We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place on a beautiful island...with the best host!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bobocha Cottages Siladen
Ranked #1 of 46 Manado B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Bobocha is amazing!

Siladen island its self is already a wonderful place and Sarah, who's Bobocha's owner, is the best host you can expect! She made our trip fabulous: we stayed for 5 days and every single day has been fantastic!
Her cooking skills are terrific: every meal was delicious. Everything is fresh, with a great taste...and all veggies she uses are organic/home-grown.
The cottage is very very nice and the atmosphere is perfect!

Sarah's working on her project to make Bobocha an 100% eco-cottages resort. (congratulations!!)

This is definitely the place where to go if you want to have an unforgettable experience!

We were extremely satisfied!!

Looking forward to be back
Roberto & Manuela

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lobelto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Bobocha Cottages Siladen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you need a super nice, shady location, the best food in the region and one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world - go to Boboca Siladen. We have spent three nights there, and it was just perfect. Apart from Sarah being a very interesting discussion partner, she knows very well how to please her guests with super delicious food. Every time it was something new and you could see that it wasn't just made for the sake of eating (like in many other resorts), it was always made to enjoy the food and to feel different tastes of it.

I would probably recommend to choose Boboca as your only or final destination, because believe me - it is difficult to enjoy food at other resorts after you have already tried Sarah's :)


Additionally, I would rather support Boboca and Sarah, since they are trying to live together with the local community and not separately like some other resorts on Siladen (especially the most expensive one).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in Bobocha Siladen for two week and every single day was a new amazing experience both talking about nature, local people and food.
Sara, the owner, is really fantastic! Very kind and smart; she has been traveling a lot so she knows of to welcom tourist and anticipate theirs needs.
Special mention for: amazing snorkeling with Andrea - owner's mate - dolphin tour (we saw a lot), best sunset of Indonesia, peacefull atmosphere and delicious food.
Rooms are simple but clean and romantic.
We felt in love with Siladen and Sara, hope to come back very soon!

Olivia and Stefano

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oky85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Although we stayed at Onong's place having a time or our 3 days & 2 nights, we got introduced by the owner of Tanta Moon to Sarah, owner of Bobocha. Staying on the same island 500 meters further down the road and beach of Siladen Bobocha offers a totally different feel of staying in paradise. It's hard to compare Onong's, Tanta Moon's and Bobocha while the location facilitates different highlights of having a fantastic relaxing spot in heaven.

Bobocha has great shades on the beach by the trees which you welcome during a hot sunny day on the island. Having your snorkel facilities at hand and your bungalow, you can relax on the beach under the tree with a view on Bunaken island and Manado Tua. The sunset can be awesome here.

We just made acquaintance with Sarah who offered us free coconut drink (kelapa muda) and her delicious banana cake with coffee. Sarah is a fantastic host taking care of her guest. We heard about her cooking but unfortunately this time no possibility to check this out.

Next to awesome location, great hosting, Sarah stands for sustainability and has her own projects to contribute to a better world. This is great to hear and we definitely want to stay with her for a couple of days when we will comeback to Siladen in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for the fresh 'kelapa muds' coconut with lemon and palm sugar.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosevdh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were looking for a beach, calm waves, good food and snorkel or swim in the waters. We got just that. Not being good swimmers, or divers, we didn't really want to go to Bunaken and Siladen's Bobocha sounded just right.

There's a ferry everyday at around 2 or 3pm that goes to Slidaen costing 30K rupiah or 2.5 USD. Alternatively, you can ferry your private boat for 25 Euro each.

The island itself is small, about 3-4 km in circumference though you will have to wait for low tides to circumvent it. Only the stretch around Bobocha's, upto the pier, has a good beach all day and is shallow. So check your location otherwise others are good for diving or are rocky.

After going around Manado and coming across a surprising bit of hostile hosts more interested in money, very unlike other parts of Indonesia, this was a welcome treat. Sara is a great host who takes good care of you and that makes a difference.

Food is not as great as others say. Breakfast is pancakes, scrambled eggs or cereals - very good but not lavish as you may expect for the price. Lunch is basic with fried rice and the least impressive of the three meals. Dinner varies and is mostly fish and other things, including desserts and they can be awesome. We stayed a week and found the seasoning lacking on most nights. The cooks were able to alter the spice according to the various guests; not a problem for us but, being cooks ourselves, thought it was basic cooking. The freshness of the food and the hospitality makes up for that and dinner is a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woaishanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

It is a very nice place if you know what to expect: It is a very small Island with nothing to do at night. During the day you can swim, relax, snorchel, walk around the Island and that´s it. The Cottages are simple, the power is on only at night time from around 19.00 untill maybe 2 or 3.00 in the morning (clearly to save fuel for the Generator). The place has 4 Cottages and if there are other guests you will eat together with them. The water in the bathroom is quiete salty. So if you can deal with that, it´s a fantastic experience. We allowed us the extravagance and took one Cottage for each of us. The beachfront was around 110 € incl. Food and the fan Cottage right behind was around 90 €. Very positively to mention is that the place is very clean and therefore there were no cockroaches (compared to the backpacker place next door where you can stay for about 15 € per night). We made the mistake not anouncing us upfront. I had booked 7 nights via Agoda and didn´t have the idea of contacting Sarah, the owner, in advance. In backsight I should have done it, because she tries to please every single guest and feed them what they want. Therefore she needs to prepare of course. Anyway, we arrived kind of suddenly and we got to eat what was available on the first day, which was fine with us. The food we had was very good most of the time. The spot is beautifull, because it sits right on the south-west side of the Island with a view to Bunaken and you can see the sunset. You can go snorcheling right of the beach and although there is some destruction there are large Areas whith intact coralls and lots of interesting fish to see. We were there at the beginning of the raining season, so the visibility was not ideal but we still liked it very much. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. On our second evening some guests from Switzerland arrived. We were lucky because we got along with them very well and I´m happy we werer Kind of forced to have contact because usually I rather Keep my distance to fellow travelers, but since there was only one table we shared a lot of time together. In the end you pay a lot of for the spot where this place is. Without the beach and the coralls it would be worth maybe half the Price. To me Bobocha Comes Close to the perfect spot to relax. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saskia1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Top tip: fly to Manado, get a taxi to Bunaken Port, then get a boat over to Siladen and enjoy a taste of paradise! Sarah is the perfect host, and an amazing cook. The beach accommodation is simple but clean, the setting is tranquil and peaceful, and the coral a must-see. We are a couple who enjoyed three nights stay during October, and would highly recommended a visit to anyone looking to unwind and enjoy a stress-free time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MungoJerrysBeard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manado
12.1 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
178 reviews
12.4 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Siladen Island
503 reviews
12.3 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 16 in Bunaken Island
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
26.4 mi away
Gangga Island Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bobocha Cottages Siladen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bobocha Cottages Siladen

Address: Siladen Island | Bunaken National Marine Park, Sulawesi Utara, Manado 2207, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Manado
Price Range: £116 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bobocha Siladen is located on the small pristine island of Siladen, situated within the Bunaken National Marine Park in North Sulawesi, Indonesia with a population of only 300 people.We offer a unique experience living amongst the villagers where you can enjoy the hospitality and simplicity of nature. Tasty and healthy food is our motto!.....we prepare and cook with fresh local produce and ingredients to give exquisite dishes for you to experience and these meals are included in our accommodation prices 3 times per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bobocha Cottages Siladen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing