We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garuda Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$42
GrandMercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$28
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$44
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
7
38
64
29
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
38
64
29
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclean bathroombig roomatmscityhbocondconvenience
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This hotel was good quality, clean and comfortable room, working shower, etc, comfortable bed, good meals and good breakfast selection. It was a close walk to the mosque, and not so far further then to the Palace. A medium distance walk to Merdeka Walk and Tsong a Fie Mansion. Close to a shopping plaza also.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Applecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Nice and comfy room for us, 2 single beds with an extra bed. 10 minutes becak ride to Pasar Ikan Lama. Hotel breakfast was delicious. Facing main road and noisy at night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cax_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel for a business trip. The hotel location can be reached around 30 mins from the Polonia airport and will cost you IDR 50K. The reception desk was very helpful and fast. When I asked them for a dinner place, they also offered me a free shuttle bus to a foodcourt near-by (Amaliun foodcourt) and also a pick-up service from the food court back to the hotel. When I came back from the food court, I realized how busy this hotel. There were many many people, mostly Indonesian, waiting for check-in at the reception desk.

My room was clean enough, looked quite new, with some exception for the air con controller (see my picture, it's really old) and for the small fridge (old Samsung). They provided two 600 ml bottled RO water as a compliment each day and also tea/coffee maker. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also clean enough. The shower was nice. I found that the towel hanger was rusty and the towel looked not so clean (I used my own for safety). They also provided hair-dryer, shower cap, tooth-brush and small tooth-paste, a small soap bar, and a tube of shampoo.

The breakfast was okay. They served chicken porridge (Indonesian style), salad and fruit bar, bread+butter+jam, rice and rice cake with varieties of dishes (Medan style). They only served hot tea or coffee and water for drinks.

Check-out was fast and you can ask them to booked you a taxi. if you preffer a taxi with argometer, you can ask for a Blue Bird taxi.
So overall, the hotel was good, clean, at a very affordable price, and also very busy (you might want to book by phone or agoda before). I probably will return to this hotel when I come to Medan again..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I spent one night on a business trip to Medan. From the outside, the building does not look very convincing, but the lobby and the coffeeshop that greeted us look very fine. A glance to a board near the entrance let me know that most of the functional rooms were almost fully booked - a sign that this hotel was popular at least with the locals. In fact, when we were there, we met so many kinds of people having their events there - from government officials having a meeting to sailors celebrating their graduation from the academy.

We got a room in the old building, and it was comfortable, with parquet floor that seemed new. The standard amenities and complimentary drinks were available. I noticed though that the door to the bathroom and the wardrobe looked a bit old - making them sticking out in the otherwise clean, newly-looking room - and needed replacement. The bed was nice and clean.

The staff was nice, and they even had someone named 'Arman' that you could contact by pressing the number 7 on the phone or find him in the lobby between 8 am - 5 pm and he would answer all your questions about Medan.

We didn't get to eat in the restaurant/coffee shop, but reading the menu in the bedroom, the price of food and drinks were quite cheap by hotel standards.

They provided Medan-styled breakfast when we were there, a bit heavy if you're not used to it; but we could also choose from a range of salad, bread, curry, and porridge.

There are ATMs, airline counters, and a money changer on the ground level (or, to be exact, they call it 'the 1st floor').

The hotel location is not far from the city center and is right across the street to the famous Bolu Meranti shop, that sells 'bolu', a cake that is now one of the most famous edible souvenirs from Medan. There are some street food vendors around that you might want to try.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are connected; if you are not comfortable with this, do check with the staff first.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darwinia-Id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This is a central hotel on a busy road, clean and comfortable, breakfast was quite good but portions in the restaurant very small.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews