We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & good location”
Review of The Palace Inn

The Palace Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palace Inn
Ranked #13 of 52 Medan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for a night after Lake Toba trip and the hotel offered more than we expected. Very clean room with large window overlooking Jalan Mojopahit, bathroom equipped with amenities. Breakfast is good with choice of porridge, fried rice, fried noodles and sweet cakes. Staff are friendly and helpful while hotel located only few minutes walking distance to shopping malls - Cambridge Mall and Sun Mall. The location at Jalan Mojopahit also means guests can hunt for the famous Bika Ambon without hassle as one can find various Bika Ambon sellers along this road. Transportation wise is no hassle with becak and taxis everywhere. Overall, the hotel is worth every penny and recommended for travelers visiting Medan to give it a try.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TresSdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I've been in this b&b only one night but I totally loved it. Clean, friendly staff, awesome room with comfortable bed, nice shower, wifi, air con ecc. I would recommend this place to anyone that have to stop in Medan. The only thing I would improve is breakfast but is good anyway. Noodles, rice, chicken, coffee, bread, jam and fruit is what they offer...totally worth for the price !

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Siccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed a Night in palace Inn prior to flying out of Medan. Quite a attractive city Hotel, and proximate to the medan railway station. Good value for money.

The service was good and the staff are quite friendly. Didnt get the chance to try out the restaurant in the hotel as i had a early morning Checkout. There is a good mall nearby to kill some time for the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veepy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My better half and I stayed in this hotel when we arrived from Lake Toba. It was recommended to us because it was value for money and truly it was. We paid IDR270,000 for a superior room with a twin bed plus breakfast.
It is small four-storeyed hotel located away from the city centre. However, we could go to the other places of interest by taking the becak (motorised trishaw) for a fare of between IDR10k to IDR30K or by taking the metered Blue Bird taxi. We took a becak to the Damri bus station near Carrefour for our transport to the Kualanamu International Airport.
The room was spacious and acceptably clean. The bathroom was big. The hot and cold shower was powerful. Shampoo for the hair and body together with toothbrushes and shower caps were provided. Room slippers were also provided.
The free wi-fi connection was very good in the room. There were many channels to choose on the LCD television. However, our room did not have a window but it was not important to us.
The breakfast offered limited choices but for the price we paid we could not complain. There were various fried items like noodles, rice, eggs and chicken, Porridge and bread were also offered. Coffee, tea and mango juice plus fresh fruits made up the menu.
Checking-in and out were fast. The staff were courteous and friendly. It would be a good place to stay if you are looking for an affordable place to sleep after spending a the whole day exploring the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I just back from Medan, I also recommend this hotel.
1. Clean and comfortable hotel
2. Not expensive we can pay for luxury room just only 310,000 Rp.
3. Very good security.
4. friendly staff and very nice manager.
5. Close to Cambridge mall, Just walk 5 min. (ask staff for way to walk)
6. Close to Carrefour shopping mall and can get ticket to Medan Kualanamu Airport at Damri Bus Station. (่ask hotel staff for Bechak just 10,000 Rp.)
7. The included breakfast was ok, I think its enough for this price.
8. Very helpful for problems when you got just tell staff and manger. They are so nice and kind.
9. Free wifi and you can borrow adaptor.

I recommend this Hotel for stay in Medan that you will feeling good and happy for your trip. ^___^

Koy, BKK, Thailand.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank koyfeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Palace Inn for two nights, after and before our flights to/from Medan Kualanamu Airport.

This hotel is located outside the main area of Medan, which for us was a plus, since we do not like the polluted streets and crazy atmosphere of the city centre. It is very close to Cambridge mall however, so you can go there for food, shops and a supermarket.

You should not book their rooms through a website, since their advertising rates are double the rates they charge at the reception desk. I am not sure if we got a low season rate, but we paid their special rate which was only half the price (300.000 IDR per night). The rooms are very clean, have AC, hot water shower with good water pressure, a desk, a very comfortable bed and free wifi.

The included breakfast was poor. Very greasy tasteless food and bad coffee, but there is a Starbucks and Coffee Bean at Cambridge mall just 5 min. walking if you need a decent cafeïne start.

What deserves a special mentioning is the great hospitality of the friendly manager. He made a little chat with us and recommended places we could go in Medan. Unfortunately we were only there for transit so we could not check them out. Our second visit he helped us with arranging our airport transfer and made a deal for us with a taxi driver because we had to stop at the post office on our way. Very good service!

For the half-price rate we paid we feel we got very good value for money at this place and would recommend it to anyone who is in transit in Medan and looking for nothing more than a good nights sleep outside the craziness of the city centre.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravellingAsia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Palace Inn is a budget hotel that was recommended by friend from Medan. Although relatively cheap, but this hotel has a hygiene and good security.
Breakfast provided by the hotel is not delicious, therefore we prefer to enjoy delicious foods that are sold in the city of Medan. This hotel doesn't have a swimming pool & fitness center.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Merry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
0.6 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#5 of 74 in Medan
633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#10 of 74 in Medan
508 reviews
1.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.5 mi away
Adimulia Hotel Medan
Adimulia Hotel Medan
#7 of 74 in Medan
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Inn

Address: Jln. Mojopahit No. 91, Medan 20112, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Medan
Price Range: £23 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Palace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing