We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value pick in Medan”
Review of Alpha Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Inn
Ranked #63 of 76 Hotels in Medan
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed here twice and had an excellent experience both times. The rooms were big, clean and a good value for $25 a night. The LCD TV, wi-fi and air conditioning all worked fine and the shower had a good supply of hot water.

The location is not ideal as there aren't a huge amount of food options nearby, but it's a very cheap becak drive to SM Raja where there is a little more happening and few more options to eat/drink at. It is also close to the Northern bus station and 30 minute becak drive from the Southern bus station.

The staff were extremely helpful and even gave us info about the buses to Banda and helped negotiate decent becak rates for us!

To be honest, Medan has pretty slim pickings unless you want to fork out the cash so this is definitely the top pick!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sezbo_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

I booked this hotel via an online agent with the rate in USD. When I arrived at the hotel, I found the rate USD-IDR was too expensive. After negotiating with hotel staff, we settled with the cheaper rate and I paid in full with my credit card.

When I received my credit card statement, there were 2 charges made to this Alpha Inn Hotel. One was the amount we settled but the other one was not. I contacted the hotel and they said they charged more for the difference between the settled rate and the original hotel rate. I explained that I have negotiated and settled in the amount I signed in the payment slip. I also asked them to refund me the unsigned transaction otherwise I had to report to my online booking agent and file a dispute to my credit card bank but they refused and told me to do so if I was not satisfied.

I finally filed a dispute to my bank and got a refund back.

Speaking of the hotel, the price was not expensive. It's not very far from Polonia airport (around 10-15 minutes with no traffic at late night).There was free Wi-fi router in each floor. Breakfast included was basic. I booked 2 standard double rooms and 1 deluxe room. The standard double rooms were really very small with no windows. Bed in the room occupied almost all the space. The ensuite bathroom was not clean. I recommend to go for a Deluxe or Superior for more space and windows with a small extra cost.

Do not get into a taxi in front of the hotel, it's old and you will be overcharged by the driver.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parinya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

If you guys want to stay in an affordable and comfort hotel, this is it. I'm staying in a superior room, and cost me 250000 rupiah per night(approximately 30 US Dollar). The room is clean, everything in the room are new, and guess what, there is a flat screen LG tv in my room....
I have been stayed in other cheap hotel but this hotel really satisfied me. Hot water and wifi are not really satisfied tho, but overall are good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AshleyLaumw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 480fandyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Didi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r_miftachul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Dephie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Citi International Palang Merah
1.6 mi away
Medan Ville Hotel
Medan Ville Hotel
#59 of 76 in Medan
32 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Sulthan Darussalam Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Candi Hotel
Candi Hotel
#52 of 76 in Medan
19 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Batik Hotel
The Batik Hotel
#18 of 76 in Medan
59 reviews
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
Wisma HM Jhoni
#16 of 76 in Medan
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Inn

Address: Jln. Gatot Subroto 148A, Medan 20113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 76 Hotels in Medan
Price Range: £13 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpha Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpha Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing