We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kesawan

Hotel Kesawan
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kesawan
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Medan
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“ideal location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is ideally located near to food court,Yuki mall,merdeka walk and maimun palace,etc.The rooms are a bit small but clean. the facilities provided are 24 hrs hot water,TV and basic complimentary breakfast, that is toast bread with jam/margerine,bullseye or fried rice.Some of the front office workers are a bit stuck up and needs some training on how to handle tourists, otherwise it is quite a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpmurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    9
    19
    12
    3
See reviews for
3
10
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
padang
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I've been stayed in this hotel twice, both in weekdays and weekend. On my first experienced I booked their standard room which less expensive. Room was good, it's clean and comfort enough even though the bathroom is quite small and interne somehow didn't work properly but still, the hotel's staffs is very helpful. Fortunately, on my second experienced I got different room which better than the previous one. It was in 3rd floor, a huge one with double bed and better internet connection, and bit larger bathroom. So far it was great experienced. It has great location with affordable price, only took about 10 minutes to Merdeka Walk or Maimun Palace and it just the opposite of tip top restaurant which has delicious ice cream.

Room Tip: it depends on your budget, but if you haven't problem at all with your budget, you'd better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I chose to stay at kesawan hotel purely because of its location, close to the pasar ikan (textile/batik) and food outlets.

The rooms were IDR 279 000 inclusive of breakfast. The rooms were small, you can just about walk around the double bed. The bathroom was more like a closet rather than a room. And it didnt even have a sink!! Even the hot shower couldnt make up for having to spit in the toilet!

Air conditioning was OK. Bedding was clean, but only a very thin blanket was provided. TV was provided.

I guess kesawan is OK if you just want a clean bed to sleep and dont mind the poir bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALR0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Medan hotels

Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel was the worst we've stayed in on our 5 month trip and we have stayed in hotels for much less money. There were rats in the stairwell. The hallways echoed everyone coming in yelling at 2am from the bars. I can't believe that all the locals stayed in this hotel. It is definitely a party hotel. The room is nothing like the pictures on booking.com. Everything is dirty, brown sheets not white. There was not even a sink in the room. The water was not hot. Terrible, terrible. Stay away.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

2nd stay over the weekend. This time stayed at most 'expensive' room that costs less than USD30 per night. Room was big equipped with one king size bed and two sofas. Toilet is big too however cleanliness can be much improved. There is hot water to shower which was good. Aircond worked perfectly fine. Best thing about the hotel was the location which was right at the Main Street. Easy to get taxis or 'bechak'. Would come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharinaShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very well located in the center of Medan, close to sights and restaurants. Good room without window, even though pretty tiny, especially the bathroom without sink. Clean, Valuable price, very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Basic room was ok. Choose rooms off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helmuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Slept here twice, both times travelling through. Rooms are decently priced. Ask for a room without windows, or you'll be kept awake by the noise from one of the busiest streets of medan. Standard rooms have no sink. Bed is nice.

Good things: the staff is really friendly and helpful. The hotel is 300m from the station, from where you can catch a train to the new international airport. Across the street from the hotel is the OK Tip-top restaurant and a small bakery.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeroen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.8 mi away
Medan Ville Hotel
Medan Ville Hotel
#42 of 69 in Medan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Citi International Palang Merah
2.0 mi away
The Sulthan Darussalam Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Menara Lexus
Hotel Menara Lexus
#52 of 69 in Medan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Citi International Sun Yat Sen
1.7 mi away
The Batik Hotel
The Batik Hotel
#17 of 69 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kesawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kesawan

Property: Hotel Kesawan
Address: Jl. A. Yani / Kesawan no. 97-99, Medan, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kesawan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kesawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing