We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Poisening”
Review of Grand Sakura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Sakura Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Well, I stayed here and was left thinking there was much more they could have done to make this a better place. The breakfast was not very good but was sufficient to our needs. However, every morning there was a number of people smoking and no air flow to provide cleaner smelling air. The room was ok and the bed leg broke when I sat on the bed. I am not a overly large man, only 110kg or 242lbs. We chose to have dinner one night in the restaurant and I bit into fried chicken and it was raw inside. I was sick for several days and could not go to far from a toilet. I would not stay here ever again. Not to mention when we checked in there was no signs that they were doing construction work with them banging day and night right next to our room. I mean I was there for 7 nights visiting family nearby and as most guests are 1 or 2 night stays, they could have given us a better room.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoahTheHeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Grand Sakura Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed in Grand Sakura Hotel for one night (check-in 13 Dec. 2011) and paid 261,000.00 INR (29.00 USD). Location is far from the city centre, general shopping and the couple of tourist attractions in Medan, but it seems to be not a problem as transportation in Medan is very cheap. House-keeping is very good, room is big and very clean. Superior twin air-conditioned room is equipped with flat-panel televisions with satellite channel, includes minibar and safe. Cash deposit is required at check-in for “incidental” minibar use (and it is really funny). All accommodations provide desks and direct-dial phones. In-room refrigerators and coffee/tea makers are provided. There is some problem with hot water in shower, as temperature was unpredictable. Breakfast is really terrible. Funny thing is… when our friend asked to bring jam for toasters (as bowl for jam was empty), the guy served breakfast said “it finished for today”. Nothing is lost if to book room with not-included breakfast especially taking into account cheap food options in Medan. Complimentary wireless Internet access and two PC are available in public areas. For payment they did accept Visa, MasterCard and did not accept Amex and bill is converted into Indonesian Rupee (INR) according to hotel rate if the booking made in another currency. Overall it is good hotel, deserves its “three stars” and definitely it is good value for money. The tricycle motorized rickshaw (“becak”) to Mesjid Raya Mosque and Maimoon Palace is about 15,000.00-20,000.00 INR. From Mosque/Palace to Tjong A Fie Mansion is about 10,000.00 INR. Actually one day is enough to visit main attractions in Medan (Mesjid Raya Mosque, Maimoon Palace, Tjong A Fie Mansion, Lapangan Merdeka, Art Déco buildings from the Dutch colonial era, like the Old City Hall and Post office). Hotel shuttle bus to Polonia International Airport (Medan Airport) is 50,000.00 INR and upon request they can arrange pick up from airport and transport to Lake Toba.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dr_Igor_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed for 4 days and 3 nights, and there are 2 days did not get a welcome drink, i call to the receptionist but passed to the other, poor room service, dirty bathroom floor. For breakfast taste awful, food, drinks, plates, glasses always less so guests have to wait long to be served. REALLY, I do not recommend this hotel to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jovita w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I love staying at this hotel. It's clean and the bed is comfortable. Staff are friendly, breakfast choices are acceptable, tour service available & it's near mini market. Not so far from the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khai2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

sakura grand hotel.
not yet have complete facilities and do not meet international standards.
and its facilities were limited stuff.
they only have limited room.
and his work equipment is inadequate.
These hotels usually only the lower classes.

This was just what I know about the hotel

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sani s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The most comfortable beds and pillows that I have come across in Medan at a reasonably priced hotel. Loved the room it was spacious and luxury. There was easy access to Super Market for supplies. Near to Train Station for travelling.
The taxis directly outside the hotel will not use their meters and so try to overcharge you. We walked up to the main road and caught taxis very easily from there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We were only using Medan as a stopover between Kuala Lumpur and Ketambe, but it turned out to be a very bad experience.
First they wanted us to pay in rupiah when we had booked in dollar. Of course they were using a really crappy exchange rate.
then we were supposed to have tranfer back and forth to the airport, we did not use the from the airport so we waited the back. they were arguing it was only from when on the booking it said "from/to". after that it was too early (we wanted 7.30 am) and it said between 7am and 6pm. finally we got it but it took us 45 min of arguing for stuff we were supposed to get.
however we were in a room on the top floor where outside you have the airconditionning of the whole hotel that is running full power, it was really noisy. we could hear more the ACC from the outside than the one inside our room...

breackfast was supposed to start at 7.00. nobody was there to serve us anything so we had the choice between plain rice and weird gello instead of fried eggs and toasts...
we had booked it for one night on our way back from ketambe, we cancelled and went to the Garuda Plazza instead, a much better experience.

also the hotel location is not that good. there is a cool place with a lot of restaurant nearby but otherwise it is far from the airport and far from the center and sights.

In short: bad service, bad rom, bad breekfast, poor location, we really don't recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank andeloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#11 of 73 in Medan
503 reviews
0.6 mi away
d`primahotel Medan
d`primahotel Medan
#10 of 73 in Medan
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 73 in Medan
609 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Batik Hotel
The Batik Hotel
#15 of 73 in Medan
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sakura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sakura Hotel

Address: Jl. Prof. HM Yamin SH No. 41-43, Medan 20234, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Price Range: £19 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sakura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sakura Hotel Medan, astar hotel, is situated in the hearth of the Central business district and within close proximity to airport.With Sakura, Your Satisfaction First, Guest for Flower, Flower for Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Sakura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing