We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of La Rascasse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Rascasse
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I travelled in June 2012 by myself. I chose this accomodation based on a friend's reference due to the value for money. He was right. I obtained a very reasonable price for accomodation with 3 meals and 3 dives per day. The place consist of several bungalow-like rooms. The room had a small tv, ac, no bath tub but a clean bathroom. So no complaint about accomodation. The dive guides were also experienced. The foods was good and in abundance. Wi-fi was only available in the cafe but I was there for diving so no complaint. The place was a bit out of town but it is located by the sea so you can see the ocean from the cafe. Very peaceful. I will definitely be back.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank saut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for La Rascasse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

A friend recommended this place and it didn't disappoint. Simple place, with friendly and attentive staffs, from the drivers, person staffing the restaurant to the dive masters. Food is good and portion is very generous. that's what we need after spending the day diving :) Highly recommended. And if you fancy klappertaart, you can ask the hotel staff to buy and have it delivered to hotel. They know the best klappertaart in town!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvyVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

You won't find a pool here, but why would you want that when the ocean beckons?

Good for divers. There's a dive centre.

Rooms are air conditioned, chalet-type, standalone structures. Hot showers. Wardrobe with stiff doors. Tiled floors, basic TV, desk, fridge, a chair or two. Verandah also has a coffee table and chairs and a little rack to dry your wet things.

Meals are provided, fresh and simple, tasty.

Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This specialty lodging is really an excellent place for divers, especially those who look for diving, underwater photography, and of course value but decent place to stay. We stayed there for 8 Days. Hotel's staff very friendly and helpful. Foods are delicious. Resort room clean and spacious, hot water and a lot of Channels. Dive guide are cheerful and helpful and well train. After diving, we arrange massage, totally relax....... Definitely I will be back !!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This specialty lodging is really an excellent place for divers, especially those who look for diving, underwater photography, and of course value but decent place to stay. Really decent I mean. But... not a good place for honeymoon. Stayed there for 8 Days and nothing to complain. Hotel staff 100% friendly and helpful. Foods are superb, they cook based on number people available there, so no excessive food (fair enough for them to keep the price low). If you normally have double portion for dinner, u might want to order something more. Diving facility has all basic dive equipments, and that's all I need. Oh not to forget to mention spacious room, hot water and a lot of Channel (HBO, Starmovies, Geographic, etc etc). Dive personnel are cheerful and helpful. Fun Fun Fun and Relax what I can say after staying here. Definitely I will be back for next diving session in Manado!

Could be improved:
- TV size ^.^. Sad to watch those nice channels with small screen TV ^^.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kebosatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I'm staying for 2 nites & 2 days of diving trip
It's location is very close to the City. and right next to this hotel there are a lot of Good restaurants & Fish Barbeque Stall

It's a very good package of Diving + Staying

Maybe if need to be upgraded is the quality of the bed.

For the divers : they always remind that gloves is prohibited during the dive around Bunaken

others : maybe better if they did the raw call before embark and after the dive, which apparently not.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We were recommended La Rascasse by a friend and we were very pleased to have taken up that recommendation.

The hotel was well run and there was so much (too much!) really great food! The staff were very friendly and quality of the room was very good for the money (not the most modern of decoration) and were very clean.

The diving, the main reason for coming, was excellent and the dive centre was well run. Being based on the mainland, this gives the option of muck diving locally or the corals of Bunaken after a 30 min boat ride. This location means that it's much more reasonably priced than lots of places on Bunaken and the boat trip over is a nice opportunity to relax.

We were very impressed by the value for money and are therefore passing on the recommendation we got!

Website: http://www.larascasseresort.com

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manado hotels
3.6 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
3.0 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
543 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Manado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
144 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
#10 of 45 in Manado
355 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lumbalumba Diving
Lumbalumba Diving
#1 of 19 in Manado
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rascasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rascasse

Address: Jl Raya Tanawangko Kalasey I Dusun III, Manado 95163, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Manado
Price Range: £49 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing