We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santika Premiere Seaside Resort Manado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Santika Premiere Seaside Resort Manado
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Manado
Curacao
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

From the moment that we were picked up from the airport until we were dropped off three weeks later we felt a very warm friendship from virtually all the staff. For us it was the celebration of our 12 1/2 year wedding anniversary and the staff really made it a memorable day. Our bed was decorated with flowers, the BBQ at night was # excellently organized and the day we left, the staff was singing us a farewell complete with guitar, drums and cymbals. Many thanks in particular to Maria and Edwin.
Diving with Thalassa was a wonderful experience. We made three dives a day and were guided by professional dive masters throughout. Simone Gerritsen (owner) and her crew really stood for their slo9gan "Come as a guest and leave as a friend". We certainly will come back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanookh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SEA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

It is with much regret that I am writing this review for hotel Santika. My partner and I stay at this hotel frequently over the past few years as the dive center at this hotel, Thalassa is the best in the world. Over the years, this hotel is showing its age and it is not maintained well at all. We stayed in the beach bungalow in 2010 and in Jan 2011. Particularly, this year, it looks as if the hotel has been affected by the economy downturn. The toilets don't flush well, the lounge chairs in the pavilion is dirty. There isn't a beach at this hotel, so it would have been nice to sit outside in the pavilion, or even at the pool. Unfortunately, the pool was leaking while we were there and the pool water turned yellow. I saw frogs swimming in the pool, last count 4... the suntan chairs were either broken or dirty.

The hotel staff spoke very little English and it was difficult to communicate with them, ranging from the restaurant to the reception. Sad to say, even though this hotel has beautiful gardens, and a great dive center, it is badly managed and badly maintained. Even wanting to dive at Thalassa is no longer enough to make me stay at this hotel. Next time, I will stay at another hotel and dive at Thalassa.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simpledreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manado hotels

Manado, Indonesia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

We stayed in a Bungalow. The first night we complained about no hot water for the shower. The 2nd night we finally got hot showers but the front door lock didn't open so we had to access our room from the back door. The 3rd night (Christmas) they let off some fireworks at 11 pm and didn't forewarn the guests, so it kept us up late in the night wondering what it was since we heard the launch (what sounded like rockets), but no fireworks was heard. The next day we confirmed it was their fireworks last night. Would have been nice to know. The rooms are pretty old, but they do keep it tidy. The toilet don't flush well and you have to do this weird 360 degree rotation with the toilet handle for it to work. We had limited/no internet conection in our bungalow and had to go to the lounge to access the internet. The hotel food is average and nothing special. The drinks are expensive; especially if you order gin and tonic (two drinks set us back 226 Rp...about US $25. There was hardly any gin in them. Overall and so far, I am not impress and probably won't return. One positive is the hotel attendee are SUPER friendly!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayatravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

"Unpretentious" was my strongest impression of this hotel. In a similar situation two years ago -- choosing the hotel because the dive service was located there -- I stayed in a really over-reaching hotel in Labuan Bajo, the jump-off for Komodo. This hotel was much more comfortable, an easy place to relax. I did think the rooms were perhaps a bit overpriced for what they were given the location, but I had no major complaints. The view from the main restaurant was stunning, the breakfast buffet was perfectly adequate and a good start to a day's diving, and the grounds of the hotel were pleasant.

We didn't have hot water at first, but after we told the front desk they sent somebody down to fix it immediately and the water was almost TOO hot after that. Service at the hotel restaurant was very slow one night due to a private party at one of the cottages, and the restaurant should probably be avoided for dinner. Take a taxi into Manado (50,000 rupiah one way) and have dinner there instead, or walk over to Four Fish and eat there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAsiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

First the good bits: the dive shop attached to the hotel, Thalassa, is excellent and perfectly located to dive the wonders of the Bunaken marine reserve. And the spa does good massages.

But you don't have to stay at Santika to use Thalassa, and we recommend that you don't. The property should have everything going for it: good buildings, nice pool. But the service was truly awful. There was no-one around who could help with any questions, either because of lack of English (or any other European language) or because people simply didn't know the answer. The concierge desk was never manned (it transpired that the concierges had other jobs as drivers), and virtually none of the activities described on the hotel's site appeared to exist.

We were in the "Cottages", supposedly the best rooms. They were large enough and adequately appointed but by no means luxurious. Dim lighting made them rather dingy, and the first signs of poor maintenance were definitely there (plumbing not working quite right, door locks not quite fitting).

Food was very poor, buffets lacking in variety and freshness, a la carte service taking up to 90 minutes at times. On one night, they simply closed down the whole of the main restaurant because of a corporate event, leaving 50 guests to be served by around 3 staff in the "Big Tree Cafe".

The atmosphere was described by several people as "like a morgue". Two families, both return visitors, said that the place had deteriorated since the previous year.

We voted with our feet and found alternative accommodation after a week.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xgretsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TINTINHULL U.K.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

Stayed as a group of 16 when the hotel was not too busy. The hotel had a very clean natural feel and with so much open to the air, was extreemly relaxing. The food was vary varied in main choices; with many additionals out at every meal. Some items being cooked to order and even brought to your table. The staff ( and especially LIAN and LUSY ) could not do enough to help. Example : hotel ran out of stamps, so Lian went to Manado ( 45 mins each way ) and bought some just so I could send some postcards. I asked for a milky coffee one breakfast : as soon as I arrived each morning after; the coffee followed soon after. Everybody greets you when you pass; and even call your name from a distance. The massage is to be reccommended ( if you bargain the price a little ) but don't ask for the hard style unless you have a good pain threshold !!
There wasn't outside entertainment but they made up for that by giving spur of the moment guitar and singing performances ( whilst still doing their normal work ! ). LIAN has an amazing voice - if only I had had room in my suitcase for her !!! We were there for the diving provided by Thalassa and this was also exceptional service. Overall we were very impressed with everything and everybody . Definately a 10 out of 10 hotel.

Stayed March 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank MrNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

I stayed here for a week with my partner as a base for diving around Bunaken island.

We enjoyed the garden bungalow right in front of the mangrove trees, no complaints whatsoever, the food is good, service is great and we love the garden settings.

Some reviewers mention "issues" but if you are familiar with traveling in Indonesiai you will get used to those. Like in our case there was a problem with the air conditioning, but this got fixed quickly when we reported it.

The staff is very friendly and most of them speak good english. If you are not there to go diving there is not much to do at the hotel except hang around the swimming pool, there is a free shuttle to go to manado for some evening shopping.

If you are diving, this hotel is a good base to dive around Bunaken using the on-site dive center Thalassa, after returning from your dive the hotel provides all you need to relax and enjoy the beaty of the place, far from the busy city of Manado...

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bart_Elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manado hotels
0.4 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#3 of 43 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#4 of 43 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
Aston Manado Hotel
Aston Manado Hotel
#1 of 43 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Maleosan Manado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santika Premiere Seaside Resort Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santika Premiere Seaside Resort Manado

Property: Hotel Santika Premiere Seaside Resort Manado
Address: Tongkaina-Bunaken, P.O. Box 1644, Manado 95000 , Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Most Beautiful Resort in Manado located just across Bunaken Island which is only 10 minutes away. Wonderful ocean views, scenery, strategic location, traditional hospitality and excellent service. Rooms, Cottages and Suite are harmoniously situated to afford luxurious seaside views. Tease your taste buds with the best International and local cuisine at Maleo Coffee Shop and Big Tree Cafe, enjoy a new dining experience with us and indulge yourself with our special creations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resort Santika Manado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing