We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel for 4 Stars Category” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aryaduta Medan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aryaduta Medan
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Medan
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Average Hotel for 4 Stars Category”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Pretty dissapointed with lift, only operated 1 lift with always full of passengers, suddenly the staff allow me to use staff lift to get into 9th floor/sky lobby. Room is average, huge hotel with many rooms each floor. The location is great, in the middle of town but pretty difficult while you try to find some food, the nearest food is McDonalds at Merdeka Square, about 300m to the left of hotel.

***

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Chandra T.,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We have noted your comments regarding our elevators. For your information, the extra lift is a guest lift, which may be used by all our guests. We will however look into our maintenance schedule of our elevators to make sure that in the future in will cause the least possible disturbance to our guests. Thank you for noting this to us.
We do hope that you enjoyed your remaining stay with us, and that you will choose us once more for your next visit to the city.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    234
    103
    26
    11
See reviews for
87
103
45
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I just want to review on the fnb service which is terrible, 1st of all for the breakfast buffet, their efficiency in topping up the food is very slow and 2nd would be they give misleading explanation which leads us clients purchased something that we dont want because they cant refund back evenso the transaction was barely 5minutes.They are rude because they didnt apologize. So dissapointing.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Tara707,

Thank you for your past review of our property.
We have investigated you concerns regarding the refund matter. We do apologies for any inconvenience caused, however as during your check-out the issue was addressed and amended as per discussion with you.
As for your comments regarding our F&B service and efficiency, we will make sure to improve for the future.
Again thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of a trip to North Sumatra. Had a Pool Terrace room so we had a terrace with table and chairs and direct access to the pool. Could also leave the door open for fresh air at night instead of the aircon which can get cold. Daughter particularly liked the breakfast buffet. Hotel was pretty busy during the week, but quieter on the weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a pool terrace room for access to outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear MEKroving,

It was a pleasure having you with us during your last visit to Medan.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our breakfast and we are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and that the room was to your satisfaction.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Aryaduta Medan.


Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at the Ayraduta for 1 night on arrival into Medan and for 2 nights at the end during our 12 day bespoke tour of North Medan. All arrangements were made by our tour guide so had no issue with that. My partner and I had a pleasant stay and couldn't fault the staff service. . Everyone on the front desk and in the restaurants were happy to help where possible. Also the free upgrade on our return to a Club room was an added bonus - great view over the pool. Pool seemed to be cleaned every few hours, there's a gym incase you eat too much nasi goreng. There were a few room fixtures (curtains, door handles) that could do with attention and our first room did have a noticeably loud AC fan, but otherwise the room satisfied our needs. One point I will make, GBP currency goes a long way in Sumatra so you do get more hotel for your money, however you may want to consider Sun Plaza (10-15mins walk) or Merdeka walk (5-10mins walk) as they are considerably cheaper for food. The hotel is in a great central location. I will add the restaurant evening food was delicious and the enormous choice on the breakfast buffet was a highlight! This was the most up market hotel we stayed in and apart from a few minor things couldn't fault it - would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobNuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear RobNuss,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We have noted your comments regarding the curtains and door handles in your room. We will make sure to follow up on these points and improve for our future guests.
For your reference may we note that we now have also started with a free shuttle service to Sun Plaza on weekends and public holidays. Thank you as well for your kind comments regarding our breakfast and food & beverage facilities.

Best Regards,

The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samosir
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We rate the Hotel based on what we want and what we expect for what we pay. First of all we want undisturbed fast Internet Access. Secondly, we want to smoke in our room and thirdly we want to get value for what we pay.

When in Medan we find that we prefer one of the International Five Star Hotels, especially on promo rates in the order of Rp 700.000,-- to Rp 900.000,-- a night for a double room over the many cheaper alternatives. Normally, we have a preference for one of the other hotels but it had been already quite some time since we stayed in the Aryaduta and we were in the mood for getting spoiled, therefore this time the Aryaduta.

It would also give us the opportunity to check out the Palladium Mall, something we had never done so far. We found the Mall quite disappointing as compared to other Malls in Medan.

Check in was fast and within no time we were in our room, me happily smoking and toggling away on my laptop. The WIFI login procedure was a very pleasant user friendly experience and the internet was fast.

After some time in the hotel and room we just got the feeling that our stay was not completely up to our expectations as compared to our last visits and we started out pinpointing what was different. We concluded that everything was just a bit less than expected. A bit less clean, a bit less ….. and one toothbrush for two guests in the room is not over done.

Of course, everything was still acceptable as we were really looking forward for the special Aryaduta treat and being spoiled with the breakfast.

Normally, we schedule an hour for breakfast but based on our previous experiences in the Aryaduta we scheduled 1.5 hrs. Anticipating the aroma of and sipping the freshly brewed first class coffee from the machine enjoying an early morning smoke. This followed by some slices of freshly oven baked crispy baquette with the smoked salmon not to speak of the camembert as starters for the rest in continental and regional treats to come.

Unfortunately, the Aryaduta breakfast which we remembered as by far the best in town is not living up itself anymore. No more good coffee anymore, what one gets is the regular ‘it is brown and it is warm, it looks like coffee but it does not taste as coffee’. Half stale bread instead of the crispy baquette, no more smoked salmon, camembert or …… The beef bacon like crackers and long enough fried to break your teeth on it.

My suggestion for the Aryaduta is try to come back to where you were and start with the breakfast.

For now I think a full five star review is too much to ask for when I think of what the other 5 star international hotels in Medan offer these days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HorasSamosir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear HorasSamosir,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It was a pleasure having you back with us again.
We are pleased that the Wifi was up-to your high standards and that in general you had an acceptable stay with us.
Your comments regarding the cleanliness as well as the lack of bathroom amenities have been noted. We will make sure to investigate these points and improve on this for the future.
With regards to your comments regarding our breakfast selection, quality and taste we will look into this matter and take the necessary action to improve on our services.
Once more thank you for taking the time to review our property, we do appreciate your comments and will do our utmost to improve for the future.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Old hotel that needs badly fixing up.
The location is okay, but the facilities....
The facilities are really below average, even for an old hotel like this.
Breakfast and the food in general is below average.
The towels are smelly even though changed daily (I think).
A few nights goes if you don't have an alternative.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoatedCircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear CoatedCircle,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We have noted your comments regarding the towels and our breakfast selection and quality. We will make sure to investigate this and improve on our services for the future.
Regarding the facilities, may we ask you to elaborate on the specifics? Please feel free to contact us anytime on this matter.
We ensure you that we do take your comments seriously and we will do our utmost to improve on our services for the future.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I arrived late at night at this hotel. And i never thought this hotel as a 5 star Hotel. This is why;

First, at night the lighting at the main floor is quite dark and looks gloomy.
Second, the front desk staff did not friendly and have good welcoming gesture to the customer. Not like a 5 star hotel staff should do! Not warm, and friendly enough!
Third, the lift is like the lift in the old building.
Well, if the company not paying, i'll never stay here!

Room Tip: Asked for the room which closed to the lift, because theres only have 2 lift located right at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bekicotngesot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AryadutaMedan, General Manager at Aryaduta Medan, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Bekicotngesot,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do appreciate your feedback and comments.
We have noted your comments regarding the lighting at the lower lobby and your comments regarding the lift. We will make sure to investigate both and take action where possible.
Your comments regarding he friendliness of our front desk has been noted. We will follow up on this and will improve our services for the future.
We do hope that you will consider us for the future, we will make sure to follow up on the feedback given to us.

Best Regards,


The Management at Hotel Aryaduta Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
0.6 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
0.8 mi away
Grand Angkasa Medan managed by AccorHotels
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aryaduta Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aryaduta Medan

Property: Aryaduta Medan
Address: Jln. Maulana Lubis no. 8, Medan 20112, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Medan
#5 Business Hotel in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aryaduta Medan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the vibrant business and entertainment district of Medan, Aryaduta Medan boasts exceptional comfort in its 195 guest rooms and suites, a multitude of spacious facilities , a breathtaking 35 meters Courtyard Pool and spectacular city views. The hotel is ideally located adjacent to The Mayor's office, 45 minutes drive to Kuala Namu International Airport, walking distance from Merdeka Walk and the train station that runs non stop to the airport is a few minutes drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aryaduta Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medan Aryaduta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing