We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and noisy!”
Review of Sultan Homestay

Sultan Homestay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sultan Homestay
Ranked #14 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Medan
Naestved, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dirty and noisy!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Nothing clean about this place! The shared toilets looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months! I'm night sure who the people were, but downstairs a lot of Indonesians drunk beers and we're loud until 3am, next morning most of them had crashed on the sofas in the common area. The two people behind the desk(who I'm sure about working there) was so nice! Helped me with everything and wrote down which busses and how much I should pay for them when I left the place. So if you want friendly staff, it's a great place. Everything else, not so great!

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want a place with clean sheets and bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simejney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    26
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
16
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Sultan in July 2014. We backpack on a budget, and are used to staying in cheap places.
However, we should have taken the bad reviews seriously. It would be impossible to believe that the pictures you see of the Sultan were taken at any point during the last 10 years.
The room was grungy, and run down. There is trash and junk lying around in various spots around the hostel in plain sight. In the morning, there was breakfast available on a table, with a dead cockroach beside it, again, in plain sight. No one cleaned anything up. It was dirty.
There was a nice shower head in the bathroom that was not functional - bucket and pail was your only option.
Nevertheless, staff was nice, and helpful. But it seems no one cares about the upkeep of the homestay. They've really let this place go.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjlafrance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Medan hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
liverpool
Level Contributor
235 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

stumbled upon this homestay and being short of cash we got a bargain price for a nights stay. wifi, water, tea , coffee and bfast included it.s a great price if you can put up with cramped room and unclean facilities. staff are very helpful and have language skills. location near to mall and bus stop although main road is very busy. overall recommended for solo travelers and backpackers.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterflyrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for one night. Too mutch I think. In room there was no window and it felt like prison cell... Staff was quite young but helpful after all... Little language problems though. Shower in corridor was filty and allways occupied. Cheap but still no good value off money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jokerivaara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

As it's written in the title, people are very nice there, and if you need anything they ll help you with a huge smile. Rooms are hot but clean. The location is noisy but you'll not hear anything from your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARICHATRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

When i read the review about this guesthouse from Agoda, lots of traveler suggest not to stay in here. But, i gave it a try anyway..

For me, staying here will gave you the experience like 50% population of Middle-Low class worker in Indonesian. Yes, you'll feel how hot the air in the room at the big city, and can found the cockroach in the bathroom, and also the light off so often at night.. But, for 50% population, lived in the room like this is a blast! So, i guarantee whoever stay here will not get a 5 star experience of the room, but 5 star experience of indonesian daily life! GUARANTEED!

Room Tip: If you go solo, try to order single room for $5/night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bekicotngesot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
120 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed there one night before heading off to Bukit Lawang, hence it was OK. But for a longer stay would recommend other location, as the windowless rooms are getting extremly hot and the fan is not really helping. Staff is very helpfull with finding buses and transport, etc. Location is convenient with bus stops around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSPhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.0 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#11 of 71 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sulthan Darussalam Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
0.0 mi away
Permata Inn
Permata Inn
#3 of 48 in Medan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Homestay

Property: Sultan Homestay
Address: Jl. Sisingamangaraja 66, Medan 20213, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, cheap, well & trusted travel information, best area in the city, 10 minutes by taxi or about 25 minutes walk from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sultan Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing