We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Grand Sakura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Sakura Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The most comfortable beds and pillows that I have come across in Medan at a reasonably priced hotel. Loved the room it was spacious and luxury. There was easy access to Super Market for supplies. Near to Train Station for travelling.
The taxis directly outside the hotel will not use their meters and so try to overcharge you. We walked up to the main road and caught taxis very easily from there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Grand Sakura Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

We were only using Medan as a stopover between Kuala Lumpur and Ketambe, but it turned out to be a very bad experience.
First they wanted us to pay in rupiah when we had booked in dollar. Of course they were using a really crappy exchange rate.
then we were supposed to have tranfer back and forth to the airport, we did not use the from the airport so we waited the back. they were arguing it was only from when on the booking it said "from/to". after that it was too early (we wanted 7.30 am) and it said between 7am and 6pm. finally we got it but it took us 45 min of arguing for stuff we were supposed to get.
however we were in a room on the top floor where outside you have the airconditionning of the whole hotel that is running full power, it was really noisy. we could hear more the ACC from the outside than the one inside our room...

breackfast was supposed to start at 7.00. nobody was there to serve us anything so we had the choice between plain rice and weird gello instead of fried eggs and toasts...
we had booked it for one night on our way back from ketambe, we cancelled and went to the Garuda Plazza instead, a much better experience.

also the hotel location is not that good. there is a cool place with a lot of restaurant nearby but otherwise it is far from the airport and far from the center and sights.

In short: bad service, bad rom, bad breekfast, poor location, we really don't recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank andeloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Amazing value, marble throughout and generally very clean. Had the same reaction as other reviewers - refused to pay 150000 Rp deposit for the minibar, so they stripped everything out and turned off the frig. Breakfast huge but cold and inedible, only staff eating there. Can't figure out what the real business is here. Certainly not tourism- no tourists, tho woman at tour desk was the only helpful staff member.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the airport, despite confirmation they never showed. We stayed in a double room in which the phone and the fridge didn't work. We had to ask for toilet paper and towels. The room didn't look clean, looked like it was smoked in a lot for about 20 years. The staff doesn't speak English very well and couldn't help us with basic questions. But the hot water worked and the breakfast was okay. And they have 2 computers in the lobby, free to use.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hotel has a flashy facade and first impressions upon entering the foyer are of something 5 star. However the staff are quite unhelpful, especially to foreigners.

We had pre-payed for our room so insisted on having our mini bar emptied rather than paying a deposit for it to be filled.

The room is lovely with comfy bed, great furnishings and a large bathroom. Upon speaking to other guests, we were told it is best not to use the shower during peak periods as water pressure is relatively poor but is fine outside of these times.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food was well below standard. My friend couldn't even eat hers. Also, many guests smoke in the dining area which, as an Australian where we don't smoke in restaurants or bars, I found quite unappealing. Service was also very slow.

Breakfast was okay. For western breakfasts, toast and fruit were available and you needed to request eggs if you wanted them from an unimpressed chef at an omlette bar.

I would recommend using the hotel taxi service to the airport which is only 50,000 rupi which is quite good.

Overall, not bad for a quick stay over but don't hold your breath for a good meal!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We walked into the smoky lobby (you can see the smoke) and were greeted with glum unfriendly faces at the front desk. We were checked in and were surprised at the room, which was spacious and well appointed rooms. Imagine a Hyatt room. The next morning we tried to shower and discovered the water pressure was next to nil and there was no hot water. When I called the front desk to let them know, the woman didn't speak English and hung up on me. The breakfast was very disappointing, with nothing appetizing except the omelette that was made to order. Expect to smell like smoke even if you spend minute in the lobby. The wifi in the lobby was reliable. Stay here if you're only passing through 1 night. Too bad the rest of the hotel did not live up to the promise of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pkpowerofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at deluxe room just USD25 for one night/room (included breakfast). Additional bed will be charged USD12 included breakfast. From airport to the hotel take approximate 10-20 min. The hotel is located just next to the main road, same row with hardware shops and the street is quiet at night time (after business hours)

When we entered to the hotel lobby, the first impression was "WOW", a bit surprised cause it's doesn't look like budget hotel. Unfortunately, the receptionist we met a receptionist who can't speak in English, so we try to speak Bahasa language with him (cause we are Malaysian). The room is comfort & big, with the flat screen TV definetely is the best entertainment in room. Don't worry, bathroom also very clean. But, the soundproof is poor but we have no problem with this. Breakfast is very simple and don't expected more.

We do not have much time to explore the hotel surrounding due to we checked in at late everning. Take a 10 min walk there is one local restaurant, very hard to find a convenience shop nearby. Strongly advise seek for receptionist's assistance before walk out from the hotel.

We did not take the airport service from Hotel, due to we had hired a driver for this trip.

Overall, we're satisfied stayed in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liiwa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#11 of 73 in Medan
503 reviews
0.6 mi away
d`primahotel Medan
d`primahotel Medan
#10 of 73 in Medan
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 73 in Medan
609 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Batik Hotel
The Batik Hotel
#15 of 73 in Medan
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sakura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sakura Hotel

Address: Jl. Prof. HM Yamin SH No. 41-43, Medan 20234, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Price Range: £19 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sakura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sakura Hotel Medan, astar hotel, is situated in the hearth of the Central business district and within close proximity to airport.With Sakura, Your Satisfaction First, Guest for Flower, Flower for Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sakura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing