We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Expection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Fish Divers Lembeh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manado
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Two Fish Divers Lembeh
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beyond Expection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Spend 7nights at Lembeh and one night at Bunaken with Two Fish Divers. Had wonderful dive experience with the excellent dive guide. Almost saw all creatures on my Lembeh wish list, I can't ask for more. The resort service are really nice. It's well managed and organized. The room is comfy and clean. Food was delicious and all ppl were very nice and helpful. Really enjoyed! Thanks!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laoyangtou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    51
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
100
103
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at both lembeh and Bunaken. Had previously stayed in very budget accomadation so this seemed luxury!! Couldn't fault anything. Lovely bungalows, lovely staff, good food, good diving. The food in two fish Bunaken better than two fish lembeh. For me the diving better in lembeh than Bunaken, but I love critters! Especially loved the presentations that brendon in Bunaken would do some evenings, he is very passionate and an amazing instructor.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanneblacklock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

In late January/early February my wife and I stayed at Two Fish Lembeh for 7 nights.

We're both experienced divers (200+ dives) and it takes quite a lot to impress us underwater these days. The diving at Lembeh left us speechless on many occassions, for all the right reasons.

We had spent the previous week at Two Fish Bunaken and were hoping for the same standard of accomodation and service. We were not disappointed, receiving an equally warm welcome and the same high standards. The only difference is that there is nothing outside of the resort, except jungle. There is no village to walk to, so this is not a place for non divers.

We stayed in a Superior Cottage. We had an en-suite bathroom, double and single bed, veranda with hammock, tea and coffee making facilities. All was very clean, with towels changed every two to three days. The food in the resort is local and very tasty. There is a choice of a fish and a vegetarian dish at lunchtime and in the evening there would be a choice of either a meat or fish dish and a vegetarian dish. Tea, coffee and water is always freely available, with soft drinks and alcohol available for purchase.

Now for the diving .................
Apart from the house reef, which we did not dive, all the diving is from boats, with most of the dive sites being within a 20 minute boat ride. The lack of currents mean that it is common to experience relaxing 75 minute dives. The boats all have water, tea, coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits available between dives. The dive guides are all local Indonesian guides, who look after your gear from start to finish, setting it up, washing it etc. They all have a lot of experience in the local area, and are experts at finding the critters. To get the most out of your trip do some research and tell the guides what you would like to see. We would strongly recommend watching the DVD provided at the resort, to familiarise yourself with all the weird critters.

If you've never been muck diving in Lembeh then boy are you in for a treat. Remember when you first got excited about seeing a fish underwater, well it's about to happen again! At a first glance many of the sites are not attractive, i.e. black sand with some rubbish, however after five minutes you probably won't care. Things we saw included:
More varieties of colourful nudibranches than we can count; Blue ringed octopus; Flamboyant cuttlefish; Mimic Octopus; Bobbit Worm; Hairy Frogfish; Painted Frogfish; Giant Frogfish (size of a football); Mantis Shrimp; Lembeh Seadragons; Mandarinfish; Common Seahorses; Bargibant Pygmy Seahorses; Pontohi Pygmy Seahorses; Tiger Shrimps; Bobtail Squid........ The list goes on and on, and I cannot believe that I got bored with pygmy seahorses, though my wife is keen to disagree. Whether or not night diving is your thing, you must experience night dives in Lembeh, they are spectacular.

If you are nervous about muck diving, let us set your mind at rest. When we were on Bunaken we said "if we don't like it can we come back?" and were assured we could, with a knowing smile from the owner. With hindsight that was funny. If however you did not like the muck diving, then there are spectacular corals on some dive sites, as well as a very good WW2 Japanese wreck to dive (30m to sea bed, 16m to the top).

We rarely immediately decide to return to a dive location, as there is a lot of world to see, and it takes a lot to impress us these days. We will return to Lembeh within two years, and will definitely stay at Two Fish.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monkeys_Mum_and_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The thing a lot of people don't realise about Lembeh is that it's not just muck diving, the daily double dives generally go to a reef/wall location as well as a muck location.
The staff at Two Fish Divers are awesome - Dani and Matt run a location that has a relaxed atmosphere for guests - the boat crew, general staff and dive guides are friendly and efficient.
I dived here in January and had my own guide for almost all of my dives. January is the low season and the maximum number of guests at the resort while I was there was 11 people.
The budget rooms are clean and basic, but I was there to dive not stay in my room, so they were more than adequate. The shared bathrooms were clean and the hot water showers are great after a day of diving.
My dive guide, Sandy, had a keen eye and knew where to find lots of the wonderful and weird Lembeh critters. Robust ghost pipefish, ornate ghost pipefish, pygmy seahorses - Pontohi and bargibanti, painted frogfish, hairy frogfish, mantis shrimp, coconut octopus, wonderpus, demon stingers, scorpion leaf fish, wasp fish, ribbon eels, a bazillion types of nudibranches and the tiny Lembeh seadragon were amongst the highlights of my 18 dives at Two Fish. I need to return to see the Mimic Octopus - the only thing on my list that I didn't see.
I would return to Two Fish Divers Lembeh in a heartbeat - with the afternoon dive, if I was the only person who wanted to dive then the boat went out - none of this minimum number of divers caper.
The resort has wifi and Dani is currently in "negotiations" with Indosat to obtain the bandwidth that the resort pays for.
If you want a massage, room service and to lay by the pool then this is not the place for you - but if you want to dive, dive and then dive some more this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geminikitty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

If weird and wonderful diving is your thing, then this is the place for you. Off the beaten track, Two Fish at Lembeh feels wonderfully remote despite the port of Bitang opposite. Dani and Matt who run the resort are friendly, fun and efficient (Dani being the more efficient and Matt being the fun one - sorry Matt but it's true). Traditional Indonesian food is served up in a lofty dining room with fabulous views and for downtime there is a cosy open-air lounging area with loungers, sofas and a tv and dvd player. It's all quirky critters in the sand here, so muck divers you'll be in paradise. Great boats - basic but all you need with a plentiful supply of mid-dive biscuits. The rooms are great - in particular the family bungalows with 3 beds. Couldn't rate 2 fish more highly. Go there and then team it with a stay at Two Fish in Bunaken

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at TwoFish in December 2011 in their basic rooms. Rooms are basic but very comfortable and clean and we especially liked the super-clean shared bathrooms and hot showers (it can get a little chilli at nights or after the evening dives). Food was good, plenty and tasty, although sometimes there could have been a greater variety of food provided. This said, for the price you pay per night it is an excellent value and we highly recommend the place.

Staff are helpful and friendly, and the diveguides are knowledgeable. The rental equipment is in good condition and the whole shop is well organized and runs smoothly. Diving in Lembeh is just a fantastic experience.Go and see yourself and make sure to stay at TwoFish Resort. Thanks again for wonderful dives and a good time!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RinaWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I arrived at Lembeh planning on staying only 3-4 days and extended that to a week. Having dived in many places around the world, Lembeh Strait has officially become my all-time favourite. And staying at Two Fish added to the overall happiness.

There are many reasons for staying at Two FIsh ... the variety of accommodation to cater for various budgets, the bar and the very entertaining and musical staff, the food, and the top class diving facilities. And all very well managed by Dani and Matt who are both very accommodating and competent ... and friendly to boot !

My diving preference is long lazy and relaxed dives and that's the good thing about muck diving at Lembeh ... it's muck heaven! I was lucky to have only 1 or 2 divers to share a dive guide with and the DMs know where to find all the critters in the rubble and rubbish.

Loved it, loved it, loved it ... can't wait to get back there!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaBabe104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manado
0.1 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#3 of 44 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Manado Hotel
Aston Manado Hotel
#4 of 44 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Lumbalumba Diving
Lumbalumba Diving
#2 of 19 in Manado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#1 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Fish Divers Lembeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Fish Divers Lembeh

Property: Two Fish Divers Lembeh
Address: Jln. Sam Ratulangi No. 12A, Manado 95113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small cosy dive resort offering budget and en-suite cottage accommodation, based on Lembeh Island - the gateway to the Muck diving capital of the world! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing