We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Bukittinggi
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bukittinggi
Certificate of Excellence
Putrajaya, Malaysia
1 review
“Pleasant”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Hills, stayed here in April 2014. Everything was good. Room, service, location.... except the food. Being in a hotel in Bukittinggi,I would have expected a more commanding spread of authentic Padang dishes to entice its tourist or people whom naturally would come over to Padang for food. But all the rest is good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YatieAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    144
    62
    13
    8
See reviews for
104
53
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel location is the best! It's located at the centre of the city, within 5 minutes of walking we can arrived in Jam Gadang (Bukttinggi Big Ben Clock),which is one of famous landmark in Indonesia. Hotel facilities are good, interior design is strongly influences by mediteranean architecture. From the room's view we can see the Singgalang mountain,so beautiful...

The hotel restaurant was nice, we seated outdoor enjoying our breakfast. The food taste and presentation are okay from origin local cuisine ( Padang's food) to International choice are serve nicely. Kids can play on the field or swimming, make sure our kids are okay to swim in the chill water, especially in the morning. It was a pleasant stay, just a small thing need to be upgrade such as the old furnished inside the room including the the bathroom equipment too.

Meke sure you stay in this hotel when you visit Bukittinggi!

Room Tip: Stay in the room with Singgalang mountain viewing,very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stay for 2 nights here. This hotel is in the center of Bukit Tinggi, near Jam Gadang only 3 minutes walk from the hotel. The architecture is great, you can take many good picture here, many beautiful spot in here. The food taste is good. Swimming pool and kids pool is average, but no staff in pool's cafe. The is good. The bathroom need some fix. The staff should more friendly.

Room Tip: Don't take room number 312 and 313 because the view is coverage by the hotel roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dessyriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel's exterior and interior dominated by mediteranean looks or I should say it's been influenced by colonial taste. Previously people know this hotel name is Novotel, now it's been managed by Accor group. The room is big and clean enough. For 5 stars hotel is not extraordinary yet, it's just right. Some of ornaments and elevator are already looked old. But I could say it's pleasant enough to stay here, no smelly from old stuff that will annoy you. This hotel located strategically in the centre of Bukittinggi, it's only 3 mins walk to Jam Gadang one of the famous landmark in Bukittinggi and Pasar Atas (traditional market) that sell a lot of souvenirs and Padang (West Sumatra) food. Also near the Bung Hatta's house one of Indonesia historical house of our first former vice president who contributes a lot for Indonesia's independence day. A lot of food stall at the hotels' surrounding, so you would never feel difficult to find food whatever the time. One glitch for this hotel, not as other 5 stars hotel the breakfast buffet not ready yet at 6am. And the breakfast menu from day to day will be the same.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lahmazani Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A fairly good 4 star hotel. I would say that this is the best that you could get in bukit tinggi. On weekends you may want to consider staying away from this hotel and nearby hotels as the road around the Hills is turned into a motorcycle race track on every Saturday night starting just past midnight. You will not be able to sleep - trust me. I have spoken to the hotel staff and they responded - saying that even the police could not do anything about it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amohamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellendoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed there for 4 nights. It is a great building, love the architecture! Gives great views on Singalang, the vulcano. The room is real good, bed really comfortable. Breakfast is good, the restaurant and terrace are nice to sit. The swimmingpool is good also, nice chairs. Pool is long enough to really swim. Staff is really helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacomijn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights to explore the area. The hotel building itself was lovely with a spacious feel. Rooms were large but bathroom was in need of updating as the bath itself had been damaged and re enamelled in patches. As an old building it doesn't have double or triple glazing so there was some street noise but not enough to disturb us. Staff were very friendly and tried hard to help us but they didn't speak much English, or couldn't understand us so getting information about how to get to places was a little difficult. Breakfast was a little disappointing. There appeared to be a good choice of local hot dishes but the choice of fruit, cereal, breads etc was limited and not what we hoped for. Staff in the restaurant at breakfast were always very keen to please and very quick to clear old dishes or top up tea and coffee, always with a smile. Pool area was attractive and well maintained with a good sized pool. We were there on Election Day and there were quite a few kids as day visitors, possibly as schools seemed to be closed. This did limit the availability of loungers but as the hotel seemed quiet it was not a big issue and didn't prevent us getting a seat. The hotel appears to be undergoing some renovation in public areas. This didn't affect us negatively in any way. Location is excellent for the centre of town. If we were in the area again I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bukittinggi hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi
Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi
#2 of 16 in Bukittinggi
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Jogja
#10 of 16 in Bukittinggi
3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treeli Boutique Hotel
Treeli Boutique Hotel
#3 of 16 in Bukittinggi
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Campago Hotel
Campago Hotel
#4 of 16 in Bukittinggi
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunda Hotel, Bukittinggi
Bunda Hotel, Bukittinggi
#5 of 30 in Bukittinggi
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Benteng
Hotel Benteng
#22 of 30 in Bukittinggi
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bukittinggi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bukittinggi

Property: Novotel Bukittinggi
Address: Jl. Laras Dt Bandaro, Bukittinggi 26115, Indonesia (Formerly The Hills Bukittinggi Hotel & Convention)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Bukittinggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bukittinggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Novotel Bukittinggi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bukittinggi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hills Bukittinggi Hotel Bukittinggi
Bukittinggi Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing