We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gas chamber to non-smokers”
Review of Antares Hotel

Antares Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antares Hotel
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Medan
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Gas chamber to non-smokers”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night. It was totally overpriced, but they had an offer on at front desk, which made our stay 50% more affordable.

Last room available was the Executive suite, which as you'd expect, was large and fairly comfortable. Nice bed and working TV. Bathroom was pretty shabby - old and very stained shower curtain, half used bottle of shampoo, dirty sink. Mini bar was switched off and empty. And there was a lingering smell of cigarette smoke from previous tenants.

Communal areas downstairs are like gas chambers to non smokers. The foyer and restaurant area, are thick with smog. All the reception chairs and sofas have cigarette burns through them. Even security guards smoke in communal areas and other residents light up, around the breakfast buffet. Though smoking like this is prevalent throughout much of Asia, I think there should be a more concerted effort to protect non smokers and children by allocating areas with ventilation and fresh air. It really was horrid and our suitcases full of fresh clothes, now need laundering after staying there.

Breakfast was included. A buffet full of hot Indonesian food - ok, but would have liked a lighter option available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LettsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
3
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I was booked in a ghastly hostel a few doors down so walked out and managed to get a studio room here for 27,000Rp. It included private ensuite, flat screen tv, A/C, free water bottle, wifi, big buffet breakfast. Tv channels were great and there is a big shopping mall across with food courts, cheap clothes. convenience stores beside and lots of cycle cabs. This next to Masjid Reya and a prime area. Airport transfer was 200,000Rp but they said it takes 2 hrs. I took a cab to the train station for 20,000Rp and took the train which is only 35mins (cost 60,000Rp). They speak good english and took credit cards. They charge a deposit on top of the room which they refunded on check out. Masjid Reya, Maimoon Palace are walking distance. You can walk to the Sumatra State Museum if you have the right directions. Overall this was a great stay after the horrendous hostel and just what I needed to rest and recover for two nights. One small problem the bathroom does not have a sink, just a shower and toilet so a bit difficult to wash your hands or brush your teeth. Buffet breakfast was lots of food of all kinds so you skip lunch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Medan is a wonderful place but it didn't get to my standard. There're many things to buy and it is also cheap. The hotels here are just ok2 cause it is not very spacious. There's no parking lot so it's hard for our driver to park his van around the hotel. For me this time trip is just okay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alia_bruddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Fantastic service from staff, great restaurant, awesome room, very cheap price. I was expecting alot less than what I got for $25 a night, the room is spotless and almost to the point of beautiful, staff are very helpful and after the nightmare of Medan airport, this was the perfect place to wind down. Had alot of fun walking the back streets of Medan, the people are amazingly friendly. Awesome.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NigelRodneyLeitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Friendly staff, good service, good location especially for muslim, room rate should be cheaper

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.9 mi away
Madani Medan Syariah Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Menara Lexus
Hotel Menara Lexus
#43 of 73 in Medan
10 reviews
1.1 mi away
Garuda Plaza Hotel
Garuda Plaza Hotel
#56 of 73 in Medan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Emerald Garden Hotel
Emerald Garden Hotel
#14 of 73 in Medan
85 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Kesawan
Hotel Kesawan
#57 of 73 in Medan
47 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Batik Hotel
The Batik Hotel
#16 of 73 in Medan
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antares Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antares Hotel

Property: Antares Hotel
Address: Jln. Sisingamangaraja No 84, Medan 20215, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antares Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing