We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's always nice to stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
142 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“It's always nice to stay there”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Despite the kocation that needs one to go around to get to the city central,a reliable taxi is always available
Other than that,they really deliver the quality they boast in their brand

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    324
    80
    28
    10
See reviews for
171
140
65
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed at Club room with club lounge benefits in September 2011.
Very nice room design, layout, decor and materials used.

Club lounge is spacious, well layout and nice decor.
Can definitely relax your mind off at the club lounge.
Food for morning breakfast and evening cocktail is nice and tasty.

Staff very supportive.
Definitely will stay at this hotel again if back in Medan again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSI_DSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The hotel is most definitely a 5 star hotel. I stayed there just after getting married and the room was great. The view over the city was amazing and the breakfast buffet was one of the best I have seen. I have seen a number of breakfast buffets in many hotels as I work in the hotel industry and as I said, this is by far one of the best. Even though I stayed in October, I am back in Medan (Jan 2012) and had dinner at Prime Steakhouse and Bar. The food was some of the best in the city and I know everytime I am in Medan, I will be having at least 1 dinner here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoahTheHeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
341 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed in an Executive Room at the JW Marriott and this has to be one of the best value stays we've ever had at a hotel. We arrived after backpacking for ten days (albeit in decent hotels) and were greeted with real friendliness. The complimentary afternoon snacks in the Executive Lounge were a real meal - wine (which often costs up to $10/glass in Indonesian hotels) and beer included. The Matrabak Misr were an excellent main course while the desserts were excellent, including French style pastries. The room had everything you would expect of a Marriott and everything worked well. Breakfast was excellent (although the range, while very extensive, wasn't quite up to the Swiss Belhotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amp-qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My partner and I stayed here when we were backpacking, the hostels in Medan are not great, so when we found there was a Marriott, we enquired with regards to staying, and were pleasently suprised to find out how resonable it was, especially for a 5 star hotel. We stayed for 4 days before going into the jungle and it was brilliant, the rooms and service were amazing! The room was spacious and clean and uber modern, the gym facilities were exceptional and the infinity pool on the 17th floor was lovely and suprisingly quiet so there was always sun loungers available. The Breakfast was a buffet and included in the room price and there was more than enough variety. Its definatly the best place to stay in Medan.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMA_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Hi All
My first visit to Medan was to meet a special lady. I could not have picked a nicer and safer place to stay. I am not a frequent traveller so when I stay somewhere I like to stay somewhere nice. This is the only place to stay in Medan. The security is tight, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly but unobtrusive. The cost is very reasonable. I booked one of their cars to collect me from the airport, and despite missing my flight from Jakarta, the driver waited for the next flight, even though I had no way to contact them. The only piece of advice I can give anyone is to request a room on a high floor. The traffic noise will keep you awake. Did I enjoy my stay? When I checked out I said to the lady that I now have another home. She was surprised and asked where that was. I said it was the Marriott. And to please book me in for my next visit. This really is the only place to stay in Medan

Room Tip: High rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Have stayed in this hotel a few times in 2011 due to business trips and I have to say that it's quite impressive for a city like Medan.
The rooms are very well laid out with everything you will need for anyone on work trips - good desk, good lighting, good plug points and (now) free wifi/internet for Marriott members. The shower/bathrooms are a good size and amenities are good. Very well thought of.
Ate a few times at the lobby cafe for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Good selection on both the menu and the buffet. Didn't try the steakhouse or the Chinese restaurant, but stopped by at the bar below the steakhouse and the service was good. Room service was good as well - a good selection and prompt.
A nice compact and fairly well equipped gym that is situated right next to the spa and the pool (didn't try either of them out, but the pool did look nice). Good amenities at the gym as well.
Maybe one little negative is that the business centre is fairly small, but the staff don't really mind that we conducted meetings in any of their food outlets.

All in all, a very good hotel for business travellers and I'm sure holiday-makers will enjoy the place too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JauiPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
0.5 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 71 in Medan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Deli River
Hotel Deli River
#2 of 71 in Medan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
0.4 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Medan

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Medan
Address: Jl. Putri Hijau no. 10, Medan 20111, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Medan 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Medan is the first International 5-star hotel in Medan, Indonesia. Each of our 287 new guest rooms boast breathtaking views, contemporary furnishings, luxurious bedding, 37" to 42" flat-panel TV and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. Relax with a dip in the outdoor infinity swimming pool. Stay fit with a great workout on our new state of the art fitness equipments in our health club, open 24 hours daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing