We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Medan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Been a pleasant stay in this hotel ever since my first visit to Medan in april. This hotel has been my number one choice for both stay and meetings. Besides the great hotel view, this hotel is also situated at a very strategic location within the city centre of Medan town. The hotel Management has been extremely warm to ensure my stay over 4 months in this very hotel been taken care on all accepts. I would recommend this hotel to all those planning their travel to Medan.

Thank you Grand Swiss Bell for making my stay very pleasant and a sincere thanks to the Hotel GM for the great stay...

Room Tip: All hotel rooms are very clean and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JESMEET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Mr. Jesmeet,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for staying with us again and for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel; your comments on the location and service are most gratifying and we will share them with the whole hotel team.

It was a real pleasure for us to be at your service again and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With Warm Regards,
The Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    322
    95
    37
    17
See reviews for
158
81
57
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I chose this hotel because it is easily accessible and convenient. It has a shopping mall connected next to it. Finding food and coffee places to relax is not a problem. The hotel itself looks new and the room is big and clean. WIFI is not a problem. The staff can speak good English and are friendly and helpful. There is a lounge and a wonderful restaurant at the 26th and 27th floor. The view from the restaurant is breath-taking especially during the sunset. Do come and experience it yourself. The price is very reasonable as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank donny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Medan and for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is gratifying to know that you particularly value our hotel, room, restaurant, facilities, services and found the location to be convenient to your needs. It is encouraging to hear your feedback as our guest's satisfaction is our top priority.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again at our hotel soon!

With Warm Regards,
The Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My friends and I sandwiched our Lake Toba trip with a night's stay each way at this hotel. We loved it! The room is big and more than enough plug points. The beds in our rooms were comfortable and made for a really good night's sleep.
When we first checked in, Ellen, at the front desk, was so helpful in making arrangements for our return trip that it was going back to a regular jaunt.
On our return trip, we took advantage of the pool, jacuzzi and had a nice dinner at the Edge. Food was fresh and tasty and the service was excellent. It was a wonderful ending to a great holiday.
All the staff were helpful and everything was smooth which always makes for a great experience.
Except maybe the coffee machine (during breakfast) seemed to be out-of-order and the butter was not really butter, was it?
We will definitely stay there if we return to Medan.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your accommodation choice during your stay in Medan and for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you had a great holiday at Lake Toba and a very enjoyable stay in our hotel.

Your comments on the service provided by our staff, room facilities , fitness centre and dining experience at The Edge Restaurant are most gratifying and we will share them with the hotel team.

Regarding your comments for the coffee machine being out of order during breakfast and the quality of our butter served we are glad to inform you that we have already taken corrective action to ensure first class experience and service for all our guests during the breakfast period.

It was a real pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to our hotel!

With Warm Regards,
The Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

it's a pleasant place to stay, they have mall and shoping centre , the lobby is good so the helpdesk but the bell boy wasn't helpfull, it is downtown location so near to business activity. the fitures and miles is so completed. finally i'll arrive to medan and stay in this hotel soon.

regards

Room Tip: corner are landscape
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rusdi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your accommodation choice during your stay in Medan and for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel; your comments on the location and service are most gratifying and we will share them with the whole team.

It was a real pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to our hotel!

With Warm Regards,
The Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Only stayed here one night but it was a pleasant stay.

Pros:
1)LOCATION: The hotel has two malls nearby, Cambridge and Sun Plaza if you are in for some last-minute shopping then that would be a good place( I recommend Sun Plaza since it has more stores and variety).

2)STAFF: The reception and room service staff are accommodating and friendly.
3) ROOM: The room we have stayed in is well maintained and clean and has a great city view. Water pressure is great even when you're staying in the 20th floor.
4) BREAKFAST: The portion and variety of breakfast and really nice.

CONS:
1) CHECK-IN: Check-in was a bit slow. Maybe management could do some improvements on their process.
2)LIGHTING: Despite the cleanliness of the room we had, the lighting of the room is still a bit dark even when all of the lights are turned on. I had some difficulty running to my pack of things because of this.
3) WIFI timeout: One thing that is annoying is the short timeout that is given when you connect to the hotel's WiFi. It's a little annoying that you have to constantly relogin after a few minutes. It's okay to have timeout but at least can have a longer one or best if none at all.

Overall, it's still a great value for money.

Room Tip: top floor, non-smoking, corner view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Meinard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your accommodation choice during your stay in Medan and for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our room, hospitality of the staff, breakfast variety and that you found the location to be convenient for your needs.

On the subject of the check – in process not being so fast as well as your feedback on the lighting in the room and wifi login we would like to let you know the following; as part of our overall service culture and product enhancement we have in place a strong training program to improve c/in and c/out procedures, we have initiated since this year a solid preventive maintenance program to improve the condition in all rooms and we are working with a renowned wifi provider to boost the hotel wifi capability thus making it more convenient and user friendly for our guests.

Last but not least we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future as we are quietly confident that you will notice a marked difference in our standards!

With Warm Regards,
The Management of Grand Swiss Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This past April was my third business visit to Medan. I used every department from the restaurants, to lobby bar, to bell services, concierge, and health club and spa. Clean, very nice and accommodating staff, and extremely friendly. The hotel location is wonderful and being attached to a shopping mall is fantastic. In no order, Emma, Catherine, Florence, Efi, Aubrey, Bambang ... every employee shows the highest level of professionalism.

Room Tip: Upgraded Corner rooms and spacious and very light and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mr. John P,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Medan and for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is gratifying to know that you particularly value our hotel, room, facilities, service and found the location to be convenient for your needs. It is encouraging to hear your feedback as our guest's satisfaction is our top priority.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate the team to keep up the good work.

It is part of our service culture to ensure that we exceed the guest’s expectation . Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future to our hotel!

With Warm Regards,
The Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

All i have to say about this hotel is.... comfortable hotel at a very strategically located place. It is next to a mall which have all kind of food and it is not far from all the major shopping complex.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weennee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your accommodation choice during your stay in Medan and for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and found the location to be convenient for your needs. It is encouraging to hear your feedback as our guest's satisfaction is our top priority.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back at our hotel in the near future!

With Warm Regards,
The Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
1.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.6 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 71 in Medan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#11 of 71 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Property: Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Address: Jl. S. Parman 217, Medan 20112, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Medan
#3 Spa Hotel in Medan
#3 Family Hotel in Medan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan is the first multi-facility complex of our kind to grace Medan, the capital city of North Sumatra. As the first 5 star international business hotel here, we are conveniently located right next to the Cambridge Condominiums and Shopping Mall.We offer 242 rooms and suites that feature a sleek and modern design, and are outfitted with a marvelous range of amenities to make sure that your stay with us in Medan is the most comfortable it can possibly be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan Hotel Medan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing