We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to start relaxing and snorkelling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanta Moon Luxury Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manado
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tanta Moon Luxury Villas
Ranked #12 of 42 Manado B&B and Inns
Hoogland, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best place to start relaxing and snorkelling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This year we came back to Siladen after 3 years. Our first experience was overwhelming at Tanta Moon. The location is fantastic knowing to see the cast of 'Finding Nemo' just 2 to 5 meters from your bungalow door. So for 3 relaxing days we came back but unfortunately Tanta Moon was fully booked. But the owner managed us to stay next to them at their neighbours Onong's Resort. Wow this was a fantastic alternative. But our breakfast, lunch and dinner we had still at Tanta Moon. This was all fine with us. Onong's place sell's it's bungalows in diving packages and we are snorkelling people.

It was good to be back and what we've noticed that Tanta moon upgraded their quality and quantity of food compared with the last time (March 2011) we've been here. If you are vegetarian of meat eater you have your dish and of course for a fish lover like me it's standard. During the day you have little snacks like 'pisang goreng' so no worries you will be hungry. Also you can have your coffee and tea or drinking water as much as you like while this is at your service 24 hours.

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great time snorkelling at Bunaken island and at Siladen seeing turtles, all the colored coral fish (Nemo included of course) and in Siladen 20 meters from the bungalow at the wall the Napoleon fish. We had great sunrise and sunset (behind Manado Tua).

On the last evening Tanta Moon gave us a great banket with 'Babi Guling Manado'. If you like porc, this is the best a sinner can eat :-) It's heaven. We find ourselves lucky to have this served with all the other guests. See our pics ...

The staff of Tanta Moon is very friendly and helpful and for snorkelling they will bring you to the best snorkelling spots at Bunaken. Tanta Moon has their own boat. Ask for boat trip facilities!

Room Tip: Take the room in front of the sea. With tide you just jump in the water and snorkel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rosevdh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    2
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

There weren't much choices in Siladen Island as they are very small. The top 3 could be Siladen resort, Tanta moon and Onong resort just next to tanta moon. We picked Tanta moon because there were other reviewer talking about the snorkeling experience they had just a few feet from the resort. So, why not!?

I was happy with the beach, that's the most important thing about the island. You want beautiful beach. We got that! First and foremost, we had a hard time reaching them both phone-line and email. We were in manado for few nights and was waiting for their respond about transportation. We were given free transportation (update from the worker) if we stayed 3 nights and so did we. After responding to them, it took 2-3 days almost to reach them again. I had no choice but to ask from the previous resort to help us out. Since manado and Siladen are VERY close to each other, we were lucky that the resort from the previous place knew their secondary phone number. We talked and she managed to call for a boat to pick us up. It's funny how one person told me we get free transportation if we stayed 3 nights and the other lady came to me and said it's 5 nights and we get free transportation and not just that, when we arrived, the lady told us its actually free for one week stay PFFT! When you said "free transportation", they are supposed to be 2 ways and not just 1.

We booked "High view" room from agoda. It didn't look so bad but I was very much disappointed. So we upgraded our room to the chalet just right in front of the beach. I would never ever in my right mind want to stay in the High View room. It's just SAD! We were told for upgrading, we need to pay extra EURO30. After all, i wanted a nice holiday with the beach just right in front of my doorstep. So, whatta heck right? Total up, we spent a great deal amount of :: USD447 + Extra EUR90 (upgrade room)

We decided again to extend another night, it ain't because the room were superb, it is just the fact that we love the beach so much we wouldn't want to leave. We asked the lady if we could have a better offer for another night, since we've had already upgraded our room and she gave a tad better offer for us. FYI, we were the only customer during that week! It would have been nice if they could give a better offer seeing that we loved to stay. We were ready to extend 2 nights but seemed like they were not so keen to have customer, we decided just to extend 1 more night.

Food were great. We were both very satisfied with the full board menu. Every food were deliciously cooked and I love the red meat the most! But of course others are well done too.

Beers are superbly expensive : Rp. 60,000 approximately EUR5, Soda drink are superbly expensive as well : Rp. 25,000 approximately EUR2. A bottle would normally cost Rp. 5000 or so. But there was one day the lady gave me a free soda drink because the day was too hot. Well, everyday was very hot. Even with A/C and Ceiling fan on 24hours, It just didn't work except the night.

We were told that if we needed to take their boat to go back to Manado city, we will need to pay Rp. 500,000 one way and she suggested for us to take a local boat that she mentioned "Rp.10,000". We certainly didn't mind a local boat if your boat would cost us a bomb! Local boat was good tho it was slow and we were sitting outside with the local kids and adults but most women locals were all by the shades and shelter. After arriving, We were told to pay "Rp. 50,000 each" instead of Rp. 10,000. Yes, we felt we were being ripped. First of all, you don't give false information to the customer and then denied saying "I did not say that". 2 pairs of ears, Hello?

To summarize it all, it's not a matter of money but when you know how much you could have paid in the local stall, you would felt really ripped off by the resort. Moreover, the island is not developed and very small. The cost of living are very small too, so for whatever they are charging from the room to transportation, they were below expectations.

Will i go back to Tanta Moon? We had a nice time but we would prefer to try other resorts.

Room Tip: Pick the stand-alone chalet just right in front of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BethKiss2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed 5 nights at Tanta Noon’s and we liked it very much. Due to Off-Season and no guest we could get a really-really big discount, otherwise we wouldn’t stay in an expensive resorts like this. The accommodation was very good with hot shower and aircon and even Tv but just with local channels. Snorkeling in front of the resort was okay. Food was good and plentyfull. Even we think that the food was fit to our discount price because we had way better food on budget accommodatiosn e.g. Panorama on Bunaken. I wouldn’t pay that much it normally cost for the kind of food we were served. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Urswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Me & my wife love snorkelling. We snorkel at many places but this hotel offer us the best experience. We flew from Jakarta to spend 3 nights in manado area. We stay one night in Bunaken island and hesitate whether to book a night in the smaller Siladen island. We glad we did but regret to stay only one night in siladen with Tanta Moon. The owner ibu Mona very gracefully upgrade us to her best room overlooking the ocean without extra charges as the hotel is not fully booked.
Right in front of our room (about 20m from the door) is the most beautiful underwater world me & my wife ever seen. Yes I'm talking about snorkerling, and we were surprise a supreme quality marine life can be so close to a hotel!
We rent the snorkeling gear from ibu Mona for usd5 a day each person and walk into the water as we please. The corals are colorful teaming with colorful fishes of all sizes. About another 20m of swimming from the beach is the vertical cliff where we find bigger fishes.
The hotel seems new and very clean. Power off at night but we keep the door open for the cool breeze.
Ibu Mona cooked us traditional meal and tuna caught fresh from the sea by her son. Overall we love this place and plan to go back again if we didn't find any better place to snorkel in a few years, and I believe I wouldn't find any.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mnmcsls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
467 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Despite the mixed reviews, my family and I chose Tanta Moon over the other few places in Siladen island simply because we loved its beach-facing villas and sun deck. They are the closest ones to the water! In fact, only a few steps down the deck and a few meters of swim away, we could already enjoyed nice corals and lots of fish swimming around. Thus, no hassles snorkeling in and out anytime we wanted from sunrise to sunset. This was perfect for us as this time we decided not to take up diving. If you want to dive, however, Onong Dive Resort was right next door so you can contact them on-line before coming. I would personally still choose to stay at Tanta Moon's beach-front villa and dive with Onong. Or, if Onong is occupied with their own guests, Tanta Moon can arrange diving with a dive center at Bunaken island.
When we were there in May 2012, it was not yet the high season and we were the only guests there. We really enjoyed having the simple breakfast served on the deck (as if it was our private villa) while looking out to the clear turquoise-blue water with dive or fishing boats passing by. The breakfast consisted of simple cereals with milk, bread with butter, jam/peanut butter, fresh fruits, fruit juice and coffee/tea. Coffee/tea and mineral water from dispenser are available in the dining area throughout the day. We also liked the home-made lunch and dinner: rice, varied vegetables and fresh fish or chicken with more than enough quantity (don't feel bad if you cannot finish them as they will not be wasted). Toiletries are limited so bring your own toothbrush/paste, shampoo etc. but towels are plenty and you can ask for more. The bed and linens were of good qualities. During the day when it got very hot (over 30C), we relaxed in the air-conditioned room and still enjoyed the great ocean-view through the full-glass windows or watched satellite TV. Unfortunately the internet connection was out of order.
Sunrises and sunsets are not to be missed. They are so beautiful and peaceful. Taking a walk in the small village is interesting; also a stroll in the beautiful sandy beach towards the direction of the Siladen Resort & Spa and to the other end passing Tanta Moon/Onong Dive Resort. Please note that there are no restaurants or food market in the island (people shop for food in Manado) but this should be no problem because the resort provides 3 meals included in the price (full board). If you like snacks and drinks, your should buy them in Manado before crossing to Siladen.
Despite the website description of "luxury resort", do not expect facilities and services comparable to 3/4/5 star resorts. Tanta Moon is a small, very much a family operated place. It's modern and clean but has limitations especially as it is located in an island with no public electricity and water supplies. The resort has its own/shared generator which is certainly very expensive to run it day and night. So, sometimes water in the bathroom did not flow during night time, but you can ask for a pail of water before retiring to bed. Additionally, since there are only a few people running this place besides the owner (Mrs. Moon), things can get slow and service may deteriorate during high seasons. If you can be patient, more understanding and communicate your needs well with the manager (miss Kerry) or owner (Mrs Moon), you should be able to have a great holiday experience at an affordable price like what we had. When we go back to Siladen, we certainly would want to stay at Tanta Moon again - but will try to avoid high seasons when possible. See photos of our Siladen holiday at my picasa album: https://picasaweb.google.com/105682830798665983215/SiladenIslandBunakenManadoMay24272012#

PS: Tanta Moon also arranges car pick up from the airport continued with boat transfer from Manado to Siladen and vice versa at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: The beach-front villas are the best in the island but there are only 3 of them so hurry up, book now...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GabyVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
バンコク
Level Contributor
276 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The cost is almost 200USD per night.
Cost value is very poor.
We were able to found the half priced hotels at the island.
These hotels accommodations were basically same or better.
If you need to hotel pick up service from airport.
You do not belive the hotel staff.
I have required pick up service by hotel.
However, nobody waited us at the airport.
I have call to hotel by my mobile phone from airport; they said you have to wait more 30 minutes.
But they could not come after during two hours
They said you have to go to pier and negotiate with fisherman for getting to hotel.
It was strange experience for us.
We also required scuba dive at the there.
We requested one month ago.
But they forgot to diving trip arranged.
We expected 8dives but we were able to go to dive 5dives only.
They did not contact to dive shop before our check in date.
Foods were really disappointment.
Breakfast.
They provided few pieces breads and jams and butters.
Also few pieces sliced cucumber and papaya
And drinking water and instant coffee provided.
There were not eggs and bacons.
lunch
Vegetable fried rice or instant fried noodle.
dinner
1st night / Grilled of small tuna fish.
2nd night / Deep fried small tuna fish.
3RD night/ Fried small tuna fish with soy sauce.
Every dinner provided with fried vegetable without meat.
Steamed rice also.
We missed one dinner because their cats ate our fish.
Drinking water machine provided service 24 hours.
We ate a lunch when check out day at the hotel.
We really surprised about bill.
Instant fried noodle was 20EUR.
It’s amazing!

Accommodations
Room was big.
Electric sockets were not enough.
We have cameras mobile phones and PC.
However useful sockets were just 2.
Toilet cover was broken.
And could not flushed water.

Electric sockets were not enough.
We have cameras mobile phones and PC.
However available sockets were just 2.
Toilet cover was broken.
And dose not flash water.
We asked staff about fixed it.
But they do not fixed it.
Well, I fixed our toilette myself.
Amenity have soap and shampoo’s bottle. (Empty inside)
Half roll of toilet paper.
The shower was always cold water.
They could supply hot water but heating switch has been always off due to the costs or environmental reason.
Television was not work.
It was very helpful for us because we were able to used additional socket replace from television.
Television was very unique.
Front appearance was LCD screen but side appearance was exactly tube television.
Mini bar was very expensive.
Local beer was 7EUR per can. (0.35dcl)
We drank beers at the other hotel’s beach bar.
Cost was almost 2.5EUR per bottle. (0.63dcl) 
House keep service provided one time when during stayed.
Location
We could swim just one step from room.
There have rich and beautiful corals rays at the house reef.
If somebody ask to me.
Do you want go again?
Of course yes.
But we never stay this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank イグモル
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manado hotels

Svendborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We where looking for a place to snorkle in the best place ever. A place with as few tourists as possible. A place where local people live in the nature. A place as unspoiled as possible....we found that on Siladen. We stayed at Tanta Moon for a week and had a splented stay. For us it was luxury to have fresh fish served for dinner in the sunset.... all in all luxury when you stay on an island that small and that only have elec. power in day time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manado
3.6 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#5 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bobocha Cottages Siladen
2.7 mi away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
#2 of 7 in Bunaken Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanta Moon Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanta Moon Luxury Villas

Property: Tanta Moon Luxury Villas
Address: Marine Park Bunaken | Siladen Island, Manado 95115, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Tanta Moon Luxury Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing