We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed here on our way to Lake Toba at the end of Ramadan. Although it was busy they coped very well. The front desk staff are great (thanks for organising our car and driver to the lake!). The rooms are clean and quite large with excellent views over the city.
Breakfast is a huge buffet. We ate at the rooftop restaurant, very exciting! and the food was great!

It's conveniently situated next to a shopping mall with loads of restaurants, starbucks, pharmacy and supermarket.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for choosing Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan as your preferred accommodation during your visit to Medan, and for sharing your kind appreciation with us!

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly value our room, buffet breakfast, and our roof-top restaurant called as The Edge. Your comment on the service provided by our staff is most gratifying. It is encouraging as our guest's satisfaction is our primary concern.

Thank you for your kind patronage, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan during your next visit to Medan!

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    328
    95
    39
    17
See reviews for
158
84
57
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel is very nice, and clean. TV channels applenty. There's also a spa and gym. Rp200k for 90 mins massage is worth it after a long and bumpy journey from Lake Toba.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suyzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear Sir,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan as your preferred accommodation during your visit to Medan, and for sharing you appreciation with us.

It is encouraging to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly value our room, gym, and spa facilities.

It has been a great pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you at Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan during your next visit to Medan!

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Everything is excellent except front desk need to be more professional

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Medan.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We have carefully taken note on your comment regarding our front desk staff. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests, and numerous trainings are given to our staff to ensure that only the best services standard is provided to our guests.

Thank you for your kind patronage, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Medan!

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My wife,child and I stayed for 9 nights and quite simply loved it. Room was spacious with a fantastic 19th floor view of Medan. As Ramadhan finished during our stay we were treated to nighttime displays of fireworks throughout the whole city. Pool is a beauty with a nice toddlers pool for the juniors. The buffet breakfast had a wide variety of Western and Asian cuisine and was very fresh. There is a mall next to the hotel that has some very cheap and tasty options for lunch and dinner. Other guests advised us that the rooftop dining and the bar on the floor below were well worth visiting which I will do next year when we return. The highlight though were the staff who were the most delightful and professional staff that we have ever encountered. My wife and I want to thank again those staff that looked after our daughter Demelza especially in the lobby area as well as the lobby bar and made her stay a memorable one. On our last night there was an earthquake and we had to evacuate out to the front of the hotel. We required some stuff for our child which we had forgotten in our rush to get downstairs. One of the staff volunteered to go to our room to retrieve the items despite the obvious fears of further tremors. Now that is what I call service with a capital S. Do yourself a favour and stay here. We will be back next tear

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Dear Sir,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

We would like to express our sincere gratitude to you for choosing to stay with us this year, and for sharing your kind appreciation with us.

It has been a great pleasure for us to be at your service during your 9 nights stay with us. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams. This will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work!

We thank you very much for your kind patronage and look forward to having you back with us at Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan during your next visit to Medan!

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
237 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We have been to the jungle in Tangkahan and Bukit Lawang while in Sumatra. We stayed here one night at the hotel after each location mentioned above. The hotel provides everything you would expect from a five star hotel and is on par with other five star accommodation we stayed at in the past.

The breakfast buffet has an good selection. The staff is friendly and speaks good English. There are plenty of taxis available in front of the hotel. The Cambridge shopping center is in the same building which has several coffee places such as Starbucks, J.Co Coffees and others.

We were pleasantly surprised that we were remembered by the receptionist on our second night.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristofvdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear Sir,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for choosing Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan as your preferred accommodation during your visit to Medan, and for sharing your kind appreciation with us!

We are so much delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your comment on the service level provided by our staff is most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

Thank you once again for your kind patronage, and we all look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan during your next visit to Medan!

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This hotel is very nice, and clean. The food at the attached restaurants is good, and their is a very nice mall right next door.

Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean and quiet. Bathrooms are very modern and have great shower heads.

I love this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Dear Mr. Paul,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for choosing Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan as your preferred accommodation during your visit to Medan, and for sharing your kind appreciation with us!

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly value our strategic location and room.

It has been a pleasure for us to be at your service, and we look forward to welcoming you during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Checked in late and got the bellboy to send luggage up - took 30mins and a reminder call. Room is clean, spacious and new. Nice view from my room at 17th level. Requested for morning call but did not hear anything. No newspaper for me but was given to my friend in another room. Lounge have a very good live band. Very entertaining but quiet on tuesday. Breakfast is good. There is room for improvement and will choose this hotel definitely.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mokette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for choosing Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan as your preferred accommodation during your visit to Medan, and for taking the time to inform us regarding your recent stay with us.

We have noted your comments about the luggage sending, wake up call, and newspaper. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Rest assured that we will emphasize on training for the comfort of our future guests. It is feedback such as yours that enables us to reinforce the quality of our service and we really appreciate your constructive comments.

We are pleased to read that you appreciate the comfort of your room, our music lounge, and breakfast provided.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
1.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.6 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 72 in Medan
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#11 of 72 in Medan
484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Property: Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Address: Jl. S. Parman 217, Medan 20112, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Medan
#3 Spa Hotel in Medan
#3 Family Hotel in Medan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Medan
#7 Best Value Hotel in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan is the first multi-facility complex of our kind to grace Medan, the capital city of North Sumatra. As the first 5 star international business hotel here, we are conveniently located right next to the Cambridge Condominiums and Shopping Mall.We offer 242 rooms and suites that feature a sleek and modern design, and are outfitted with a marvelous range of amenities to make sure that your stay with us in Medan is the most comfortable it can possibly be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan Hotel Medan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing