We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fading Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Danau Toba International
Ranked #47 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I last stayed at this hotel about 10 years ago. Things have changed little over that time. The rooms are still big and comfortable but in need of renovation (A sign opposite the lift on our floor apologized for any inconvenience during renovation work so perhaps it is happening).The hotel claims to be 5 star, but 3 star is more realistic.

The service in the hotel was excellent and friendly. The buffet breakfast included in the price was very good and filling.

The large lagoon swimming pool is a feature of the hotel. There is also a fitness centre free to hotel guests.

Overall the Hotel Danau Toba is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Danau Toba International
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

I have stayed at this hotel previously and found the level of service is very good. This time I decided to stay in a junior suite. Booking in was smooth without any lengthy delay. The room itself is spacious and adequate in size. The bed is large and comfortable. I found the bathrooms in this hotel a little dated and old to the stage that lack of ventilation is causing mould. However the bathroom is functional. The breakfast dinning does not accommodate large volume of guest. We returned twice before we were able to get a seat. Breakfast itself is good with a large selection of breakfast meals. Hotel staffs are very attentive and were extremely helpful. In this hotel smokers are allowed to smoke anywhere so for non-smokers this maybe an issue. The location is ideal near shopping centres and malls for those who love to shop. This hotel is good and I would consider staying here again. It would not be my first preference on my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maz092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The hotel location is great. About 20 mins from airport and walking distance to a big mall. The staffs were polite and room service food was not bad and affordable too.The room service massage was good too.

However, the room was tad noisy as sound from the traffic(the honking especially) can clearly be heard. The curtain does not draw completely and quite uncomfortable to sleep in the day. The hotel should invest in toilet roll or bidet system rather than thin tissue paper for the toilet.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ju315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Positive:
- nice and clean rooms
- very good breakfast included
- close to the main attractions by taxi
- just a mile from Sun Plaza mall
- friendly staff
- airportservice

Negative:
- expensive consumptions
- ?

Room Tip: I booked a Deluxe room situated on the swimming pool side.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

As a guest i can count myself as quite a travelled one. I can say that Danau Toba Hotel in Medan - Indonesia is very good. It locates just around 10 minutes drive from the airport and close to shopping mall with restaurants, cinemas and all amenities. From the airport shuttle bus the hotel provided to the staffs that serve guests they are almost impeccable. Quality of food is high and tasty in all their outlets. Rooms are clean and bright. Services are prompt and always with smiles. They speak English too. There is swimming pool surrounded by mature garden. Well equipped fitness centre and also good night clubs and entertainment spots in the hotel. I recommend Hotel Danau Toba to anybody who plan to travel to Medan in Sumatra-Indonesia. As a long staying guest it makes my stay very pleasant indeed.

Room Tip: I stay in 7th floor on and off for months in 2012. Good value for money. Rooms facing the swimming p...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

First of all, this hotel has most of the facilities a traveller needs while holidaying ! A lounge bar with singers, a clubhouse with live band , second best Disco in the city and a Dangdut { Local Dance } disco added with a well laid out swimming pool with garden chairs to relax and snack.
The room standards are acceptable compared to the promotion price charged but the towels can be much cleaner ! No complaints in the overall hotel service and most of them can speak in English
The hotel is only ten to 15 minutes walk away from the biggest mall Sogo Sun Plaza where you will find good food outlets , phone and gift shops. While walking, you may come across Bell Monte which serves some of the best steaks and salmon and Western foods.
The hotel provides free pick up and drop service from the International Polonia Airport which is about 15 minutes from the hotel. Always compare the prices offered for field trips by the hotel to freelance entrepreneurs to avoid becoming victims to the latter !

Room Tip: Acceptable level of room tolerance varies from one individual to another. Very often we spend less...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Benrey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Over all improve with all room service and cable tv, mini bar, magazines. Breakfast with kind of variety likes local food not all american breakfast. Entertainment beside hotel is good. But surrounding facility likes taxi to drop city centre and airport very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RezaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.5 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 73 in Medan
612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#11 of 73 in Medan
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN
0.8 mi away
Garuda Plaza Hotel
Garuda Plaza Hotel
#56 of 73 in Medan
139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Emerald Garden Hotel
Emerald Garden Hotel
#13 of 73 in Medan
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danau Toba International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danau Toba International

Address: Jln. Imam Bonjol 17, Medan 20151, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Price Range: £29 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Danau Toba International 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Danau Toba International Medan is the only one Batak Legend Hotel in North Sumatera province. ideal place to stay for meeting or conference, leisure and relaxation with your business partner or your family. State of the art equipment including Wi-Fi in all area, swimming pool with beautiful garden view, completed with Cafe Terrace Restaurant and Lounge Bar, 24 hours room service, Fitness Centre as well as a business centre. Located on the Center of business street in Medan, Hotel Danau Toba International Medan is a place of elegance and warmth. Hotel Danau Toba International is only 45 minutes drive away from the airport and merely 10 minutes away from the main Railway Station. The location of the hotel makes it easy for tourists to visit some of the interesting places like the government quarters, Mesjid Raya and the Istana Maimun Palace with ease as these attractions are situated at walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Danau Toba International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing