We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Medan

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Bali
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Although I was here only for a one night stay, I made use a little of their facilities. But I must say that overall I had a fantastic stay. Staff are very helpful and friendly, from the moment of check in until my check out procedure - everything went very smooth. It was very useful that they had a travel guide by using an iPad at their Concierge. It's very useful for travellers who are only in Medan for a short while.
The room was very big, bigger than my expectations. I had free WiFi by using my Mariott membership - that's a plus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashtridity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Ms Ashtridity,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Thank you for the comments you have made on our rooms, and the friendly attentive service you received from our team. We are especially happy that our Concierge team was knowledgeable and helped you get around Medan.

Indeed our guest rooms are the most spacious in Medan, especially those on the Executive floors. On your next visit we can recommend the Executive Deluxe corner rooms, which is even bigger and offers the very best views of the city.

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback.

Best Regards
Gerald Moutte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    315
    78
    26
    10
See reviews for
168
136
63
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by the service at this hotel. Mira who works at the front desk was amazing. I needed a haircut. Not only did she make a booking for me, she also accompanied me to the salon (which was at the basement of the hotel anyway but it is a small gesture that made a huge impression). Thank you. The chef mulyadi,made an exceptional effort to talk to all the guests in his restaurant and made them feel welcome. Rooms were amazing too and not to mentioned the rates are so reasonable! Will be back here again - Suraj

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Suraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mr. Suraj,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the JW Marriott Medan.

We are very glad to hear that you had a most memorable stay with us and you appreciated the little gestures by our staff to make your day. We will forward your comments to Mira and Chef Mulyadi and at the same time convey our gratitude to them for making an impact during your stay.

Once again thank you for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to JW Marriott Medan again in future.

Best Regards,
Gerald Moutte
General Manager
JW Marriot Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here couple of days for business trip, I have stayed in different hotels in Medan and Mariott is one of many great hotels available at only a fraction of price. Love the view and love the comfy King size bed. Can just walk for a local restaurant around the corner and breakfast options are massive. Had the best smoked salmon ever and the morning staff is very attentive and customized service especially Rachmad who duly bring my mango juice whenever he sees me within vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferbie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Ms. Ferby18

Thank you for your review of JW Marriott Medan.

We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and especially enjoyed our comfy king size bed. The bed is a signature of the JW Marriott brand called the “Marriott Heavenly Bed”. We will certainly pass on your positive comment to Rachmad and I’m sure he will be thrilled to hear it.

Once again thank you for your valuable input and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Gerald Moutte
General Manager
JW Marriot Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Prebooked a room at the JW Marriott for one night, and was upgraded to a high floor corner room, with spectacular views from most directions. The staff were helpful and courteous at every point, restaurant provided superb buffet dinner (at very reasonable cost), also an excellent breakfast included in the room rate.

It is very hard to find anything not to like here - all I would say is that it is my clear no. 1 choice in Medan.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - and if you can get a corner room, there are interesting views from all direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhanbadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Mr Dhanbadman,

Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay in our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that all our services exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with all of our staff in the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the JW Marriott Medan.
Best Regards,
Gerald Moutte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Nice and exclusive hotel.. Very enjoy staying here. Friendly staff hotel and helpful too. Food is good, variance quick a lot. Room Facility were nice. It's clean. Other facility like, the swim pool too small so quite full during the high season when we stay there due Christmas and New Year Holiday. Not have chance to try the spa and gym.
The cafe or bar on lobby provide variance of liquor.
Still on hotel area we can find ATM so easily very helpful.
Overall, it's a pleasant stay, definitely will go back again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LdyHtpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Mrs LdyHtpea,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your recent stay at the JW Marriott Medan.

Your positive feedback is truly a great reward for the hard work of the team and we will make sure it is shared with all. We are happy that you enjoy your stay in JW Marriott Medan. We do apologize that the swimming pool was slightly crowded during your stay, as you mentioned correctly during public holidays the hotel has more families that enjoy the pool.

Once again I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return in the future.

Best Regards
Gerald Moutte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3,267 reviews
229 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,456 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Came here recently for a weekend stay. Room rates were very reasonable, comfortable bed, decent bathroom with separate bath and rain shower. Staff were really friendly. Lounge on Level 16 had a decent set of small food items and drinks during cocktail hours. So-so breakfast on the ground floor: get there early in order to get the croissants! Pool on level 17 looked good. Only real negative was the traffic noise: windows could really do with some double glazing: bring ear-plugs. Location is very convenient in central Medan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Mr/Mrs KGB777

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are really happy to hear about your positive experience and will certainly share your comments with all of the staff.

At the same time we apologize if you had any noise disturbance from the roads outside. Guest rooms start from the 18th floor to the 29th floor which we hope helps to have some distance from the roads.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the JW Marriott.

Best Regards
Gerald Moutte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Best in town, no need to think twice for staying! All perfect as a 5 five star. The breakfast is also good and many as a menu. The atmosphere is classic and classy, so comfortable and cozy! No doubt for saying this as the best!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kokonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Mr/Mrs Kokonu

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

I shared your comments with the team and especially the culinary department. We take our work with pride and we appreciate when it is recognized. We always strive to keep up the services and facilities for our guests’ experiences.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Medan and the JW Marriott.

Kind regards,
Gerald Moutte
General Manager
JW Marriot Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
0.8 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 69 in Medan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Hotel Deli River
Hotel Deli River
#2 of 69 in Medan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
1.1 mi away
Adimulia Hotel
Adimulia Hotel
#11 of 69 in Medan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Medan

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Medan
Address: Jln. Putri Hijau no. 10, Medan 20111, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Medan 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Medan is the first International 5-star hotel in Medan, Indonesia. Each of our 287 new guest rooms boast breathtaking views, contemporary furnishings, luxurious bedding, 37" to 42" flat-panel TV and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. Relax with a dip in the outdoor infinity swimming pool. Stay fit with a great workout on our new state of the art fitness equipments in our health club, open 24 hours daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing