We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs fixing up”
Review of Aryaduta Medan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aryaduta Medan
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Medan
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Old hotel that needs badly fixing up.
The location is okay, but the facilities....
The facilities are really below average, even for an old hotel like this.
Breakfast and the food in general is below average.
The towels are smelly even though changed daily (I think).
A few nights goes if you don't have an alternative.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoatedCircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear CoatedCircle,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We have noted your comments regarding the towels and our breakfast selection and quality. We will make sure to investigate this and improve on our services for the future.
Regarding the facilities, may we ask you to elaborate on the specifics? Please feel free to contact us anytime on this matter.
We ensure you that we do take your comments seriously and we will do our utmost to improve on our services for the future.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

I arrived late at night at this hotel. And i never thought this hotel as a 5 star Hotel. This is why;

First, at night the lighting at the main floor is quite dark and looks gloomy.
Second, the front desk staff did not friendly and have good welcoming gesture to the customer. Not like a 5 star hotel staff should do! Not warm, and friendly enough!
Third, the lift is like the lift in the old building.
Well, if the company not paying, i'll never stay here!

Room Tip: Asked for the room which closed to the lift, because theres only have 2 lift located right at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bekicotngesot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Bekicotngesot,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do appreciate your feedback and comments.
We have noted your comments regarding the lighting at the lower lobby and your comments regarding the lift. We will make sure to investigate both and take action where possible.
Your comments regarding he friendliness of our front desk has been noted. We will follow up on this and will improve our services for the future.
We do hope that you will consider us for the future, we will make sure to follow up on the feedback given to us.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

find a promo on the Aryaduta website itself field that book 2 nights in Deluxe Room, get a free upgrade, although subject to availability..
I decided to try this experience..
Arrived at the hotel, do the check in and ask the reception if I get a free upgrade..?
There is no answer from the office and she's change the subject to something else..
whether this is service provided from a 5 star hotel..?
I did book for smoking room, so as i arrive in my room, the smell of cigarettes was overpowering to my nose even though I smoke, I have never felt anything like this..
so I asked to move into another rooms, and given that the room was not so smelly but still no upgrade..
Please think twice before booking at Aryaduta Medan..

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Lee S.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Following your review on tripadvisor we have investigated your concerns regarding the possible complimentary upgrade. We assure you that during your request we did look into the possibilities for an upgrade to our next possible category, however we could not accommodate your request as the twin rooms during your stay where occupied. We have noted your comment regarding the communication of this matter and will make sure to improve on our services for the future.
Furthermore we have noted your comments regarding the smoke smell in the first room received, we have taken direct action on this matter.
We do hope that during your next visit to the city you would consider our property once more. Please feel free to contact us directly to arrange your stay and to ensure that we can accommodate your requests.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Aryaduta is designed primarily as a local business hotel, catering to visiting officials and business people. It provides comfortable and modern rooms, and very efficient and friendly service.

Because the clientele is mostly Muslim in this quite-conservative city, we didn't use the very nice-looking pool, even though our balcony gave us direct access. A Western woman in even a very modest one-piece suit seemed like too great a contrast to the attire worn by the women in the lounge and restaurant areas on the other side of the pool.

Food in the restaurant was very good, and the breakfast was excellent in terms of quality and variety. Fundamental English was spoken by several staff members. Staff helped us arrange our train to the airport, gave us a voucher for discounted tickets, and had a taxi waiting to take us to the nearby train station.

This isn't the hotel for a fun tourist experience, but if you're looking for comfortable, well-run, clean, safe, modern accommodation in a good location, it's an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Bima77,

It was a pleasure reading your review. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our facilities and services as well as noting our excellent location. Furthermore we are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast selection and that you found our staff to be helpful and courteous.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Aryaduta Medan.


Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I've stayed in a half-dozen hotels in Medan over the past 18 months, and this is the one I'd come back to. It's convenient, the staff are very good, and the rooms are quiet and comfortable, and have the necessary amenities. The cafe is very good, and there is wifi in the room. The carpet could use some attention, but that's the only fault I could find.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indonesia80571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear indonesia80571,

It was a pleasure having you with us again during your last visit to Medan.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found are staff to be of a high quality and that our facilities and standards are up to your high standards. We have noted your comments regarding the carpets. For your information we are looking to replace the carpeting within this year in several rooms.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Aryaduta Medan.

Best Regards,

The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel is located 5 min away (by taxi) from the station, so it's pretty convenient. There is a supermarket combined with a mini-shopping mall underneath the hotel, so don't worry for not finding a place to buy things. The room is big, but I think they forgot to place either razor or a comb in the bathroom (I couldn't remember which one). The only thing that really disturbed me is the noise from the music concert in a field nearby. It was Saturday night.

駅から近いで便利です。下にはスパーがあり、ホテルの周りにショッピングモールや戸外レストランも結構あります。一階のロビーで茶の香りがするから、リラックスな気分になりました。部屋が広いですが、私は泊まっている部屋でバスタッブがないので、予約する時には気をつけると。最後に、私が土曜日に泊まりましたが、その近くにある公園でミュージックコンサートがあったみたいで、音がでかかって、部屋まで聞こえました。

Room Tip: Rooms that facing the public open-space might be a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deadesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear deadesu,

It was a pleasure having you with us during your last stay to Medan.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms and hotel location and facilities. We have noted your comments regarding the bath room amenities, and will make sure to investigate this, and improve for future reference.
We have noted your comments regarding the concert on lapangan Benteng, unfortunately this was outside of our control. For your next stay with us, please do inform us of your room preference and we will do our utmost to accommodate your requests.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I am very surprised by the last few reviews of the Hotel. I found the rooms to be extremely clean, well appointed and my room was a non smoking room that smelt fresh and clean. Very friendly room attendants and, when I had a light blow in the bathroom the handyman was there and replaced it within about 20 minutes. This is a very good quality 4 - 4.5 star property with a good breakfast, pool, coffee shop, business centre etc. I was over in Medan for my sons wedding and I felt extremely safe and comfortable. Taxis are on the lobby level (I must admit that some of the young male staff there could be taught a few manners) and it is only a short trip to the Sun Plaza. On the 9th floor where reception, dining and pool are the staff were absolutely wonderful. Annie (not sure if that is how you spell her name) must be a supervisor in the dining room and she introduced herself and was extremely friendly and helpful as was the rest of the staff. Food choices were extensive and the coffee and tea was very good.. On 4 occasions I ordered room service and each time it was brought up in acceptable time and all food and drink arrived hot. Thanks to all the staff for making my stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: I booked through bookin.com and paid substantially more than my son did. He booked direct with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 275DianneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear 275DinanneB,

It was a pleasure accommodating you during your last stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found or facilities up-to your high standards and that you found our staff to be friendly, courteous and efficient. We will make sure to pass this on to our staff. Thank you as well for your kind comments regarding the quality and selection of our food & beverage.
For your next visit to Medan, may we note that booking directly through the hotel will ensure you a best price guarantee, may it be through our own website or by direct reservations.
Looking forward to welcoming you again to Hotel Aryaduta Medan.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
0.6 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
0.3 mi away
Adimulia Hotel Medan
Adimulia Hotel Medan
#7 of 76 in Medan
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aryaduta Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aryaduta Medan

Address: Jl. Kapten Maulana Lubis no. 8, Medan 20112, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Medan
#5 Business Hotel in Medan
#7 Best Value Hotel in Medan
Price Range: £34 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aryaduta Medan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the vibrant business and entertainment district of Medan, Aryaduta Medan boasts exceptional comfort in its 195 guest rooms and suites, a multitude of spacious facilities , a breathtaking 35 meters Courtyard Pool and spectacular city views. The hotel is ideally located adjacent to The Mayor's office, 45 minutes drive to Kuala Namu International Airport, walking distance from Merdeka Walk and the train station that runs non stop to the airport is a few minutes drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aryaduta Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medan Aryaduta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing