We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but avoid rooms with adjoining doors -called family room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I had stayed at this hotel before and this was my third visit. This time I paid more for a larger room.

This room was a 'Family" room with a door to adjoining room. The guests next door were partying for three days, I was there for five days as I recall and at all times of day and night kept opening the door on their side and then slamming it shut. Although on a no smoking floor I kept smelling smoke so I assume they were smoking in their room and it was entering via the adjoining door.

The meals are great, the location is excellent.

Pool is small and only seats for five people, so not a place to relax with family at the pool.

Good value except for the family room issue.

Room Tip: Do not accept a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alawman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for your loyalty to Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan. It has been a pleasure for us to be at your service during your visit to Medan.

We are delighted to read that you value our hotel, especially on the quality of service, meals and location.

It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with the connecting room. We are currently reviewing the quality of insulation on our connecting doors in order to increase the quality of accommodation for our valued guests.

We ask for your kind understanding and assure you that your comments have been of great value to us to provide the best possible standards to our guests at all times.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2011

A nice hotel, average service, mall attached next to hotel building that u could get anything u need, city centre but be very careful when u check out do not leave anything cause they will not return it to u like my iPhone charger and perfume they just simply saying nothing left in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msgyp5y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Medan and for taking the time to share your comments.

Your remarks on the iPhone charger and perfume that you believe to have lost at the hotel have been taken note of. We have made thorough investigations and we are sorry to inform you that we did not find them in the hotel premises. Our staff searched your room immediately after you informed on the lost items.

Please rest assured that if your items had been found in the hotel by a staff member, they would have been brought to our Lost and Found Department and duly returned or sent to you.

We find numerous items in rooms, restaurants, and public areas of the hotel and we believe that we have a very good reputation for safeguarding guests' belongings. Hence the hotel has welcomed numerous repeat customers. We have great confidence in our staff, but regret your loss.

We thank you for your patronage and are sincerely sorry for any inconvenience that you may have been caused. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We had wanted our travel agent to book us into another well-known 5-star hotel but he told us that the GSBH was just as good, so we took his word for it. We're glad we did.
Our room was a corner unit, so it was more spacious than my friends' rooms & had a good view of the city. The facilities in the room & bathrooms were up-to-date & adequate.
I could see that the management was concerned with the security of its guests by the security measures at the lobby & in the lifts. It was a pity that the lobby was a bit small. On the day we checked out, there were so many people in the lobby that it was difficult to find a place to stand as we waited for our transport let alone find a seat!
The breakfast was wonderful - loved the coffee especially! Wish my tummy was big enough to tuck in everything!
Also wish we had stayed longer - unfortunately we only stayed 1 night!

Room Tip: Corner room for better view & spaciousness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jensy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Medan.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the room and facilities that we offered and enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our products and services as it is what we strive for everyday.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Recently Medan has got quite a few international standard 5* hotels. This is one of those, and always a great choice: Excellent rooms, service, great spa, great food, great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissBelhotelMedan, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan as your preferred accommodation during your visit to Medan.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and particularly value our hotel.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This hotel is very corporate and clean. Great view from my room over Medan.
Very comfortable beds and the room size is large. The internet can be used at the Business Centre.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yblieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissBelhotelMedan, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear Sir,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for choosing Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan as your preferred accommodation during your visit to Medan. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again to Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel in Medan. This was my first visit to Sumatra and to Medan. I was expecting 2- or 3-star type hotel. To my surprise the Swiss Belhotel has all the amenities and facilities of a 4- or 5-star hotel. The breakfast buffet was excellent and offered a great variety of food. The hotel is connected to the Cambridge shopping mall where there were several restaurants. We stayed 4 nights; each morning we had a body massage and sometimes reflexology in the evening. The service was very good. The hotel was very helpful in arranging a driver and limo to take us around the city (congested with traffic) and on a day trip to Lake Toba. Lake Toba is not far (70 miles) but because of the poor roads (no highways) and traffic it took up 4 hrs to get there and 5 hs back.

Several needed improvements:
Limited TV channels (English). fuzzy TV reception, limited access to the internet (if you don't have a laptop), readable clear map of city not available, list of local sites of interest. The hotel lobby is small and does not give a welcoming feeling.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleylau35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissBelhotelMedan, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Ms. Shirley Lau,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

It has been our great pleasure to welcome you at Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan and thank you for sharing your feelings about your stay with us.

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. Your comments on the facilities and service provided by our hotel are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

We have carefully take note on several feedback from you regarding the TV channels, city map, and environment at hotel lobby. Kindly rest assured that necessary steps have been taken to improve the quality of service we want to offer to our guests. It is feedback such as yours that enables us to adjust and better serve our guests and meet their satisfaction.

Thank you for your kind support toward Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

i stay at GSBH with my husband for 5 days.
i love this hotel.
Its clean,its near cambrige mall (small mall) where i can find a nice resto name jala jala. Whow.. Delicious..
There s a supermarket at the ground flor at cambridge .

the breakfast at the hotel was good,nice place though. Nice people.
And there's blue bird taxi in front of the hotel. I can go anywhere, at anytime safely. Because blu bird is the best taxi comp in inndonesia.
Not much more to say...
:)

I love this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatladydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissBelhotelMedan, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Dear Valued Customer,

Warmest greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

We would like to express our gratitude to you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Medan, and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We are very pleased to read that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our products and services as it is what we strive for everyday.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
1.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.6 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#5 of 74 in Medan
633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#10 of 74 in Medan
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Address: Jl. S. Parman no. 217, Medan 20112, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Medan
#3 Spa Hotel in Medan
#3 Business Hotel in Medan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Medan
Price Range: £44 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan is the first multi-facility complex of our kind to grace Medan, the capital city of North Sumatra. As the first 5 star international business hotel here, we are conveniently located right next to the Cambridge Condominiums and Shopping Mall.We offer 242 rooms and suites that feature a sleek and modern design, and are outfitted with a marvelous range of amenities to make sure that your stay with us in Medan is the most comfortable it can possibly be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan Hotel Medan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing