We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Nearby Hotels
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$32
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$28
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveller rating
288
355
108
44
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
355
108
44
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscambridge mallrooftop restaurantsmall mallbusiness tripbika ambonstrategic locationswimming poolstaying at this hotelvisit medanbuffet breakfastnice staysmoking roomstreet foodrecommended hotelfive star hotelnice roomchecking in
Filter
Updating list...
467 - 472 of 819 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Also one of the worst hotels i have stayed in.
The shower looked like it has not had a clean in months.
The staff forgot to bring our baggage to our room,
The staff are taking 2 weeks to return deposit money,
The carpet, windows and curtains were dirty and stained.

Unhappy we did not choose the grand aston or JW marriott.
Definitely not worthy of it's 5 star rating, Hopefully they improve their service before they go bankrupt.

However the breakfast was good even though it was not an international standard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your preferred accommodation during your visit to Medan and taking the time to convey your comments and unfortunately your complaint about your room facilities.

We appreciate your concern, interest and the time taken to bring these matters to our attention. We have noted your attentions on the room cleanliness and hotel accommodation.
Kindly rest assured that appropriate action has been conducted to avoid such incident in the future.

We hope this experience will not alter your confidence in Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again.

We thank you for your continued support and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you and your family again soon.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

This was one of the worst hotels I have stayed at in South East Asia. The carpet in my room was so filthy I didn't take my shoes off, the walls were so thin that I could hear the room next door going to the toilet and could hear them speaking. To top it all off there was a mouse running around at breakfast- yuck!! I will be going back to the JW Mariott next time for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

It has been our great pleasure to welcome you at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan and thank you for sharing your feelings about your stay with us.

Regarding the room and area cleanliness, we have instructed our Executive Housekeeper and Pest Control team to rectify the problem immediately. Rest assured that we will emphasize on cleanliness issue for the comfort of our future guests.

We understand your disappointment and we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay, but we believe you will understand that this does not reflect the usual level of comfort of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

We truly hope you will give us a chance to show you our quality of service and regain your confidence.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed here for one night recently and have nothing to complain about. Both the check in and check out were straightforward. Our deluxe non smoking room was of a good size, the bathroom was modern with a bath and separate shower unit, the bed was very very comfortable and it was quiet (we did not hear anything from the neighbouring rooms). The TV had a good selection of channels. Everything was clean and tidy, as to be expected from this class of hotel.

The buffet breakfast was also pleasant. There was a good selection of food (hot and cold, nice bread and Danish pastries, fresh fruit, juices etc.) and great coffee straight from the machine (you have to ask for it).

The restaurant at to top of the hotel looked very good, with excellent views, but we did not eat there. Maybe another time.

We needed to print out our boarding passes for our flights and the hotel's business centre was very accommodating in this regard. Overall we found the staff friendly and helpful.

The hotel is above a shopping mall which has plenty of places to eat and a good sized supermarket in the basement.

Polonia airport was a short 10 to 15 minute taxi ride away and cost about 30,000 (3 USD). There is a Bluebird taxi rank over the road from the hotel main entrance and the doormen will call one over for you. (Tip: do not get to the airport earlier than you need to if you can help it as it is a grim place with nothing much to do. The duty free shop was shuttered up when we were there and the remaining shops sold mostly overpriced tourist tat. We had to pay a departure tax of 75,000 IDR each, so make sure you have some cash on you!)

Room Tip: We requested a non smoking room to be on the safe side, as smoking is commonplace in Indonesia. The deluxe room was very good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucySky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Medan and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the room and facilities that we offered and enjoyed your visit in our hotel. Your comments on our service and staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We cannot thank you enough for your kind support and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

i informed the staff at the hotel about the warmer temperaturen of the fridge and the response i received was that the fridge was meant to be like that. oh well. i have nothing moremto say about that. the towels were smelly. on the bright side, it is conveniently located next to a smaller mall which has many places to eat.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank SEDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

It has been our great pleasure to welcome you at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan. We appreciate your concern, interest and the time taken to bring these matters to our attention.
Your remark has been carefully noted. About your towels, please rest assured that appropriate action has been taken to ensure this mistakes does not happen again.

We hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan. In the meantime, we remain at your disposal should you require any further assistance.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Really a great hotel in every senses and couldn't wish much more. Value for money is great and the room is one of the biggest I've ever seen. Excellent service, breakfast and location, so it didn't leave much to complain about. One of the best hotels I have stayed and if I ever go to Medan again it will be my choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_Fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give your comment on Trip Advisor during your recent stay at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.
We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the room and facilities that we offered and enjoyed your visit in our hotel.
It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews