We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Real ???”
Review of Sahid Kawanua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sahid Kawanua
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Manado
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“For Real ???”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I usually more tolerable than most people are but this time around, I must agree with the 2 prior comments made on this by masgendut and hm_y. I have never seen such a bad condition of a hotel. From the moment we walked in, the a/c was not turned on in the lobby when it was super hot outside. Then we were given our rooms (we booked 2 rooms for 2 nights). We were so shocked how bad condition were the rooms. From the smell, DIRTY bathroom (tubs are all moldy, paints chipped, and again smelly), to stained carpets (and wet !) and bathsheets (old blood stained all over the sheets).

It took us about 30-40 minutes to get new rooms. We went from level 2, 3 and 4 and ended up having to just close our eyes and accepted the most decent rooms since we had pre-paid for the hotel. We thought about moving to another hotel but then the lost would be ours, too.

The breakfast was just as bad. The toaster isn't working... to my surprise, the waitress was trying to poke the toaster with a metal knife until I stopped her because I didn't want her to get electrocuted !!! ... What a dumb person! ...

Anyway, like the other 2 comments, stay away from this hotel. Spend more $ for a nicer hotel like the Aston (which we stayed there on our return from Bunaken island)... This is a dump !! the nerve they have to promote their property as a 3 stars..

On a positive note, the staff, other than the dumb waitress, are very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spotmenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
2
3
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2012

@masgendut: where to start, indeed.
I absolutely loathed this hotel, with passion.
Basically everything @masgendut said in previous review.
When we heard the hotel was more than 30 years old, we immediately expected the worst. And we saw it coming as we drove in to the hotel. There was no hotel security in sight, suspicious people lounging on the couch, only 1 employee manned the front desk. Elevator smelled like mold. Half of 3rd floor was under renovation.
Breakfast was just horrendous! The choices were not only poor, they're limited. We struggled hard just to get some eggs. Have I told you how quiet this hotel was yet? It takes forever to get service. I had the impression that customer satisfaction is at the bottom of the priority list. The only reason why we didn't change hotels was because we already bought voucher for 2 nights. I just wish I had taken some pictures to share with everyone. Oh well, definitely not coming back here again.

Room Tip: Unless they completely renovate the whole place, how bout choosing a room outside of the hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hm y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manado hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Where to start! peeling paint throughout the room, corridors etc, a room fridge so dirty and frosted up that it hardly works, cable TV channels blocked by the supplier because the bill hasnt been paid and the list goes on. The staff are nice and try to be helpful so the service is actually OK but the hotel itself is billed as a three star and it is not even close. At over USD60 per night, it is simply just a rip off.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradCS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The huge swimming pool well & truly makes up for the lack of modern facilities. Sahid Kawanua proudly displays a large portrait of, once upon a time guests, President Soeharto and Mrs Soeharto in the foyer. Well, that was a long time ago. The good things are; the huge, full sized, 3.6 mtr deep pool, the very accomodating staff, the rooms are serviced and cleaned daily, the air con works perfectly, the rooms have a large comfortable bed & a fridge, housekeeping staff leave fresh fruit and a few bottles of water in the rooms every morning and it costs about $A20.00 p.p.p.n. including a smogasbord breakfast.
Not so good; English is very poor, the "24 hour bar" was rarely open, friendly rats saunter around the poolside on the evenings, (they are cute, really).
Everyone in Manado is friendly and they are always smiling. Contact a good tour guide; like Dicky Kho, and you will find heaps to do.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stalk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
1,259 reviews
332 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,197 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

This hotel originally opened in 1972 and back then it must have been one of the grandest and most modern hotels on the island of Sulawesi. It has been renovated once since then but this hotel still has a decidedly 1970s look. This will turn some people off, but for us it was a positive. We recommend this place for its central position, its enormous swimming pool, its highly negotiable room rates, and its air of fading elegance.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manado hotels
0.9 mi away
Minahasa Hotel Manado
Minahasa Hotel Manado
#19 of 46 in Manado
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Central Hotel
Gran Central Hotel
#37 of 46 in Manado
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Biz Boulevard Manado
Biz Boulevard Manado
#15 of 46 in Manado
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Whiz Prime Hotel Megamas Manado
5.8 mi away
Sutanraja
Sutanraja
#18 of 46 in Manado
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Genio Hotel Manado
Genio Hotel Manado
#13 of 46 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahid Kawanua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahid Kawanua

Property: Sahid Kawanua
Address: Jln. Sam Ratulangi No. 1, Manado 95111, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sahid Kawanua 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel located in center of Sulawesi's northernmost town, near shopping & beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sahid Kawanua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing