We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort for divers and non-divers”
Review of Grand Luley Manado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Luley Manado
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Manado
Certificate of Excellence
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice resort for divers and non-divers”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed three nights at the Grand Luley with my family and we had a great time! Differently from the typical diving resorts and lodges in Manado, that are very rustic and divers oriented, the Luley has excellent rooms and a great service. The staff is very polite and helpful. The restaurant serves excellent indonesian and western food. The diving center can accomodate the needs of hardcore divers and snorkling fans (like My wife and I). My two older daughters (14 and 11 years old) did the Discovery diving training and the instructor (Frank) has a natural talent to deal with teenagers. The Luley is just 15-20 minutes from the main diving & snorkeling sites at Bunaken. We had a fantastic snorkeling session at a site named Timur, that has a give variety of coral reefs and fishes.
The hotel also offers tours to the Highlands and to a Volcano.
There's still a lot of construction and refurbishing going on at the hotel but it didn't disturb the guests.
My family loved this resort and I am sure we will return many times. Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ganhama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    43
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
42
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Grand Luley is a nice place. The reservation staff I contacted with is very helpful and nice. Helped to prepare birthday cake for me and my little brother. The distance from town and airport is really far. Only suit if you want to spend the day in the resort.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Spent 2 nights purposely for our Bunaken family getaway. The hotel located just across the island, has private port, boats, snorkeling and diving equipment to rent along with a great guide to accompany our trip. They are still working on the refurbishing project from the previous resort property but overall this is a great place to spend your quiet days by the sea.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirapoenja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed twice two nights in this beautiful resort, just for relaxing after spending days in remote area's on Sulawesi and Halmahera in sometimes very basic accommodations (birdwatching).
The rooms are good, the price is good, reasonable restaurant (a must as this place is miles from Manado), a good swimming pool, nice gardens, good mangroves with a boardwalk and a small harbour with great sunsets.
Disadvantages were the electronic door keys with a chip (because sometimes the door locks didn't work with the keys povided and we had to get other keys from the lobby) and the condens water out of the airco which came out as pieces of ice with a lot of noise (once in the middle of the night). As the resort is thouroughly renovated at this moment, things will probably be better in the near future.
Kees Scharringa, Netherlands

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kees S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We spent eight days in total here, the first two days were getting PADI Advanced, the last eight were just fun dives. We read on the Internet that Bunaken was one of the best places in the world to dive, so that set great expectations. Well I can tell you they're all true! With the help of the great guides every dive we saw something spectacular!

The service you receive is just great, they pack all your gear, install it for you, you don't have to think about it when you are back on shore, you get a nice local lunch, and if you're ready with your diving you just go home to your holiday home. Just office super friendly and although the price is a bit high it's all worth it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean-Luc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed at this resort for a total of five days on a solo trip to unwind and recharge.This resort is a distance away from the city,opposite the amazing Bunaken,Manado Tua and Siladen dive sites.The resort has a private jetty( worth a visit for morning and evening walks- with great sunset views) and its own fleet of dive boats as well as an amazing dive team.A must do here is diving obviously, of which the dive team will take good care of your needs.Diving here was superb, and the hotel organizes sightseeing visits around the island as well.

The hotel has great potential to expand and is currently in the midst of much renovation as well as construction of several interesting facilities including a two storey bar next to a large tree,offering great views of the sunset.

The staff here are exceptionally friendly and warm,with the General Manager offering a personal welcome.If you are looking to escape from the city,yet stay connected to Manado Town( the hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to the town once a day) this hotel is for you.Do note however that wifi access is currently only available in the lobby and restaurant. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenTrippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I spent 10 days staying in Grand Luley with my wife. We really enjoyed wonderful holiday in Manado. The services of this resort are great. The staffs are friendly. Especially, they have private jetty which can access to Bunaken island within 5-10 minutes. Worth to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tse Khang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manado hotels
6.3 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 46 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
7.7 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Aston Manado Hotel
Aston Manado Hotel
#4 of 46 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
7.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Manado
6.2 mi away
Sintesa Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Luley Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Luley Manado

Property: Grand Luley Manado
Address: Tongkaina, Bunaken, Wori, Manado 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Luley Manado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A North Sulawesi's Hidden Jewel Discover what the beauty of green landscape and underwater world has to offer in the heart of Bunaken National Marine Park. Located on a six-hectare property surrounded by lush greenery on the outskirts of Manado, Grand Luley Resort is an idyllic retreat with the famous Bunaken National Marine Park as the background. Bordered by a magnificent mangrove forest and nestled along the coast, this North Sulawesi's hidden jewel is welcoming divers and travelers from across the world. Whether you choose to have a laidback late afternoon waiting for a beautiful sunset from our jetty, or simply get on the boat for a fun underwater activity, staying at Grand Luley Resort is where nature and fun are blended. Featuring international standard facilities wrapped in the charm of local hospitality, this heavenly sanctuary is truly fit for those seeking to indulge in the tranquil nature of green panorama and the breath-taking view of underwater world. Grand Luley Resort provides a convenient airport pick-up service. Along the 40-minute drive from the airport, your eyes will also be feasted on the panorama of mountainous greeneries. To make the most of your resort staying, our safe and fun boat charter will take you to the island's most beautiful spots for both diving and snorkeling. We place service excellence as the center of our business, our friendly staff are always ready to pamper you with our Indonesian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Luley Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing