We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great diving, relaxing resort, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Fish Divers Lembeh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manado
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Two Fish Divers Lembeh
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
368 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Great diving, relaxing resort, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed 13 nights at Two Fish Lembeh in May and June 2013. We thoroughly enjoyed the diving and I highly recommend the resort. First, Dani was extremely helpful and prompt answering all our questions by email before we booked the trip. I usually had answers within 24 hours and Dani was very flexible regarding our schedule. We stayed in a superior cottage that has a large bed (queen or king, can't remember) plus a single bed and a private bathroom. The cottage is very comfortable and the deck is a perfect place to sip a cup of coffee in the morning or early evening. The room is set up well enough for diving and the bathroom is quite large and designed to make rinsing gear easier. I definitely recommend the superior cottages over the budget rooms because the cost is not much more and the ammenities are better (private bath, for one.)

We had adequate warm water and the lighting was better than in many dive resorts where we've stayed in the past. Bugs didn't seem to be a problem at all except for dawn and dusk in the common areas (the sitting area in the bar.) Internet connection was best early in the morning but you need to be near the office or in the bar area to use it. Alcohol, including the local beer and red/white wines, is served for a reasonable price if you want a drink after the last dive.

The food was fairly good and you can order Indonesian or western style breakfasts in the morning. Breakfast is served at 7:00 in a large dining hall. The dive boat leaves at 7:45 so it helps to have everything ready before going to breakfast. Coffee is instant but much better than instant coffee you get in the states. Breakfasts consisted of crepe-like pancakes, french toast, eggs any style, cereal, fruit, toast, and various Indonesian choices. Lunches and dinners always included rice, a protein (meat, fish, or eggs), vegetables (usually 2 choices and locally grown), soup, fritters, etc. I usually lose weight when diving but didn't on this trip.

The dive staff was very helpful and friendly. They were on top of every need, whether it was for suntan lotion, decongestion medication, advice on tours, etc. If they don't have what you need they will buy it for you on the next trip to town.

The transport to and from the airport went smoothly. A driver was waiting for us at the airport upon arrival. He drove us to the resort in an air conditioned vehicle and stopped along the way when we requested a cold drink. The drive takes about 90 minutes and the road is like most in these places - lots of scooters driving perilously close and plenty of horn tooting to warn them you are passing. The trip back to the airport went equally well.

There are more luxurious accommodations at a significantly higher price, but Two Fish Lembeh is a real deal if you want fantastic muck diving, friendly and knowledgeable staff, a comfortable bed and bath, all for a very good price. I'd dive here again in a second and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for all divers. Do be aware that there is nothing to do but dive and read books, but this forces you to have a relaxing vacation. I've been all over Europe and in many places in the Pacific and this was the most relaxing vacation I can remember.

Room Tip: The superior cottages are well worth the modest upgrade in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbuddy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    51
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
100
103
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed at two fish Lembeh for 6 nights and had a great time. The staff are very friendly and efficient and there is a really relaxed atmosphere. I especially liked how the staff chilled out in the bar as well and played local music and games.

The diving set up was excellent and sites were tailored wherever possible so we could get our hotlist of things we had come to see.

Accomodation was clean. We stayed in a standard room which was basic but good for the price. Food is included and there is lots of it, not amazing food but as long as you like rice you will be okay.

Would definitely return as excellent value for money.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ozmaclassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

This was my second trip to two fish lembeh only now 2 weeks instead of 6D, after a great first trip to both setups in bunaken and lembeh. Once again very friendly service, fantastic staff, well run by the very amenable Matt and Dani. Food excellent again, and enough variation for the 2 weeks. Worth spending the extra for the superior cottage with en suite. Very clean, lovely grounds, now wifi in lounge area. Diving wise amazing, ticking 45 off a list of 60 - well done Gerry who was an excellent and recommended guide there. Have used sandy who is also excellent. Weather in may good. Overall experience was great and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pughio83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Wonderful diving, a place to see things that look to be from other worlds. The small delicate creatures are amazing and the variety at Lembah seems endless. It's a different style of diving, you need to be patient, be prepared really look hard to find things and accept that the waters here are not pristine (meaning a certain amount of rubbish and pollution). The guides at the resort are excellent and will point out things that you might miss. The rooms are simple and clean, we stayed in superior cottage, worth the extra money. If your looking for beach, there is not a beach, and the resort is set in a swamp so can get humid. Having said this it is more than worth making the effort.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I spent 18 days at Two Fish Lembeh as part of a Divemaster course and would not have changed anything:- guides and instructors / managers are professional and fun; rooms are comfortable; food was varied and good quality; atmosphere very relaxed; dive sites superb; dive schedule flexible and varied; the operation was well managed and organised.

There are so many dive resorts in the world that I rarely consider return trips, but this is one place I'd certainly go back to. And the balance of value and quality was so good at Two Fish that I'd simply return there. Highly recommended and a great choice for a DM course.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FishyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Two Fish Lembeh is an outstanding resort. We initially planned to stay for three nights, two days, but when we realised that both the resort and the diving was so exceptional, we ended up staying for 5 nights, doing 12 dives. We only left because there was no more room for us! We probably would have blown our entire travelling budget and stayed another month, if there was room!
The diving is superb. The water is full of strange and exciting critters and we saw so much!! However, I’m sure we wouldn’t have seen a single thing without our fantastic dive guides Rein and Gerry. They were real experts at spotting the creatures and worked tirelessly throughout the dives to show us the best of the underwater world. Both my boyfriend and I had underwater cameras and they made sure that we had enough time to take as many photos as we wanted. At the end of each day, they were happy to sit with us and go through our photos and the dive books to identify everything we had seen. Their knowledge and enthusiasm was very impressive. They were equally as excited by what we had seen as we were.
The boat crew were also delightful. As soon as we got out of each dive, we were give tea, coffee or water and the boatmen were asking us what we saw.
We were really impressed by how the managers, Dani and Matt, work really hard to train their staff. We saw how they were training two local guides to be a DM and a Rescue diver – excellent opportunities for the local community.
The resort itself is fantastic. We stayed in the budget rooms which were clean and cosy and when you’re there to dive, you don’t need more luxury! The bathrooms are shared, but are squeaky clean with hot water. The food is excellent! Lots of fresh fruits and deserts.
It’s important to do a little research of what you might like to see before you come, and have a ‘wish list’. Although it’s not a guarantee that you’ll see everything on your wish list, the dive guides will try to arrange to take you to the sites where you have the best chance to see your favourite critters.
It’s also important to have your own dive computer. If you’re anything like us, you’ll be so enamoured by the things you see that you might get close to your No Decompression Limit. Make sure you keep checking your computer. The guides were diligent at ensuring we completed our safety stops.
Thanks to Dani, Matt and the team for a great stay, we’ll be back!
Sonia and James

Room Tip: The budget rooms are great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBandSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Having dealt with Dani by email for the past six months, I felt like I knew her before we arrived! All my online dealings with her were dealt with quickly and efficiently.

We were collected from the airport and transported to the resort efficiently. The female driver was rather cautious in her driving technique, rarely getting past third gear, and took things very slowly, which at times was irritating, but at other times was the best attitude given the other drivers (particularly those overtaking in the opposite direction and almost running us off the road). It was a pretty long road journey followed by a short sea crossing to the resort. Probably around 2 hours from the airport to the resort in total.

Arrival was dealt with by filling in the usual paperwork and checking credentials. Make sure you have your certification cards in your hand luggage to save time. Luggage was whisked away to the room after you had taken out your dive kit.

We booked the superior cottage, which was comfortable and clean and basic. The water is hot, and the shower is good. The large balcony is covered and has chairs, a hammock, tea and coffee, and a hanging rack for your wet clothes. Take note, it is incredibly hot and humid, and very hard to dry things quickly. With such an overhang of the roof, there is little sunlight hitting the balcony, which is good for your body, but not for your wet clothes. Best to take them to the hanging racks near the bar if you need things to dry quickly.

The room has a standing fan, which helps to keep you cool at night, but not good if you find it difficult to sleep through the noise of the fan. The generator switches over to local electricity in the evening, so things go dark for a few seconds, but we had a night when the generator kept going, which was a little noisy, but not overly so.

The food was well cooked but as a non meat eater, our choice was severely limited. There was only fish twice (at lunch) in four days, which surprised us. We were given dry fried tofu which didn't really go well with rice and vegetables. Breakfast was really good. Two types of cereal, toast, bananas, eggs any way (fried, boiled, omelette, scrambled), pancakes, nasi goreng, all cooked to order. There was only two toasters, which made it quite a queue at peak times.

Dive times are the same each day. Breakfast at 7am, boat leaves for two boat dives at 7.45am. Back to the resort for lunch at 1pm, afternoon dive at 2.30pm, night dive at 6pm. You can take a tank and dive the house reef. Mandarin fish dusk dives are just twice a week, and sadly we missed them. There were four of us diving, with our own boat and dive guide, but two very different diving experience and qualification levels, and the dive guide handled us well, making sure our friends surfaced safely before carrying on with our dive. The diving was brilliant (our third trip to Lembeh) and we finally saw the blue ringed octopus. Dives are limited to 75 minutes or 40 bar.

We decided to take a day trip to Bangka Island, which is a two hour crossing. We left the resort at 6am, having breakfast en route. They brought an additional dive guide for our friends. We had two dives before lunch (hour surface interval), then had lunch on a lovely beach. The currents picked up in the afternoon, so we returned to Lembeh for our third dive. The supplement for the daytrip was 35 Euros per person. Well worth it - it was fantastic diving.

There are tee shirts, hoodies, singlets, rash vests, hats, slap straps, etc. for sale in reception. All prices in the shop are Euros. A carabiner clip was just 2 euros (£8 in the UK!). Other prices were very reasonable. You can also get toiletries, mosquito spray (don't forget copious amounts if you are prone to bites), ciggies and other bits and pieces in reception (priced in Indonesian Rupiah).

The bar sells large Bintang at 35k rupiah (£2.35), Heneiken at 25k rupiah, soft drinks between 10k and 12k rupiah, wine at 35k. Spirits are cheap too. You can also have milkshakes or fresh juices made to order. Drinks are also available in the restaurant - an honesty system to record your drinks (soft only). Pay at the end in any currency.

Be warned - the coffee is awful - a half a cup of slurry in the bottom of the cup when you've finished. Bring your own instant if you're a coffee addict. My friend ordered a cappuccino at the bar and we suspected it was one of those instant types out of a packet.

WiFi was totally flaky while we were there - a problem at Manado, not the resort.

There are three very friendly dogs at the resort - Scooby, Pepper and Chocolate. Bring lots of Scooby snacks and they will be your friends forever!

Our particular thanks go to Dani, Matt, Fendly and Dion for making our stay excellent, and also to the rest of the staff who are a credit to Two Fish.

We stayed four nights and did 10 dives, including a night dive at Police Pier, which was great. We were then due to go to Bunaken, so our wet kit was bagged up by Two Fish and shipped with us in separate bags. The transfer to Bunaken was faultless - less than three hours door to door.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiaTenburyWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manado
0.1 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#3 of 44 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Manado Hotel
Aston Manado Hotel
#4 of 44 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Lumbalumba Diving
Lumbalumba Diving
#2 of 19 in Manado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#1 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Fish Divers Lembeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Fish Divers Lembeh

Property: Two Fish Divers Lembeh
Address: Jln. Sam Ratulangi No. 12A, Manado 95113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small cosy dive resort offering budget and en-suite cottage accommodation, based on Lembeh Island - the gateway to the Muck diving capital of the world! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing