We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, artistic hotel, but noisy and bad room service”
Review of Aie Angek Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aie Angek Cottage
Ranked #7 of 31 Bukittinggi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a very beautiful & artistic hotel. Just like gallery. We love that. The mountain view from this place is amazing. You must go to this hotel for the view & the gallery, even if you don't sleep here.
But for the function as hotel, I doubt it. When we stayed, there area group of meeting people (from some company). So we can't have dinner at the restaurant, only room service. We have to wait for around 1 hour for the "very simple" food and they tell us (after waiting for so long) that 1 of our menu is running out. What ??!! So we must order another menu and have to wait for another 30 minutes. Very bad ! Better find restaurant outside this hotel !
At night, we can't have a good sleep because of the noise from that company group, singing, laughing, until maybe 2-3 am, even though that group is far away from our room. The wall is very thin, you can hear everything - people speaking & walking in front of your room, the sound from your next door. Please bring your ear-plug.
Overall : overpriced for the sleep quality. Just visit this place for day trip.

Room Tip: 1st floor for older people, not too windy compare to 2nd floor. But better view on second floor. Cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff-Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

You have to try this hotel when you visiting Bukittinggi. It's was a exclusive place with adorable view of Marapi and Singgalang Mount. And that what i've got ^_^.

A beautiful moment at the morning with a farmer worked at his paddy field. It's a perfect things you want to see in the morning. The weather is cold and foggy....brrrr. However, I still enjoyed the pool, with a cup of tea and warm staff who served me even it's been 10 pm.

The room are cozy and warm, with a few paintings from famous artist. The bathroom good enough, even it too small. My breakfast is cold fried breakfast. It's okay coz i feel cozy here. The hotel is a part of Rumah Budaya Fadli Zon. There is a lot antiques, sculptures, and books. It's pleasant place.

Room Tip: choose a room with Singgalang and Marapi mount. Bring double jacket coz u will freeze in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mashita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Our room is directly facing My.Merapi&Singallang-the fame twins! Weather is cold& foggy since 4pm,but we totally enjoyed the pool!room is adequately equipped with basic amenities. Food is delicious,the only letdown would be my breakfast-fried rice is cold. The WiFi doesn't function.
Highlight of the hotel are the art/drawings displayed in the glass house-lobby building,also many Colorful plants& antiques/sculptures are such a delight for a pleasant walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THAM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

i was stayed there with my groups.
the first impression have shown the unprofessional gesture of the staffs. some of our rooms are not ready yet. they haven't clean the room even on 1 PM. we have to stay outside with our luggage for a while. luckily the mountain view was very stunning. it helps to kill the time.

the stafs are not quite friendly. they would only give short answer for any of your enquiries.

the view as i said earlier is stunning. especially in the morning.
the location actually quite far from the nearest town, but food and drinks are quite easy to be acessed outside.

please also consider traffic jam on th eroad to and from this hotel.

room ammenities are standards. nothing special about it.

small but enough space in the room. no aircon becouse it's actually cold in the area.
positive side is the books and antiques galery in the hotel.

cleanliness: when they clean out the room, the liquids that they use to clean up the floor is so sticky..

Room Tip: choose the one that faced to the mountain. you'll get a great morning view and less wind in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jhon_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hotel was wonderful, the location is spectacular with lovely views. The room was nice and had a great shower. We were there over easter weekend so it was a little busy and noisy but on the whole this did not detract from the beauty of the place. The museum of minangkabau culture is lovely although english explanations would have been nice!
Although expensive for indonesia the attention to detail is very good, they are happy to organise tours for you around the area and even went out of their way to help my husband after he hurt his foot walking.
Wifi was good, pool was good, food was good - they even had nice wine !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel_burdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

- nice Hotel
- wonderful clean rooms (a little bit small)
- small but very good menu
- good + friendly staff (unlikely they speak just a little English, theire work is very indonesian stilish planless)
- a lot of traditional Minjakabau arts in the whole hotel, especially in the huge lobby
- wifi out of service most of the time
- the Manager is at Jakarta at all the time

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manfred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Dedy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bukittinggi hotels
7.9 mi away
Novotel Bukittinggi
Novotel Bukittinggi
#1 of 16 in Bukittinggi
327 reviews
8.1 mi away
Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi
Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi
#2 of 16 in Bukittinggi
172 reviews
8.4 mi away
Campago Hotel
Campago Hotel
#4 of 16 in Bukittinggi
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Treeli Boutique Hotel
Treeli Boutique Hotel
#3 of 16 in Bukittinggi
29 reviews
8.4 mi away
Parai Bukit Tinggi Resort
Parai Bukit Tinggi Resort
#11 of 16 in Bukittinggi
5 reviews
8.1 mi away
De Kock Bed & Breakfast
De Kock Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Bukittinggi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aie Angek Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aie Angek Cottage

Address: Jalan Raya Padang Panjang | Bugit Tinggi km 6, Bukittinggi, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Bukittinggi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bukittinggi
Price Range: £55 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aie Angek Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing