We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality & Service below standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soechi International Hotel
Ranked #62 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Due work I have to stay in this hotel though it would definitely not be my choice ! Although staff is reasonably friendly they still lacking basic hospitality skills ! I asked them to call a taxi for me and they said I would have to call by my self , using my cellphone... I thought this was a joke and when asking them why they said they had too many guests ordering taxis without laying them leaving them with a 30.000 penalty ... When asking them why they don't just charge to guests room they couldn't give me any clear answer .... Rooms are very outdated , bath is disgusting and I found 3 cockroaches in my room ... Also i was given à smoking room when specifically asked not smoking ! Wifi Nd Internet us very poor slow and doesn't even work in the room ! Service at swimming pool is very poor , nobody will come to you to ask you for something .... Chairs used for sunbathing are completely broken and not comfortable !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKTVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy D, Manajer Hubungan Tamu at Soechi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Mr PKTVI

Greetings from Hotel Soechi International Medan.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your stay with us.

I was most disturbed to learn of your disappointment on your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and be assured that we will thoroughly investigate all matters concerned and corrective measures will be taken where required to ensure no repetition in the future.

I thank you for bringing the matter to our attention, giving us a chance to rectify our shortcomings in our continuous effort to improve and maintain our standards of service to our valued guests.

I look forward to meeting you personally on your next visit to Medan. I can be contacted anytime

Yours sincerely,

Andy Dijab
Guest Affair Manager

Hotel Soechi International
Managed by PT Novotel Soechi Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Soechi International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here on 23rd & 25th of May with a group of friends. This hotel were booked by our tour agent and we choose this hotel from 3 option. I have asked my friends and they said they were satisfied with their room although they think the room kind of old and I personally satisfied with the room I shared with my friend (Room No. 808 & 816).
Their buffet breakfast also nice but average, with variety choice of breakfast from western to local (They got one corner where you can asked them to prepare you 'fresh' omelets). However, they should check their creamer for coffee which they prepare at the beverage corner (not the packet one) whether it's still good or not - It's turned into white solid when we add it to our coffee. I saw lots of customer leave behind their coffee untouched during our breakfast on 26th May because of this.
The only thing I m not satisfied is their front desk services. It took almost 20 - 30 minutes for us to get our room and it was really such a bummer for us since we were from long journey and arrived late and we were expecting to get to our room the soonest possible to rest.
Overall, maybe I am lucky that my friend and I got a nice room during our stay and we have no complaint of our room. I suggested the hotel management to improved their services and also try to upgrade the rooms since it's a bit old.

Room Tip: Our room was at level 8, the view was nice, so I think the higher level you can get, the better
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyatimolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy D, Manajer Hubungan Tamu at Soechi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Mr hyatimolly

Greetings from Hotel Soechi International Medan.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your stay with us.

I was most disturbed to learn of your disappointment on your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and be assured that we will thoroughly investigate all matters concerned and corrective measures will be taken where required to ensure no repetition in the future.

I thank you for bringing the matter to our attention, giving us a chance to rectify our shortcomings in our continuous effort to improve and maintain our standards of service to our valued guests.

I look forward to meeting you personally on your next visit to Medan. I can be contacted anytime

Yours sincerely,

Andy Dijab
Guest Affair Manager

Hotel Soechi International
Managed by PT Novotel Soechi Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed here with a colleague for one night. in general, you'll get the feel that the hotel is pretty old and need some maintenance but nothing too urgent. the front desk looked unexperienced since they charged my colleague's credit card the wrong amount and it took quite some time for them to process the registration. The room itself is very comfortable, and the bathroom is very clean. I had a very good sleep (since I was so tired) and breakfast is decent but not excellent. i'd recommend it for the good price and the nice rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy D, Manajer Hubungan Tamu at Soechi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Mr JeffreyS
Greetings from Hotel Soechi International Medan.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your stay with us.

I was most disturbed to learn of your disappointment on your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and be assured that we will thoroughly investigate all matters concerned and corrective measures will be taken where required to ensure no repetition in the future.

I thank you for bringing the matter to our attention, giving us a chance to rectify our shortcomings in our continuous effort to improve and maintain our standards of service to our valued guests.

I look forward to meeting you personally on your next visit to Medan. I can be contacted anytime

Yours sincerely,

Andy Dijab
Guest Affair Manager

Hotel Soechi International
Managed by PT Novotel Soechi Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Our room (741) looked dated and was poorly lit. On the first day, when we switched on the air-conditioner, the bed-side lamps went out, then they flickered erratically. We called the engineering department and a technician came to fix the switches. However, the problem persisted throughout our 2-night stay and it was never solved. On the second day, we noticed hand towels in the bathroom were not replaced although the soiled ones were removed. A price list for items in the room (for purchase by the guests) also included hand towels. So, it's best to take note of the items provided in the room just in case they add that to your hotel bill. Front office staff were generally unfriendly and could not understand English. On the day of our departure, we were expecting 'lapis legit' (which we'd ordered earlier) to be delivered to our room at 8.00 a.m. We would be having breakfast around that time, so we tried to inform the front office about this delivery. Both the staff gave us a blank look; obviously they could not understand what we were trying to tell them. After our breakfast, we enquired at the concierge and managed to collect item just in time before leaving for the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oursenpeluche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy D, Manajer Hubungan Tamu at Soechi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Mr shudrine

Greetings from Hotel Soechi International Medan.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your stay with us.

I was most disturbed to learn of your disappointment on your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and be assured that we will thoroughly investigate all matters concerned and corrective measures will be taken where required to ensure no repetition in the future.

I thank you for bringing the matter to our attention, giving us a chance to rectify our shortcomings in our continuous effort to improve and maintain our standards of service to our valued guests.

I look forward to meeting you personally on your next visit to Medan. I can be contacted anytime

Yours sincerely,

Andy Dijab
Guest Affair Manager

Hotel Soechi International
Managed by PT Novotel Soechi Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

Eventhough located in the busy traffic congested area of downtown Medan, the Soechi International Hotel is the popular place to stay , especially for those who crazy about Medanese Chinese Foods. The hotel itself is quite antique, old fashion but with complete facilities for its guests. Beside the standard facilities and amenities,like bathtubs equipped bed rooms, it also provides fitness center ( a good one), spa, swimming pools, 5 stars chinese restaurant, karaoke rooms, and a shopping mall inside the building. By walking around in the surroundings of the hotel, one can easily find foodstalls with delicious Medanese Chibese Foods like chicken rice, porridges, various kinds of noodles, cakes and various local delicaties etcetera. Just strolling on the nearby streets, one will absolutely find something to fill your hungry stomach. If you prefer to dine insite the hotel, then the Kim Chu Chinese Restaurant is the right place. Oh, one more important note, the hotel's buffet breakfast is so complete, especially the range of local dishes is really mouth watering. The standard western style breakfast is also served in great quantity and best quality. Doing business in the day time and hunting for delicious local foods in the nite, those are what Soechi Intermatiinal offers to you.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank protasius d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy D, Manajer Hubungan Tamu at Soechi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017
Google Translation

Yang terhormat Bapak protasius D

Salam dari Hotel Soechi International Medan.

Terima kasih telah meluangkan waktu untuk berbagi pengalaman Anda saat Anda tinggal bersama kami.

Saya sangat terganggu untuk mengetahui kekecewaan Anda atas kunjungan terakhir Anda bersama kami. Mohon terima permintaan maaf saya yang tulus atas ketidaknyamanan yang ditimbulkan dan yakinlah bahwa kami akan menyelidiki secara menyeluruh semua hal yang terkait dan tindakan perbaikan akan dilakukan jika diperlukan untuk memastikan tidak ada pengulangan di masa depan.

Terima kasih telah menyampaikan hal ini kepada kami, memberi kami kesempatan untuk memperbaiki kekurangan kami dalam usaha terus menerus kami untuk memperbaiki dan mempertahankan standar pelayanan kami kepada tamu terhormat kami.

Saya berharap dapat bertemu dengan Anda secara pribadi pada kunjungan Anda berikutnya ke Medan. Saya bisa dihubungi kapan saja

Dengan hormat,

Andy Dijab
Manajer Affair

Hotel Soechi Internasional
Dikelola oleh PT Novotel Soechi Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Old hotel but good location, one other plus point is they have lobby (not reception, but lobby sofas) in every floor. Access is easy to major Medan city area, traditional foods in their restaurant is good taste. But yes rooms are just fair, carpets are also old.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cipto29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy D, Manajer Hubungan Tamu at Soechi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017
Google Translation

Yang terhormat Bapak cipto29

Salam dari Hotel Soechi International Medan.

Terima kasih telah meluangkan waktu untuk berbagi pengalaman Anda saat Anda tinggal bersama kami.

Saya sangat terganggu untuk mengetahui kekecewaan Anda atas kunjungan terakhir Anda bersama kami. Mohon terima permintaan maaf saya yang tulus atas ketidaknyamanan yang ditimbulkan dan yakinlah bahwa kami akan menyelidiki secara menyeluruh semua hal yang terkait dan tindakan perbaikan akan dilakukan jika diperlukan untuk memastikan tidak ada pengulangan di masa depan.

Terima kasih telah menyampaikan hal ini kepada kami, memberi kami kesempatan untuk memperbaiki kekurangan kami dalam usaha terus menerus kami untuk memperbaiki dan mempertahankan standar pelayanan kami kepada tamu terhormat kami.

Saya berharap dapat bertemu dengan Anda secara pribadi pada kunjungan Anda berikutnya ke Medan. Saya bisa dihubungi kapan saja

Dengan hormat,

Andy Dijab
Manajer Affair

Hotel Soechi Internasional
Dikelola oleh PT Novotel Soechi Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have been staying at Soechi International Hotel Medan for quite a while now when ever we're in town for business trips. This hotel has so much potential yet poor service and average standards let them down. Numerous times we have checked in, waited 5 mins for the elevator (1 out of 3 operating), get to our rooms and card keys don't work, so back down to the lobby (after another 5 minute wait). Rooms are ok, can't really complain too much, because you're only there to sleep, right? Wrong. There is a train line next to the hotel and a railway crossing, so expect to be woken up every hour or so when a loud diesel train toots its many loud horns to alert the oncoming traffic at the crossing, not once but multiple times for an annoyingly long time at all hours of the late night/early morning. Room service is average and waited 1 and a half hours for a simple meal after numerous calls and the staff saying it's "on the way". All the staff are very nice and friendly however the service as a whole is below par for such a large hotel. We have to stay here because it's what our company chooses for us, but if you have a choice I would recommend to look elsewhere. There are many great hotels in Medan that are great value. Tiara Hotel and the Aston come to mind.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank TheExpatPilot I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy D, Manajer Hubungan Tamu at Soechi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Mr theExpatpilot 1

Greetings from Hotel Soechi International Medan.


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your stay with us.

I was most disturbed to learn of your disappointment on your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and be assured that we will thoroughly investigate all matters concerned and corrective measures will be taken where required to ensure no repetition in the future.

I thank you for bringing the matter to our attention, giving us a chance to rectify our shortcomings in our continuous effort to improve and maintain our standards of service to our valued guests.

I look forward to meeting you personally on your next visit to Medan. I can be contacted anytime

Yours sincerely,

Andy Dijab
Guest Affair Manager

Hotel Soechi International

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Sakura Hotel
Grand Sakura Hotel
#16 of 73 in Medan
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
d`primahotel Medan
d`primahotel Medan
#10 of 73 in Medan
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#11 of 73 in Medan
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 73 in Medan
610 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Delta Hotel
Grand Delta Hotel
#50 of 73 in Medan
14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Polonia
Hotel Polonia
#24 of 73 in Medan
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soechi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soechi International Hotel

Address: Jl. Cirebon no. 76A, Medan 20212, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Medan
Price Range: £20 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soechi International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Soechi International Medan is a Business Hotel located in the heart of business in the city and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Soechi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Medan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing