We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly seclusion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gangga Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Heavenly seclusion”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Gangga Island Resort has beautiful wooden chalets with fabulous tiled spa like bathrooms set on white sand beach and individual covered gazebo , as well as devoted chaise loungers for each chalet. The water is turquoise blue and each chalet overlooks the volcanoes across the strait. Sunsets are amazing ! The chef is very good and meals freshly prepared 3 to 4 course with choices. The bar and game room type central living room is nicely separated into sitting areas for small families or groups. Service is good and the staff remembers your preferences at each meal.
The pool is really pretty with shade and sun overlooking the ocean and tea time each afternoon. The staff sings and plays the guitar at tea and some evenings. The spa services are very good.
Dive services and sites are wonderful. The corals , colors, and fish are amazing! There are pinnacles, walls, sandy bottom, deep blue, whatever you'd hope for! The dive shop checks with you each evening to see if you feel like diving the next morning. Can dive 2 tank morning and 1 in afternoon. Valet diving with good dive masters tailored to experience level. Great resort for families too especially if some dive and some do not. Great pool, great beach, good food, pool table, spa, ping pong, space to be alone or join others. Gangga has it all for an island getaway!

Room Tip: Larger numbered rooms furthest away from restaurant and dive shop. Some have better views of water a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    39
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
94
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Last year i was looking fr a beautiful and quiet place for our honeymoon. It was really a relaxing place to be at. The beachfront bungalows and ever inviting seas made it perfect. Food was awesome and each meal was a pleasant suprise. Credits to the staff there for their warmth. We did take a short day off to the resorts near Bunaken but soon learnt it was nothing like Gangga.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RidzuanRashid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was there for one week to go scuba diving. The hotel has beautiful bungalows built out of wood. Drinking water is provided. The dive center tries to make all trips possible and is very flexible. Getting to the hotel from the airport takes about 1.5 hrs. Everything was well organized and the fisherman brought me to the island in the dark. Very quiet and absolutely beautiful place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dk_rd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aerdenhout,, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

it is always risky to go back to a place you liked. It could have gotten much better in your memory after all and be a disappointment once back.
Not so Gangga Island Resort and Spa in Indonesia.
I have absolutely no idea what I would see improved.
The food is excellent. Every day for lunch and dinner choice of indonesian and european dishes. To be honest, I have no idea what the european dishes taste like because I LOVE indonesian food. But the Indonesian dishes are very tasty. Also the breakfast gives a choice of european food and every day rice or noodles indonesian style.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. Nice big bathroom and very nice smelling soapes and champoos.
the divingcentre is excellent. The service is spot on and the dive masters know their business.
And the diving is great, as long as you are happy with just small stuff. Having a big macro lens, I am.
For those loving bigger stuff take their day trip to Bunaken, for those who want even more small stuff there is a day trip to Lembeh.
Maybe combine this resort with one at Bunaken if you can't live without the occasional shark.
The spa is also recommendable. The offer a small but good selection of massages, great after a day of diving.
This is really a good place to go to if you love diving and a little comfort after diving.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We went to Gangga after a Raja Ampart live aboard. we felt since we where already in the area this would be a great extension. The bungalow was excellent and located right on the beach.The food was 5 course with stand over the table service. As divers this dining arrangement is not the norm but ok. Don't be in a hurry to get fed as you will wade through serving after serving! food is good, just that a meal will easily use up an hour. The dive operation is a good one, safety is a strong point and the divemasters are experianced and friendly. The diving was good, not as much marine life as we expected, but some interesting things to see, under sea hot water vents for instance and an abundance of cuddle fish. All told we had a wonderfull time with some great people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manado, Indonesia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The bungalows are very comfortable and clean and all the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Each bungalow has their own sunbeds and a shaded platform at the beach.
For lunch and dinner you can choose from a daily changing short menu and it was always excellent and plentiful.
The diving was great and the guides know their work......

Room Tip: almost all of the rooms have a good view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerdyDenny_Tulong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I spent three nights at Gangga Island Resort & Spa May 16-19. Main purpose of my trip was diving. I stayed in bungalow 10-B, which is a 250 to 300 meter walk from the resort's main building (open air with fans) which has reception area and restaurant. It's a hike, and at night it's easy to get a bit lost ... but you can't get too lost, as all the bungalows are lined up along the beach. There is a saltwater pool between the main building and the beach.
Tip: If you have trouble walking or just want to be near the pool and restaurant, get one of the lower bungalow numbers -- 1 through 4 or so.
My bungalow was comfortable and clean. It had a canopy bed with a comfortable mattress. World's smallest flat screen TV! Maybe 18" ... like a computer monitor. But most folks don't come to Gangga to watch TV in their room. Wireless internet was spotty. That's common in Indonesia.
My main complaint with the room was that it was a bit dark. The windows weren't big, and the drapes could only be pulled back completely, so my room was somewhat dim in the middle of the day.
My bungalow was about 30 meters from a beautiful white sand beach, with calm shallow water perfect for snorkeling. Each bungalow has an assigned lounge on the beach (think of a four-poster platform on the beach with two cushions for lounging and a canopy overhead).
There are bungalows only 10 yards from the beach with a great view of the water. Again, ask for beachfront bungalow if you want to sit on the deck and watch the water.
The dive shop was first rate. Lots of divers at the resort, many from Germany. Other nationalities were Italian, American, Austrian.
The food at the restaurant was good to very good. I can't rave about it but I enjoyed my meals.
I'd recommend Gangga wholeheartedly to divers ... excellent facilities and location. Good place to relax after a hard days diving. I'd also recommend it to folks who just want to relax.
It's not a place to go if you want excitement, fine dining, to party, etc.

Room Tip: The bungalows are lined up in two rows along the beach. The first row is very close to beach ... a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manado
21.0 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 45 in Manado
130 reviews
24.0 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
512 reviews
19.5 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 45 in Manado
166 reviews
16.8 mi away
Cocotinos Manado
Cocotinos Manado
#1 of 2 in Wori
321 reviews
33.7 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gangga Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gangga Island Resort & Spa

Property: Gangga Island Resort & Spa
Address: Desa Gangga Satu. Kec. Likupang Barat Minahasa Utara, Manado 95375, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gangga Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and relish on the tip of a small island located off the cost of Manado in North Sulawesi, Indonesia, called Gangga Island Resort & Spa. Where thirty elegantly furnished & air conditioned wooden bungalows with high ceilings and a spacious veranda overlooking the beach are discreetly set at the base of a jungle covered hill. An unparalleled scuba diving experience is waiting for you in North Sulawesi! Gangga offers sensational diving where you can get up close and personal with diverse and remarkable sea life from both the Indian and the Pacific Oceans. The resort is an ideal starting point for the diving sites of Bangka Island, Bunaken National Marine Park and Lembeh Strait, making it a favorite destination for underwater photographers. For both divers and non-divers the picturesque white sand beach, the large salt-water pool, a traditional spa and the high quality of service at Gangga Island Resort will guarantee a peaceful and relaxing stay. Our friendly and accommodating staff will be happy to welcome you and assist you with your requirements, endeavor to make your stay in Gangga enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gangga Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gangga Island Hotel Manado
Gangga Island Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing