We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staffs, poor equipments”
Review of Eco Divers

Eco Divers
Ranked #3 of 18 Tours in Manado
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eco Divers Manado, a PADI 5 Star Gold Palm IDC Center, offers a highly personalized, organized, relaxing and safe diving experience. Our dive guides are amongst Manado's most experienced. We limit the number of guests to a maximum of just four guests per guide, so you get to see and photograph everything that amazing Manado has to offer. Offering the best value to our guests at all times by delivering excellent services at a fair price is paramount. Our customer service is focused on safety and organization, relaxation and fun, education and comfort. At all times we aim to be environmentally responsible and socially responsible to our staff and suppliers. Our purpose built dive boats are fitted with many safety features and all of our team are well trained including our captains, crew and PADI Divemasters. We maintain a very high staff-to-guest ratio and, remember, we guarantee that our guests always dive in a group of four or less per guide. We offer our guests many comfort and safety features to relax and enjoy their dive holiday: • Purpose built boats fitted with jump gates & stainless steel ladders • DAN oxygen & First Aid onboard • VHF radio, GPS, mobile phone, life jackets, life rings, navigation lights • Shaded salon with comfortable seating, sundeck, toilets & Showers, fresh towels • Maximum 12 divers per boat, maximum 4 divers per guide • Free snacks, fruit, unlimited tea and coffee throughout the day • Camera room with storage, battery charging and computer • Snorkelers / boat-sitters also catered to
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great staffs, poor equipments”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at Mihahasa Lagoon Resort and dived with Eco Divers. Their staffs were superb, very helpful both outside the water and during dives, thorough professionals. Mace is a total star! However I was disappointed with the quality of their equipments. One of my friends had the regulator split during the dive (a ring was missing, apparently the equipments were serviced a few weeks before). There were the odd leaked BCD's as well. There were others who have done over a few hundred dives and also complained about this. Having personally dived in two different places before in Southeast Asia and always chosen safety/quailty over price, I believe Eco Divers has great potentials if they only invested in the quality and upgrade of their equipments. My comparison of equipments was with PADI 5-star rated schools in the Gili Island (Indonesia) and Koh Tao (Thailand). That said I was pleased with everything else.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerThruTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almeria, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MORE THAN A GREAT EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We spent our vacations in Manado in Jun´13, diving with Eco Divers and staying in Minahasa Lagoon Resort. Everything there it was EXCELLENT: the staff of Eco divers is a great team( Macys, the instructors, all the guys on the boat), we dived in Bunaken many days, the trip to get there is incredible, you can take drinks on the boat and also have lunch. The menu is really good, and every thing is fresh.
Diving is also amazing. The always adapt things to you to make then enjoyable.

In the hotel too, all the staff is very, very king. The food is really good, every day you can choose menu ( breakfast, lunch and dinner) and try local plates. Is really nice to get a beer in the pool after diving, and prices are not expensive. You can pay in euros and dollars, what make things easier.
If you are thinking in going to Manado, you have to go with them, you will enjoy diving and rest in the hotel.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MAVP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wash, DC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

First, the bottom line: Minahasa Resort is very nice, and the diving at
Bunaken Island is excellent. I do not, however, recommend Eco Divers and
was disappointed repeatedly with the (lack of) service and attitude on the
boat, as well as the boat itself.

Good to know: There are two dive operators currently working out of
Minahasa Resort, which is located about one hour west of Manado by car. The
resort has its own dive operation in addition to Eco Divers. These
operations book divers separately; it is also possible to book via Minahasa
Resort directly but you may have to specify which operation you want. This
is the first time I have ever seen this arrangement and it was not apparent
to me until I arrived. (Incidentally, I heard positive reviews from other
guests of Minahasa's own dive operation).

Also good to know, Bunaken Island is a 90-minute boat ride from Minahasa.
This is partially attributable to the incredibly slow dive boats utilized
by these guys. But, it is an all-day trip (worth it!) and I recommend
making 3 dives there if you are out there.

The diving at Bunaken, which offers wall dives, sea mounts, and traditional
coral reefs, is very different from the muck diving around the resort. I
preferred Bunaken, but it is nice to be able to both. That said, you
probably want to check out Lembeh for the best muck diving. You can combine
Minahasa and partner resort into one trip, as many do (I didn't have time,
unfortunately).

Why do I dive Eco Divers a low rating?
1) I found the crew to be lazy, lethargic and generally disinterested in
their jobs. They did not seem to enjoy what they were doing and it showed.
One of our divemasters was especially sullen.

Example: We saw pilot whales on our way to and from Bunaken. We had to
literally beg the captain to drive the boat closer so we could get a better
look (literally less than 1 min away, they were close). When he did, he
never even slowed down and ran the boat right at the whales, scaring them
away and causing them to dive. On the return trip the captain couldn't be
bothered to approach the whales, despite our requests (again, very close).
Pathetic. Meanwhile, the rest of the crew was sleeping on the sundeck or
checking their blackberries. One of the other divers on the boat commented
that "At Lembeh, we would have been in the water snorkeling with the
whales and everyone having a good time." Not here, apparently...

2) The engines on the large, spacious boat operated by Eco Divers are in
poor repair and much too small the demands placed on them. The engines
stalled repeatedly on our way to and from Bunaken on both days that we made
the trip. Eco Divers actually employs one guy as a mechanic. This guy
literally sits by the engines for the entire day, apparently just to keep
them running (with decidedly mixed success). After a halting initial
passage from the resort, we came up from our dive and he had one of the
engines partially taken apart. This happened more than once.

3) Our departure from the resort was delayed by two hours because the
captain got the boat stuck in the lagoon (ostensibly the lagoon where he
parks the boat every day). After this delay, the crew was in a foul mood
and proceeded to take us only to the 3 dive sites closest to the resort.
One never escaped the feeling that these guys just waned to get home as
quickly as possible.

To his credit, the manager Andrea was apologetic about the delay situation
and did not charge for one of the dives that day (he was not at the resort
that day and also apologized for this). He stated that this did not
represent the type of service typically provided. However, this experience
was still a detraction.

Thankfully, the diving at Bunaken was excellent and made the trip
worthwhile. The coral is very healthy, tons of turtles (including several
very large green turtles) and tropical fish everywhere, stunning wall dives
(Lekuan, Mandolin) and excellent conditions. I highly recommend checking it
out.

We saw some cool stuff (frogish, seahorses, nudibranchs) at the sites in
front of the resort but I would have preferred another day at Bunaken as I
prefer that type of diving.

Minahasa Resort itself is great. Very nice rooms, friendly and helpful
staff, good food. Jimmy at the bar and the women in restaurant were
standouts. Make sure to try the Jungle Restaurant on the hill. I stayed in
a Garden Room but the beach bungalows looked amazing. All rooms have
partially open showers and are nicely appointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank dcJ34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We went diving in both the Lembeh Strait and Bunaken, in Indonesia, and given the off season, had it nearly to ourselves. There is an increadible variety of life in Lembeh, and the coral walls of Bunaken are not to be missed. Finished a PADI course with Eco Divers and it was like a private tutorial. Great diving instruction. Loved the food at Kima Bajo Resort. Highly recommed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank HK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exellent Diving experience !”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Really nice experience and really knowledgeable instructors !
not to many people so for PADI course it's almost a private learning course !
and the last but not least, the Diving sites are gorgeous !!!

recommend to every people who want to explore bunaken diving area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank keutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eco Divers also viewed

Manado, North Sulawesi
 
Manado, North Sulawesi
Manado, North Sulawesi
 

Been to Eco Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing