Sam Ratulangi International Airport and 20 minutes from city center. Nestled in 180 hectares of land. The hotel stylishly appointed rooms & suites embrace the splendid view of golf course and manicured garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manado Hotel Manado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing