We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

the hotel is located in middle of the town. the staff is warm and friendly, we can ask them for help. the room is clean and comfort. and i have a great view from my room. the room have view of the city. it is nice expecially in night. and i can't hear noisy of the street. and the room is quite big. the restaurant food is excellent.

Room Tip: choose a city view room for best view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana_Zhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Ms. Mariana_Zhao

Thank you very much for your great review.

I am so happy to hear that the location, service and food made an impact during your stay with us.

I’m also delighted that you noticed that our rooms are the largest in the city and all enjoy great views of the city. I am sure the rest of the team is going to appreciate your comments as well.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Medan.

Best Regards,
Gerald Moutte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

JW Marriott Hotel Medan is very modern and nice hotel in Medan, close to a popular seafood restaurant, and within driving distance of 15 minutes to the airport express train station. The room is very modern in its design, well equipped, and very comfortable. Would definitely recommend my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas88k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mr. Thomas88K

Thank you for your feedback and your time to review our hotel.

I am very happy to hear that our facilities live up to your expectations and I will share your review with the rest of the team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards
Gerald Moutte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We really liked the Marriot hotel, we stayed here for one night before we would go to the jungle. We found the staff very friendly and warm, they recognized us when we came back from the jungle and booked an extra night. The rooms are very clean, the beds are very good, we slept perfectly!

The swimming pool is nice as well, you can relax here it is not busy at all!

We really loved the breakfast buffet, there are so many choices, Asian or European. The restaurants looked great, unfortunately we could not try dinner because we arrived too late.

Great hotel to stay in if you are ever in Medan.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanineCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Ms. JanineCk

Thank you very much for your great review and choosing JW Marriott Medan.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and especially enjoyed our comfortable king size bed. The bed is a “signature item” from JW Marriott, called the “Marriott Heavenly Bed”.

Our swimming pool has indeed the best views and perfect to relax as you mentioned.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon, and we hope you will have an opportunity, then, to have a taste of our restaurants.

Best Regards
Gerald Moutte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

we stay in deluxe room .. the room was spacious.and very comfortable , From the time we arrive at the hotel the hotel staff welcome us with smile and the check in was smooth .breakfast was excellent with variety of choice from Asian to western dish .the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly . they provide free WiFi in the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prosezine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Mr. Prosezine,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your wonderful experience at the hotel.

we are thrilled to read your positive review about your recent stay at the hotel. I will be sure to share your kind words of encouragement with the team on how their actions have made your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed to provide you with an excellent hotel experience and we are extremely grateful to have obtained your valuable feedback.

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to JW Marriott Medan.

Best Regards
Gerald Moutte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My stay there was excellent in every way. The room was very well appointed.
The staff at the reception were very helpful and when I wanted a room on a higher floor they gave me a room on the very top floor.

The breakfast was excellent. The smoked salmon was out of the world.
The service at the restaurant was impeccable.
I will definitely stay at the Marriott when I go to Medan next

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Goki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Mr Goki G

Thank you for taking the time to provide our property with feedback regarding your most recent stay. Your comments are truly one of the best tools that we have to continue to improve our services to our future guests.

We really appreciate your kind compliments and certainly look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Best Regards
Gerald Moutte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Nice spacious room, bed and pillows are comfortable to sleep in. However shower water did not drain right away, so it's a bit of a letdown. Toiletries are from Marriott, not from an exclusive/designer brand (was expecting that from Marriott). When we arrived, none of the door staffs helped with our luggages until we were at the check in area. Not sure what's the point of that. Overall service was good, especially at breakfast area. Breakfast variety was plenty from local Medanese cuisine, indonesian, chinese, to american breakfast (too bad they don't have pork bacon. I was told this was local government regulation). When we checked in, we're not informed about the free wifi, only to found out during check out. So i guess overall stay was good, but could improve on the details here and there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yofi_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mr/Ms. Yofi L

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room and had a comfortable night rest.
In regards to the shower drainage, it appears the elevation of the shower floor is not angled correctly in your room and we are in the process of repairing this so that the water may drain normally again. I do apologize for this inconvenience.

As part of our arrival procedure our bell staff must assist with your luggage as soon as you step out of the car. Thank you for bringing to my attention that this did not occur upon your arrival. We will take the necessary corrective measures.

Complimentary wireless internet is available to all Marriott Rewards members and joining the program is free.

Thank you again for rating our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future at the JW Marriott Medan.

Best Regards,
Gerald Moutte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

OK, as a Marriott hotel, staying In JW Marriott Medan is really a tremendous experience. Great hotel room interior, great location and off course great hotel facilities ...

However need some details in breakfast and internet connectivity.

At the time I enjoy My breakfast, variance of menu is really great, but the some of the food looks were not tempting and at the time I ate it, some of it already cold... Sorry to say for taste and total experience that I got during the breakfast is only OK not Wow, beyond of my 5star hotels breakfast that I've expected...

For internet connectivity, most of hotels in Medan already put free wi-fi in the room. Too bad this hotel put extra charge for internet using in the room.

In anyway just pick higher floor to get best city view while you are staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in higher floor to get best city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJ01K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mr. Bjkindhearted

Thank you for posting your review.

I appreciate you took the time to evaluate our services and my sincere apologies that the breakfast did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on having the largest variety of breakfast in town prepared with the highest attention to detail. As such I take your comments very seriously and will address it immediately with the Marriott Café culinary and service team.

Kindly note that internet is free of charge for all Marriott Rewards members. Joining the program takes only a few seconds and is free.

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and we hope the opportunity to welcome you
again soon.

Best Regards
Gerald Moutte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.5 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#5 of 76 in Medan
693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
1 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
6.5 mi away
Hotel Deli River
Hotel Deli River
#1 of 76 in Medan
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Medan

Address: Jl. Putri Hijau no. 10, Medan 20111, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Medan
Price Range: £49 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Medan 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Medan is the first International 5-star hotel in Medan, Indonesia. Each of our 287 new guest rooms boast breathtaking views, contemporary furnishings, luxurious bedding, 37" to 42" flat-panel TV and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. Relax with a dip in the outdoor infinity swimming pool. Stay fit with a great workout on our new state of the art fitness equipments in our health club, open 24 hours daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing