We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Medan
Medan, Indonesia
1 review
“Marvelous hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

A very nice and strategic place to stayed with direct access to the mall.All hotel staff are so friendly, make u feel like home.and especially thank's to house keeping staff name melisa for her generousity to keep and giving back my left behind phone at room.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiwiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience during your stay at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, we are delighted to hear that you enjoy your stay with us.

Your comments on the facilities and service provided by our hotel are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams and particularly Melisa who made your stay a pleasant one. This will certainly motivate her to keep up the good work.

Thank you for your kind support toward Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    318
    93
    37
    17
See reviews for
158
80
57
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Very happy with the hotel from day 1. Exceptional service. From the 1st meeet with RIZKY (driver at the hotel - highly recommended) to Vincent (front desk) made the wait (hotel was very bz on Xmas eve) more tolerable by being very sweet and accommodating.

Do book hotel transport and ask for RIZky. . Not only will u get exceptional service but the man knows his way around medan too!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank fl3amyung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We are pleased to notice that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel from the rating that you give. It is encouraging as our guest's satisfaction is our primary concern.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams and particularly Vincent and Rizky who made your stay a pleasant one. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Medan was our last stop before we went home after spending 2 nights on Samosir island and many many hours of driving. Dusty, exhausted and out of touch from civilisation the past 3 days, arriving at Grand Swiss brings much relief.

Front desk office were polite and helpful. Our room was on the 21st floor. Excellent full length windows that gives a sweeping view of Medan city. Very clean and modern. Tv had a variety of channels. Water pressure from showers is excellent. Bed is large and comfortable. We had a good cleanup and a much needed comfortable sleep and rest. Wi-fi was slightly slow but ok. Managed to whatsapp, upload pics and vids.

Buffet bfast at the Swiss cafe had a good selection of asian and western spread. Cambridge mall is within hotel complex so if u want Cbtl or Starbucks, J-Cos or even Ya Kun Kaya Toast, just pop over. Sun plaza is about 10mins of walking. For the Muslim ladies, the popular Dian Pelangi boutique is across the road. :)

Staff, from front desk to bellboy (helped put our luggge in our room while we head down to the money changer) to concierge and waitresses are polite and helpful. Definitely first class standards. Good job, guys. Amidst the chaos in Medan, this hotel is a welcomed haven. We will return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for choosing Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan as your preferred accommodation during your visit to Medan, and for sharing your kind appreciation with us!

We are so much delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us. It allows us to ensure and improve the quality of accommodation we want to offer our guests.

Your comment on the service level provided by our staff is most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Beljotel was a godsend. We had just spent some time on Sumatra and had to leave through Medan and wanted to 'freshen up'. Walking into the hotel was like walking into another country. And by the time we arrived here, it was needed. The beds are extremely comfortable. And if you are high enough up, you don't have to notice that you are in a luxury hotel in the middle of Medan (which is far from luxury). A nice touch for the hotel is the connection directly to the shopping centre. You don't need to go back outside. I know that sounds bad, but I had honestly had enough at this point, I just spend days hiking in the northern jungle. The edge restaurant was decent, but I would have liked to see some local influence in some way, it seemed like any restaurant that could have been anywhere else in the world- although this is probably the main feature, for those that want a break from Sumatran foods. The View music lounge was excellent. The room was great, although a little small (if I wanted bigger I could have paid more). I have absolutely no complaints. And if you head down to the mall- my two tips are to go to Excelso Coffee and try the kopi luwak coffee from a siphon brewer (nice touch), and get some funky donuts to take to your room from J.Co., especially the Durian.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

We are very pleased to read that you had an excellent stay with us. It is gratifying to read that you particularly value our hotel, room, facilities, services, our The View Lounge and Bar and found the location to be convenient for your needs. It is encouraging as our guest's satisfaction is our primary concern.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

Best regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Great location within the Cambridge Plaza with good access to franchised restaurants in Cambridge Plaza that except the supermaket in it there is nothing more in this Plaza. But with a taxi waiting in front of the hotel, it is easy to go around with in the city. Once again the room is small, lobby is small ( but good Christmass Decoration) and the gym is not well maintained.
Once again it's not up to the 5 stars standards. It's almost the same price as JW Marriot Medan.
One thing to note is that this hotel has a great staff and they are generally very friendly.

Room Tip: Please go for a super deluxe room or the one with 32 square meter as the one we stayed was very smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChunnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your kind support towards Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

It is most gratifying to read that our valued guests are fully satisfied with the products and services that we offer.
Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team. Thank you for your kind appreciation to us.

It has been a great pleasure for us to be at your service during your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

A very nice and convenience hotel. Very good service. They will try their best to help you on your request. Car service arranged by hotel - price reasonable, effective & on time. Satisfy with their service.


Toilet - very perfect design.

Bed - comfort, soft & clean.

Facility - next to mall, can get whatever easily

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bhchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

We are very pleased to read that you had an excellent stay with us. It is gratifying to read that you particularly value our hotel, room, facilities, services and found the location to be convenient for your needs. It is encouraging as our guest's satisfaction is our primary concern.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

Best regards,

Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Very strategic location. Next to Cambridge mall, which offers nice foods and within 5-10 mins walking distance from Sun Plaza.

Also just stone throw away from Restuarant Garuda, the famous Minang food (though I think it's nothing great and over priced).

Wifi in room works perfectly. I stayed on 18th floor and the lift could easily be pain in the as*.

Medan train station is also 5 mins drive away (without the traffic of course). Tips: the Beca charged me 40k while taxi only 25k (minimum payment but actually fare was only 12k) - I would go for taxi next time!

Staff was especially helpful. Especially a lady named Efi.

Overall, I am very satisfied with this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank pcartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel.
We are very pleased to read that you appreciated assistance of our staff, it is always encouraging us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams and particularly Ms. Efi who made your stay a pleasant one. This will certainly motivate her to keep up the good work.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

Best regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
1.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.6 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 69 in Medan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#10 of 69 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Property: Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Address: Jl. S. Parman 217, Medan 20112, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Medan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Medan
#3 Family Hotel in Medan
#3 Business Hotel in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan is the first multi-facility complex of our kind to grace Medan, the capital city of North Sumatra. As the first 5 star international business hotel here, we are conveniently located right next to the Cambridge Condominiums and Shopping Mall.We offer 242 rooms and suites that feature a sleek and modern design, and are outfitted with a marvelous range of amenities to make sure that your stay with us in Medan is the most comfortable it can possibly be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan Hotel Medan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing