We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grand Antares
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Medan
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Okay Hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I only stayed 1 night in this hotel for transit.
The location is not really good if u want to stay in city center.
They have a live band in the night and breakfast also nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chi_chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    15
    28
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
3
1
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Location of the hotel is not good since there is no shop for shopping or walk around. only few small stalls selling local food. We just spend our night time at the lobby listening to the live band. We enjoy the songs, it's very nice and harmony. The hotel provides a non-smoking area at the lobby, but it's useless since there is no partition between the smoking and non-smoking area. There are people smoke at non-smoking area that night. The view from room is not good, since in the Medan town. We heard sound of switching on light from room beside at night. The slipper and toothbrush only one set since we booked a deluxe room. The toilet not so clean. There is variety of choice for breakfast. This is a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teh_eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangsar, Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I found the Grand Antares at Medan an good little hotel for a short stay. It had everything we needed. The laundry service was impressive. The food was good. The breakfast was also good for a 3 star hotel. Service was pleasant. I needed an adaptor for my handphone charger and they obliged. I would recommend this hotel in Medan though I believe it is not very centrally located as far as the main shopping areas are concerned. Surroundings were nothing to shout about. Noisy and busy. Bathrooms were a bit old. Towels were grey with age.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

They have free wifi and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and nice.

BUT....
It's very noisy because in Medan, everyone likes to honk, there's a karaoke joint on level M that makes noise right up to midnight. This hotel is also popular with the locals and for local function/meetings hence alot of smoking EVERYWHERE.

Food is terrible but I am not expecting much. There isnt anything nearby and when I walk down the street, I felt out of the place as the location of this hotel is a little out of the town.

Additional note: if you are looking to buy their cakes, there is acake store down the road after Indonesia Mart. Else the cakes at the airport is just as GOOD and CHEAP.

Room Tip: Watch out for bed bugs :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielwongkaifai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The room has everything you really need, even a coffeemaker, but was small with old furniture, also not very clean. The bathroom was old and dirty. The windows were very dusty because of the busy road in front. Also the location is much too far from downtown. You always need a cab. The only good things were the big delicious Indonesian breakfast and the free Wifi in the lobby. This is a typical hotel for Indonesians, we were the only Europeans at the time of our stay. Medan is not very interesting, we used it to go to the North of Sumatra and to stay before our flight to other destinations. This hotel was not up to Western 5 star standard. If you want better, stay downtown in one of the luxury chain hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room and a renovated bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveloldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
164 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I stayed for one night, luckily. I stayed in an old room, you could sense since the first time you enter the room.

The bathroom was filled with spots, also was not very clean , i think.

The breakfast was also terrible. I dont want to return to this hotel again for sure, you better pays a lil bit more and stay in the swisbel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Medan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.9 mi away
Antares Hotel
Antares Hotel
#51 of 71 in Medan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN
2.4 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#11 of 71 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Medan Ville Hotel
Medan Ville Hotel
#45 of 71 in Medan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Impression Hotel
Grand Impression Hotel
#18 of 71 in Medan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Antares

Property: Hotel Grand Antares
Address: Jln. Sisingamangaraja No. 328, Medan 20215, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Antares 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing