We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abysmal service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Medan
Bangkok
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Abysmal service”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I travel monthly around the world, and have rarely felt the need to post a review on TA.

This hotel attracted my secretary from the competitive price on offer, about 50% less than the Marriott where I usually stay in Medan.

The discounted price demonstrated to me the appaling service of this hotel, plus the high prices (such as $15 for a single -shot of whisky)

The list of problems at this hotel is almost comic - a leaking toilet in the bathroom, with toilet water all over the bathroom floor. An adaptor plug for my laptop not available as all other guests were using them (could I call them the next day? What a farce). Absolutely no effort whatsoever to resolve this problem. When I suggested the hotel go out and buy an adaptor to be able to provide the service they advertised (this being a 5 star hotel alledgedly), they suggested it was easier if I went out to purchase one instead).

The swimming pool here is TINY. Service at the pool area also non-existent even though it was deserted of customers.

How on earth can a hotel like this get away with such shabby service? This hotel would be a 1 star hotel in Western Europe or the USA.

A truly appaling experience I wish never to repeat!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin-Asia41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Management at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for bringing to our attention the problem you have encountered during your visit in our hotel.
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our service and facilities.
Kindly rest assured that additional training will be given to our staff to avoid this kind of incident in the future.

It was unfortunate that such an incident occurred during your stay with us.
We hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again in Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

Best Regards,

Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    316
    92
    37
    17
See reviews for
157
80
56
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Excellent quality, value, location. Modern, well equipped and furnished, excellent cable selections. Adjacent to large shopping mall. Pleasant, friendly staff. Opposite taxi stand for instant transportation. Breakfast buffet sumptuous and excellent choices. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaunestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Mr. Jason

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for sharing your feelings about your stay with us. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us. It allows us to ensure and improve the quality of service we want to offer our guests.

We thank you for your continued support and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you and your family again soon.

Best Regards,

Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
142 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Excellent location,above an upscale but affordable mall,walking distance to offices,mall,a well known street for gifts of cakes,sweets etc,and of course an excellent stay! Definitely a priority to choose everytime

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Mr. Jhsan

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel.
It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Less than 30 mins from current airport(new to be opened 2013 airport maybe 1.5hours away).Next to a small high class mall with many eateries including top end seafood Duck king,cofeeshops&one supermarket,also in same podium are 2 apt blocks.
room is mid size&nice-plush comfortable beds,pool small,breakfast wide spread in 1st flr big restaurent but low quality,Price/value just about right at USD71++/nite for std room.
Its at the edge of town centre,walkable to a big modern Sun Plaza n old Hindu/Indian section with Tamil&Sikh temples.
Nearby are Sunda restaurent and pancakes/martabak stalls(at nite) and 2 famous Medancake shop-Bika ambon,Kue lapis etc.
Many taxis and motor cart/becak around.
Rented a van for day trip to Brastagi,Lake Toba/paraphat-9am depart,back at 730pm.

Room Tip: rooms facing poolside are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyvaluetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback following your recent visit at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We regret that our food and beverage offer in Swiss-Café (1st floor) did not meet your expectations. Your feedback has been carefully noted by our Director of Food and Beverage and will be taken into account for the next review of the menu.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

Best Regards,

Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We have just returned from staying at this hotel twice (total of 4 nights) on a trip to Sumatra.
Medan is an absolute toilet, but this little oasis full of friendly staff and great food made
us want to go back! We upgraded to a Grande Deluxe room which I would highly recommend for the value and space it gives you (we have 2 children). We used almost every amenity this hotel has to offer since there is nothing to do in Medan. We used the fitness center, pool, 2 of the restaurants, hotel bar, room service, laundry service, business center and the strange mall atttached. All excellent! If I had to say one (very minor) quibbel it would be that twice the staff rang the bell to our room when we had the Do Not Disturb sign out. Once to check the mini bar and once w/a question about laundry.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dangerkitty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Medan.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed all the facilities in the hotel. Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

Your remark on housekeeping staff has been carefully noted and we can assure you that the necessary steps have been taken to avoid such inconvenience in the future.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,

Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The hotel it self is ok, rooms are clean and the restaurant staff are fantastic.
However, the staff and managers in the reception are below average - I would even rate them as terrible. We experienced several problems, and the staff couldn't care less. The fact that they are in the service business must have slipped their mind. They even told me that I would have received better service, had I booked through their website instead of through Agoda!
We travel a lot, and don't expect a lot - but this was terrible.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

My husband and I have stayed here twice and both times it was great. The staff are extremely helpful. The concierge actually walked us to the mall and helped us buy a phone. We booked a driver to take us to our next destination(6 hours away) and return for us 5 days later to stay at the hotel. The drivers were on time, professional and Very good drivers- not an easy task in Indonesia. The Bar/coffee shop is very nice and the Kopi-Luwak Coffee is good, not bitter like some of the other places we had it.(the regular coffee is great too.) We enjoyed it much more that Starbucks. After 5:00pm you can order a fresh Crepe from their Crepe bar.
There is a 5 star restaurant with an extensive wine menu. You can watch the wine faeries climb the wall to pick your wine. We cooked on stone on the Patio and enjoyed a beautiful view of Medan. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
Dear Ms. Anita,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Medan, and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,

Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
1.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
0.6 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 69 in Medan
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#10 of 69 in Medan
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adimulia Hotel Medan
Adimulia Hotel Medan
#8 of 69 in Medan
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Property: Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Address: Jl. S. Parman 217, Medan 20112, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Medan
#3 Business Hotel in Medan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Medan
#3 Family Hotel in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan is the first multi-facility complex of our kind to grace Medan, the capital city of North Sumatra. As the first 5 star international business hotel here, we are conveniently located right next to the Cambridge Condominiums and Shopping Mall.We offer 242 rooms and suites that feature a sleek and modern design, and are outfitted with a marvelous range of amenities to make sure that your stay with us in Medan is the most comfortable it can possibly be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan Hotel Medan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing