We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe it was just this once...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Danau Toba International
Ranked #47 of 72 Hotels in Medan
Medan, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maybe it was just this once...”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

For the price, facilities were good, room was clean, no complaints there. But this morning I was woken 5 times between 7.30am and 8.30am, mostly because of a mistake - being brought someone else's room service order. By the standard of "getting a good night's sleep", I would have been better off staying in a backpacker's at half the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHunter_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    39
    44
    15
    13
See reviews for
25
22
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Stayed here on our first and last nights in Sumatra. Reception/foyer area large and gives the impression of fancy hotel. As we didn't book the rooms ourselves, I am guessing our room for our first night was a slightly higher standard than our room for the last night. For instance the floors were made of lovely polished boards giving it a more colonial feel. The rooms are quite spacious with a nice outlook to the expansive grounds and swimming pool. The bathroom is average but nothing to complain about. On request you can obtain a voucher for free in-room wi-fi. From memory it gives 2 hours access. Our second room did not have the polished boards and was as we could smell, on a smoking floor and everything was ingrained with the smell of cigarette smoke.
Breakfast buffet is average with an egg station which is always a bonus.
No complaints, nothing to get excited about and from the sign at the front desk advertising rack rates, it's excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room if you are a non-smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank veejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Absolutely the worst Hotel I have ever stayed at.
Avoid at all cost, completely hopeless.
No service, no breakfast, no bar, no mini bar, no nothing.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, not this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hugmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Medan hotels

South Pole
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

WOW !

W - Wouldn't stay again.
O - Only ended up here because someone else booked it...
W - Why did someone book me here?

OK Lets go! :

- 80's style (not the cool 80's style the tacky beige brown 80's style).
- A Horrible trance nightclub adjacent to the premises
- After 9pm a steady flow of 'questionable' people in and out of the lifts

Positives?:

- There is a piano bar to the right of the check-in with cheap booze.
- Two of us ate the breakfast buffet and it was actually OK.
- Laundry service was fast, cheap and efficient

Conclusion?

2/5

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slk8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

we're planning to spend several night there but I changed my mine after several reasons. We stayed at the apartment section, found out the balcony was locked and I asked the reception named Ruth Simangunsong for the key to my balcony. To my surprise she said that they will not let u have/use the balcony because small animal such little snake could come in to the room. Whaaat??;; I was very upset because I choose to stay in the apartment knowing I could relax outside in the balcony, isn't that what I payed the price for (Rp.650 000/nght)??? She also said that I only have 2 passes to the swimming pool. how disgusting . So if we wnted to use the swimming pool we have to pay extra (there were 2adult/2kids). Amazing,,,,
For dinner we eat at the RIUNG LEMBUR restaurant, On the menu listed say the price included tax and service but when the bill came they still charge me tax and service, I will never stay in owefull hotel ever again. I decided to go to Jakarta the next day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lawchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Horrible breakfast: cutlery is always missing. Useless staff who often ring you at night to ask you to pay for a bill, aster they told you that they would charge you on your room bill. Old furniture, unclean bedsheets and bathroom. Smokey café. A lot of prostitution at night. Just don't go there. Only the swimming pool is a bit nice.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BarbaraEtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2009

This hotel is very near to most of the major bank such as Standard Chartered and very easy to get taxi. Walking distance to Sun City Plaza (SOGO) and the room also clean. The food also just average, the room service is good and the swimming pool is fun but they put limit for each room. Only two person are allowed to swim. Don't forget to bring your hotel card before you go to swim. The staffs are very helpful and always smile.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CikNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.9 mi away
Asean International Hotel Medan
1.3 mi away
Emerald Garden Hotel
Emerald Garden Hotel
#14 of 72 in Medan
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#11 of 72 in Medan
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
d`primahotel Medan
d`primahotel Medan
#10 of 72 in Medan
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danau Toba International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danau Toba International

Property: Hotel Danau Toba International
Address: Jln. Imam Bonjol 17, Medan 20151, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 72 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Danau Toba International 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Danau Toba International Medan is the only one Batak Legend Hotel in North Sumatera province. ideal place to stay for meeting or conference, leisure and relaxation with your business partner or your family. State of the art equipment including Wi-Fi in all area, swimming pool with beautiful garden view, completed with Cafe Terrace Restaurant and Lounge Bar, 24 hours room service, Fitness Centre as well as a business centre. Located on the Center of business street in Medan, Hotel Danau Toba International Medan is a place of elegance and warmth. Hotel Danau Toba International is only 45 minutes drive away from the airport and merely 10 minutes away from the main Railway Station. The location of the hotel makes it easy for tourists to visit some of the interesting places like the government quarters, Mesjid Raya and the Istana Maimun Palace with ease as these attractions are situated at walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Danau Toba International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing