We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for culinary travel”
Review of Swiss-Belinn Medan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Medan
Batam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for culinary travel”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed on February, 2, 2014 and I found that the hotel was suitable choice to stay. It was close to central market, culinary selat panjang dan history places. Staffs were friendly and and room was clean even though the black wall. Objectively for budget hotel in town, it is recommended to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonaginting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    195
    194
    22
    18
See reviews for
78
92
42
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Hotel is decent and clean but it is tugged away in the small streets.

Room size is comfortable enough (about 24 sqm).

A lot of shophouses that sell watches on the same street.
Shopping area (Medan Mall, Central Market) is about 8 minutes' walk away, not very convenient.

Hotel staff provided different information. During Check-in, we asked about taxi ride to Kualanamu airport and was advised that it cost Rp150,000 and the hotel could assist.
At check-out, a different staff at reception counter told us we had to take the metered taxi and could cost up to Rp200,000 and more. We went out of the hotel to negotiate with "private car" operator on our own and was told to pay Rp250,000.
In the end, we managed it on our own and paid Rp200,000 - private car operator (1 hour 15min drive, from 4.55pm - 6.10pm, heavy traffic in the city, on highway is not too bad).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiawLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The room has a good size. The staffs were friendly.price was reasonable. The negative of this hotel is its cleanliness ..bedsheets have stains and the room was stinking. One night stay should be fine but not more. The masssage is reasonable n fine clean.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 914sanjayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

First I choose this hotel is because a good review from other traveler. But what I found is totally different. First I didn't expect this hotel was located in the small road. This hotel is located in a row with many "Ruko" (Shop houses). Second my bed sheet was very dirty, many stain in my bed sheet, and it was itchy. Third, my room was very smelly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eben17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss-Belinn, General Manager at Swiss-Belinn Medan, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Swiss-Belinn Medan.

It has been our great pleasure to welcome you at Swiss-Belinn Medan. We appreciate your concern, interest and the time taken to bring these matters to our attention. We would like to extend our deepest apologies for your inconvenient during staying at Swiss-Belinn Medan.

Your remark has been carefully noted. Regarding about room matters, it is now on our improving progress. We hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again at Swiss-Belinn Medan. In the meantime, we remain at your disposal should you require any further assistance.


Best regards,
General Manager of Swiss-Belinn Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Medan hotels

Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My fiance and i was on holiday to Medan. We arrive late in the evening, and we request late check out for the next day but seem the information not delivered well to the next morning shift.
The room is small and our room is painted in dark colour. lucky us we have small window in our room at least there is a view. For me the location is little bit quite far from downtown, but at night one block from the hotel there is a famous street that provide food only on the evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunny0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel via Agoda. Quality as expected..helpfull staff, good breakfast buffet and wifi worked well in room. Simple room but it's ok suitable with the rate. Centrally located, near with money changer, local restaurant and mart.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cikdada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I came here for a business trip and it was a poor service they gave:
1. Laundry - I called for the housekeeping twice and they didn't show up, then i gave it to the reception and they gave me an unhappy face.
2. Cleaning Service - after a day trip i came back to the room and i realized i my cup is in the bathroom, i think they forgot to do the right placement.
3. Compliment - Should be 2 bottles of mineral water in a day. But, they didn't give me any. and after i called the receptionist, they said that housekeeping will bring it to my room, but the housekeeping went to a wrong room T.T
4. Gym room - they had one but the water dispenser is unplugged, the treadmill and bicycle are not ready to use yet.

Overall. not a good service i got.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss-Belinn, General Manager at Swiss-Belinn Medan, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings From Swiss-Belinn Medan.

Thank you so much for your review. We would like to extend our deepest apologies for your inconvenient during staying at Swiss-Belinn Medan.
Your remark regarding the service has been carefully noted and also we will brief to the department concern especially receptionist to provide an accurate information regarding the location of some attractive places in Medan and how to get there.

We are always happy to welcoming you back and guarantee best service for your next coming to Swiss-Belinn Medan.


Best Regards,
General Manager of Swiss-Belinn Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
1.2 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
1.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Sakura Hotel
Grand Sakura Hotel
#15 of 71 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 71 in Medan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belinn Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belinn Medan

Property: Swiss-Belinn Medan
Address: Jln. Surabaya no. 88, Medan 20212, Indonesia (Formerly My Dream Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss-Belinn Medan 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belinn Medan is the newest, modern 3-star hotel in Medan, North Sumatra. Strategically located on Jalan Surabaya in the heart of the city, the hotel offers convenient access to various entertainment and dining options. The hotel is surrounded by the Central Business District and is within walking distance of many shopping areas, making it the ideal option for both business and leisure traveller who are looking for affordable yet convenient accommodation in Medan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss-Belinn Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing