We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for golf or a stopover but far away from the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Manado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Had an unexpected stop over at the Novotel, was impressed with the rooms, quiet large, modern and very comfy bed. Staff are a little slow at the bar but this is typical in Indonesia, restaurant food was pretty good and the location overlooking the pool and golf course with the mountains in the back ground was very nice.

The hotel is very close to the airport so if you have an early flight its convenient but if you want to get into the Manado action it is a long way out of town especially with the traffic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_NovotelManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Manado.
kind regards
Stephane Fagez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

I was staying for 4 nights in this hotel. If you like to hit golf ball, this hotel is a good one.

The hotel is close to Manado airport (15-20 minutes driving). It has good facilities. Nice swimming pool, and restaurant. However, the food in restaurant is average. We ordered sushi, but the rice was not Japanese rice; so, it was not that good. Moreover, the services are not bad, but a bit slow.


The room was clean and comfortable. The staffs were also friendly and helpful.

I also had a chance to visit Bunaken island. Around 15 minutes by speedboat from Manado. It was very nice. Snorkeling and diving were excellent.

So, if you like golfing, snorkeling, or diving, and enjoying your stay in Manado, this hotel is a good one.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ibnu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_NovotelManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Ibnu B,
Many thanks for your review and suggestions to improve our Japanese food. Rest assured that we will look into it to improve taste.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Manado.
Kind regards
Stephane Fagez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

the manado novotel is modern and rooms are fery spacious and nicely appointed. i give this hotel a five star rating because i see it in the context of being embedded in this truly awful city of manado which i can only describe as a disgusting filthy ugly third world city. so having accomodation at this level available at all lifts this hotel, which would still rate very good in a nice city way. i recommend this hotel for the inevitable day in between diving and flying out. if you play golf then you are in heaven as a nice golf course is just outside, if not then the rooms with big tv, nice bathroom and comfy beds are good enough to waste a day away without doing anything.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandemanSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_NovotelManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear DandemanSYD,
I is always a honour to get positive reviews from seasoned travellers and I would like to thank you for it.
I am very sorry to read your assessment of the City of Manado. Please rest assured that many tourism professionals in Manado are committed to raise awareness of the importance of keeping the city clean and beautiful as well as control developments in a sustainable way.
We hope to welcoming you back to Novotel Manado in the future.
Kind regards
Stephane Fagez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We had an excellent short stopover here. We chose the Novetel based on its proximity to the airport as we had a very early flight the following morning. The room that we stayed in was large, well maintained, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Service was spotty; we had great success with getting a taxi to the airport but staff were unable to help up to get a band-aid/plaster for a wound. The food was not great; the menu was a mix of all different styles of food and I wonder if perhaps they aren't playing to their strengths? At $40 USD a night, this was excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisaAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_NovotelManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear AlisaAAM,
Many thanks for your kind review and suggestions for improvements. You can rest assured that we shall work hard to make sure we fine tune our service standards.
Kind regards
Stephane Fagez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We booked Novotel in Manado because we wanted a nice place to stay for a night while in transit. We had a late flight in from Bali and were traveling early the next morning to Bitung. The room was bright and clean with a nice, green view. The aircon was cold and the shower was very nice. It was exactly what we needed after 30+ hours of travel. We ordered room service late and the food was pretty good. Breakfast in the morning was excellent.

Our only two negatives were kind of minor. First off, the refrigerator in the room did not work. After a long trip, all we wanted was a cold drink. Luckily they had room service who brought us up something. Second, was airport pickup. We had arranged for a pickup that was built into the cost of our room. Upon arrival, there was no one waiting for us. We ended up catching a cab which was no big deal, but when we arrived the front desk didn't really seem to care that no one had picked us up. We were too tried to get angry, but I think the problem should at least have been addressed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_NovotelManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your nice review.
Please accept our apologies for failing to organise your airport transfer and recognise the issue accordingly. I shall indeed address the matter with the reservation and front office team, to avoid similar occurrence.
We are aware of the Minibar temperature issue and we are planning to have them replaced in the near future
We look forward to welcoming you back upon you next visit to North Sulawesi
Kind regards
Stephane Fagez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here in February 2013. Considering the price I must say that it was a bit disappointing. The staff were generally quite friendly but unfortunately their English was poor which resulted in many a frustrating and fruitless enquiry. I am not blaming the staff as individuals, I just expect a little more from a hotel at this price. The rooms were clean and well equipped but the buffet breakfast was not really up to standard. The pool was good (almost 35 metres long which was good for swimming laps) but the location was quite isolated. Overall this hotel was not really that great. Maybe if I played golf I might have enjoyed it more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuvarani_PeaceRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_NovotelManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for the feedback. I am pleased to say that since your visit in February, as part of Novotel Brand customer service commitment, we have delivered specific training to all staff, allowing us better handle guests requests in a professional and friendly manner. We have also worked at improving our breakfast buffet

We hope to welcoming your back to Novotel Manado so you can check on our progress.

Kind regards

Stephane Fagez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Novotel Manado, as a hotel, is a very nice place to stay in Manado and it is (almost) everything you'd expect facilities wise from the Novotel brand (more on the almost later below). The beds are soft and comfy, rooms are generally clean and the facilities are pretty good. However the hotel needs improvements in Human Resources (HR) as I found it is below standard I expected from Novotel This need for improvements in HR can be seen in our check-in experience: my roommate and I were first given a wrong room (a room that seemingly has not been cleaned up yet and it was a night check in!). The second room we were given already had occupants in them. The third room's facilities were in dire need of maintenance. Yes, three consecutive rooms that had something wrong with them. Luckily, the manager agreed to upgrade our room to suite free of charge.

The breakfast was nice but lacked a little in variety.

The pool is nice. So is the hotel's ambience.

Some parts of the hotel needs maintenance (we saw cracked paint on the wall in our suite room).

The manager not only agreed to upgrade our room to suite free of charge but also gave a very special price for package meal for 4 delivered to our suite so all of our friends could enjoy!

Overall, good hotel but I expected better from a Novotel brand. With enough improvements, this will be a hotel worthy of the Novotel brand. Will I return? We'll see :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenryOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_NovotelManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear HenryOnly,
Many thanks for your review, feedback is important to us as it helps us improve our service standards.
We are conscious of our need to improve customer service and maintenance and I can assure you that we are taking steps to recruit and develop staff to improve our customer service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Manado so that you can check on our improvements.
Kind regards
Stephane Fagez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manado hotels
4.2 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
544 reviews
4.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Manado
10.3 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Maleosan Manado
3.7 mi away
Sintesa Peninsula Hotel
4.8 mi away
Ibis Manado City Center Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre

Address: Grand Kawanua International City | Jl. AA. Maramis - Kayuwatu / Kairagi II, Manado 95254, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Manado
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manado
#8 Spa Hotel in Manado
Price Range: £28 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Center is 15 minutes from Sam Ratulangi International Airport and 20 minutes from city center. Nestled in 180 hectares of land. The hotel stylishly appointed rooms & suites embrace the splendid view of golf course and manicured garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manado Hotel Manado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing