We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Experience”
Review of Aryaduta Medan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aryaduta Medan
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Medan
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

find a promo on the Aryaduta website itself field that book 2 nights in Deluxe Room, get a free upgrade, although subject to availability..
I decided to try this experience..
Arrived at the hotel, do the check in and ask the reception if I get a free upgrade..?
There is no answer from the office and she's change the subject to something else..
whether this is service provided from a 5 star hotel..?
I did book for smoking room, so as i arrive in my room, the smell of cigarettes was overpowering to my nose even though I smoke, I have never felt anything like this..
so I asked to move into another rooms, and given that the room was not so smelly but still no upgrade..
Please think twice before booking at Aryaduta Medan..

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Lee S.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Following your review on tripadvisor we have investigated your concerns regarding the possible complimentary upgrade. We assure you that during your request we did look into the possibilities for an upgrade to our next possible category, however we could not accommodate your request as the twin rooms during your stay where occupied. We have noted your comment regarding the communication of this matter and will make sure to improve on our services for the future.
Furthermore we have noted your comments regarding the smoke smell in the first room received, we have taken direct action on this matter.
We do hope that during your next visit to the city you would consider our property once more. Please feel free to contact us directly to arrange your stay and to ensure that we can accommodate your requests.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    246
    109
    27
    12
See reviews for
93
110
48
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queen Charlotte
Level Contributor
270 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Aryaduta is designed primarily as a local business hotel, catering to visiting officials and business people. It provides comfortable and modern rooms, and very efficient and friendly service.

Because the clientele is mostly Muslim in this quite-conservative city, we didn't use the very nice-looking pool, even though our balcony gave us direct access. A Western woman in even a very modest one-piece suit seemed like too great a contrast to the attire worn by the women in the lounge and restaurant areas on the other side of the pool.

Food in the restaurant was very good, and the breakfast was excellent in terms of quality and variety. Fundamental English was spoken by several staff members. Staff helped us arrange our train to the airport, gave us a voucher for discounted tickets, and had a taxi waiting to take us to the nearby train station.

This isn't the hotel for a fun tourist experience, but if you're looking for comfortable, well-run, clean, safe, modern accommodation in a good location, it's an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Bima77,

It was a pleasure reading your review. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our facilities and services as well as noting our excellent location. Furthermore we are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast selection and that you found our staff to be helpful and courteous.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Aryaduta Medan.


Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I've stayed in a half-dozen hotels in Medan over the past 18 months, and this is the one I'd come back to. It's convenient, the staff are very good, and the rooms are quiet and comfortable, and have the necessary amenities. The cafe is very good, and there is wifi in the room. The carpet could use some attention, but that's the only fault I could find.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indonesia80571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear indonesia80571,

It was a pleasure having you with us again during your last visit to Medan.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found are staff to be of a high quality and that our facilities and standards are up to your high standards. We have noted your comments regarding the carpets. For your information we are looking to replace the carpeting within this year in several rooms.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Aryaduta Medan.

Best Regards,

The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel is located 5 min away (by taxi) from the station, so it's pretty convenient. There is a supermarket combined with a mini-shopping mall underneath the hotel, so don't worry for not finding a place to buy things. The room is big, but I think they forgot to place either razor or a comb in the bathroom (I couldn't remember which one). The only thing that really disturbed me is the noise from the music concert in a field nearby. It was Saturday night.

駅から近いで便利です。下にはスパーがあり、ホテルの周りにショッピングモールや戸外レストランも結構あります。一階のロビーで茶の香りがするから、リラックスな気分になりました。部屋が広いですが、私は泊まっている部屋でバスタッブがないので、予約する時には気をつけると。最後に、私が土曜日に泊まりましたが、その近くにある公園でミュージックコンサートがあったみたいで、音がでかかって、部屋まで聞こえました。

Room Tip: Rooms that facing the public open-space might be a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deadesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear deadesu,

It was a pleasure having you with us during your last stay to Medan.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms and hotel location and facilities. We have noted your comments regarding the bath room amenities, and will make sure to investigate this, and improve for future reference.
We have noted your comments regarding the concert on lapangan Benteng, unfortunately this was outside of our control. For your next stay with us, please do inform us of your room preference and we will do our utmost to accommodate your requests.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I am very surprised by the last few reviews of the Hotel. I found the rooms to be extremely clean, well appointed and my room was a non smoking room that smelt fresh and clean. Very friendly room attendants and, when I had a light blow in the bathroom the handyman was there and replaced it within about 20 minutes. This is a very good quality 4 - 4.5 star property with a good breakfast, pool, coffee shop, business centre etc. I was over in Medan for my sons wedding and I felt extremely safe and comfortable. Taxis are on the lobby level (I must admit that some of the young male staff there could be taught a few manners) and it is only a short trip to the Sun Plaza. On the 9th floor where reception, dining and pool are the staff were absolutely wonderful. Annie (not sure if that is how you spell her name) must be a supervisor in the dining room and she introduced herself and was extremely friendly and helpful as was the rest of the staff. Food choices were extensive and the coffee and tea was very good.. On 4 occasions I ordered room service and each time it was brought up in acceptable time and all food and drink arrived hot. Thanks to all the staff for making my stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: I booked through bookin.com and paid substantially more than my son did. He booked direct with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 275DianneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear 275DinanneB,

It was a pleasure accommodating you during your last stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found or facilities up-to your high standards and that you found our staff to be friendly, courteous and efficient. We will make sure to pass this on to our staff. Thank you as well for your kind comments regarding the quality and selection of our food & beverage.
For your next visit to Medan, may we note that booking directly through the hotel will ensure you a best price guarantee, may it be through our own website or by direct reservations.
Looking forward to welcoming you again to Hotel Aryaduta Medan.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Second time but going downhill. The lobby and receptionist area are still well-maintained, exclusive and feel welcome. However, poor experiences started when you entered the room - the carpet condition was bad, bed sheet was dirty with some stains, bathroom amenities were low quality for a 5* hotel. The air circulation was also very bad as they have no separation between smoking and non-smoking floor. WIFI connection was extremely slow! Calling the operator and receptionist but have to wait at least 5 tones before call being picked up. Had really positive experience last year but easily turned into a negative one this year. Will opt for other hotels next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Majuw,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Aryaduta Medan for your last visit to the city.

We are pleased to read that you found our receptionist to be welcoming, we will make sure to share this with our team.

We have noted your comments regarding the carpet in your room. This is most definitely an issue that we are currently looking into. For your information we are in process of refurbishing the carpets in the room, and we will improve on this for future instances. Your comments regarding our Wi-Fi connection have been noted, and we will investigate this and improve on our services here. Lastly we are currently investigating the air circulation in the rooms and we assure you we will do our utmost to rectify this situation.
Again thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We assure you we will improve on our standard of facilities for the future, and we hope you will give us a second thought on your next visit to Medan.


Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Don't be fooled by the lobby and the beautiful pictures on the website. This is a poorly maintained hotel with rooms and carpet that look like retro hand-me-downs from the 1980s. In reality, the hotel was opened barely seven years ago but from the looks of it, management did not bother much with the upkeep. The free breakfast is terrible, with stale bread and barely drinkable coffee one'd normally find at a truck stop. On the other hand, the lobby is a nice touch and the staff are friendly enough. My two cents: If you're looking for 5 stars, just pay the extra US$20-30 and check out the JW Marriott just down the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leavesofgrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Wiena,



Please upload the following response to tripadvisor:

Dear leavesofgrass,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your last visit to our property.

We have noted your comments regarding the carpets in the room, and we will improve on this. For you information we will be replacing 40% of the room carpeting by this year. Progress will start shortly.

Regarding your comments on our breakfast, we will make sure to investigate this points, and we will improve on the quality of bread and coffee given during our breakfast selection.

Again we do appreciate the comments given and we will do our utmost to improve on our services and facilities.
Wishing you a pleasant week.

Kind Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.6 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
0.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
0.2 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aryaduta Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aryaduta Medan

Property: Aryaduta Medan
Address: Jln. Maulana Lubis no. 8, Medan 20112, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Medan
#5 Business Hotel in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aryaduta Medan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the vibrant business and entertainment district of Medan, Aryaduta Medan boasts exceptional comfort in its 195 guest rooms and suites, a multitude of spacious facilities , a breathtaking 35 meters Courtyard Pool and spectacular city views. The hotel is ideally located adjacent to The Mayor's office, 45 minutes drive to Kuala Namu International Airport, walking distance from Merdeka Walk and the train station that runs non stop to the airport is a few minutes drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aryaduta Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medan Aryaduta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing