We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gangga Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“top resort”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Diving , snorkeling or simply just for a relaxed time, this resort stays in top. A top service-minded , smiling and friendly staff and management are making your days into something special. The rooms are cozy with the view to a white sandy beach. The sea is clean and calm. Excellent food at all meals - a cozy afternoon coffee/tea at the pool area every afternoon where the staff is playing guitar and singing local songs, what more can we wish for. This is a resort that really cares about the environment and guest at the same time. Bravo Gangga ! , looking forward to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1175HN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    39
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
92
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent a week in the resort and enjoyed every minute. An isolated island an hour ride from manado. A small boat picks you up to take you to the. Resort and you see the boat on the day of your departure. The staff was fantastic, and did all they could to make our stay merorable. And they succeeded. The resort is well taken care of. The pool is next to the restaurqnt and spa and was a nice place to spend the afternoon. Unless you scuba dive, there is not much to do except sunbathe, walk along the beach or go visit the two villages on the island: one muslim, the other christian. The village people are very nice and love to have their picture taken! You have to walk because there is no other way to get there. The small bungalows are comfortable but quite rustic and rudimentary. The food is typical indonisian food. Good!

Room Tip: All the bungalows are identical. It depends if you want to be near the pool and restaurant, or fart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nad435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If you are looking to dive in the Bunaken area, this is the place to stay, hands down.

I'm a PADI instructor with 200+ dives and this is one of the most professional and service-oriented operations I've ever been at. The staff is hyper organized and diligent. They rinse your gear every single day, and you only handle it when donning it.

The resort has access to more dive areas than those in Bunaken or Lembeh. It can take you to both places, but also to Bagka and Gangga. We did the best night dive of my life at the latter.

As a place to stay, you won't be anywhere more private or lovely. The facilities and surroundings are simply gorgeous. It is the only hotel on the island. The food is outstanding, and so is the service.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Facing the beach, where else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joaki_Monserrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

It's a great hotel for divers because that's really all there is to do, although some guests had non-diving spouses who relaxed on the beach or pool all day. Most of the bungalows are beach front, some are set back and probably have no view. We stayed beach front and we had a nice sandy beach in front with two lounge chairs and a bale on the sand and a lounge and chair on the deck area. The bungalows are duplex style, which means there are two bungalows together with a common wall. Each has separate deck areas. We did not have a common wall neighbor the whole week we were there. The room itself was a bit smaller than some of the other beach bungalows we have stayed in, and closet space was somewhat limited. The biggest drawback for me at this resort was that I found the bed extremely uncomfortable. It was firm and not in a good way, it felt a bit like sleeping on a box spring. The resort was not full when we were there so they did not have any barbecues or buffets at lunch or dinner which they only do if the hotel is full or nearly full. The food was average to good, four courses for lunch and dinner and you chose from several options which changed each day. Breakfast was the same every day - a continental buffet with eggs and waffles made to order. The bar was expensive and the bartender only knew how to make the drinks on the menu. The wine selection was dreadful which is surprising for a Italian owned resort, so if you are going through Singapore, a trip to the duty free store for liquor on the way is probably a good idea. The diving was very good and our dive guide was excellent. The boats hold about 8 divers and we usually had fewer than that. Each dive guide takes no more than four people, but most of the time the groups were two or three. Be aware that if you want to go to Bunaken or Lembeh, that they will only go if they have at least four people who want to go and it cost extra. The boats have a covered seating area and a shelf area to keep things dry. Most of the dives were pinnacles, some sloping walls and sandy areas. Lots of small critters, the usual tropical fish, eels and turtles. if you like the big stuff this is not the place. Diving was pretty easy, calm seas and mild current. The hotel has a nice pool and the spa was very good. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Overall I really liked this resort. If the beds and food were a bit better I would give them a higher rating.

Room Tip: Get a beach front bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAL31M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The view is stunning,
the rooms are clean and comfortable,
the spa has many treatment options,
the food is really excellent,
bbq night is a lot of fun!...
the staff is exceptionally courteous,
the dives are wonderful,
the photo room is well equipped,
even the pool has an amazing view!...
But the best part is the SUNSETS!!!

Room Tip: Ok, the beds are a little stiff, just make up for it by napping by the pool ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We'd dived off Bunaken before, this time we were looking for something a bit different, and wanted white sand beaches and a nice spot for our topside time. Gangga is perfect for this - there is great dusk (for the mating mandarin fish!) and night diving right next to the resort, exciting diving around Banggka Island (45 mins away), and they offer one-day dive safaris to Bunaken and Lembeh. Never more than 4 divers plus a guide on every dive, and your gear is unloaded and rinsed at the end of every day. Boats are roomy with plenty of covered space, and there are always water, hot tea, snacks and dry towels on board.

All bungalows are right on the beach - the sea is steps away. There are beautiful views of the lush hillsides and volcanoes on mainland Sulawesi to the south, stunning sunsets over nearby Lihagia island. The rooms are clean and comfortable with plenty of fluffy towels for beach and bathing and nice toiletries in the bathroom. We were at Gangga during Wimbledon and loved being able to watch the games on the in-room satellite tv while we were there. The food is abundant - huge buffet breakfasts and four-course lunches and dinners which are always preceded by homemade warm bread and flavoured dipping oil. We requested bubur manado for breakfast one day and the chef was very happy to oblige - no mean feat considering that all food comes from the mainland only twice a week.

Gangga introduced me a lovely side of Indonesia that I did not know existed. My only (constructive) criticism is that sometimes the menus are a little "ambitious", but the food is always well cooked and well seasoned, especially the fish burgers!

Room Tip: Lower numbered bungalows are nearer the main building and thus more likely to pick up their wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

If you like quietness, this beautiful peaceful island is the answer.
Highly recommend specially if you are divers.
Various creatures, macro, mandarin fish. Love it!
Beautiful view both landscape and underwater.
Nice white sand beach right in front of your bungalow.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melania E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manado
21.0 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 46 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
24.0 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 46 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
19.5 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 46 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
21.1 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
22.1 mi away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gangga Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gangga Island Resort & Spa

Property: Gangga Island Resort & Spa
Address: Desa Gangga Satu. Kec. Likupang Barat Minahasa Utara, Manado 95375, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gangga Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and relish on the tip of a small island located off the cost of Manado in North Sulawesi, Indonesia, called Gangga Island Resort & Spa. Where thirty elegantly furnished & air conditioned wooden bungalows with high ceilings and a spacious veranda overlooking the beach are discreetly set at the base of a jungle covered hill. An unparalleled scuba diving experience is waiting for you in North Sulawesi! Gangga offers sensational diving where you can get up close and personal with diverse and remarkable sea life from both the Indian and the Pacific Oceans. The resort is an ideal starting point for the diving sites of Bangka Island, Bunaken National Marine Park and Lembeh Strait, making it a favorite destination for underwater photographers. For both divers and non-divers the picturesque white sand beach, the large salt-water pool, a traditional spa and the high quality of service at Gangga Island Resort will guarantee a peaceful and relaxing stay. Our friendly and accommodating staff will be happy to welcome you and assist you with your requirements, endeavor to make your stay in Gangga enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gangga Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gangga Island Hotel Manado
Gangga Island Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing