We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Enjoyable Experience"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Medan
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"Enjoyable Experience"”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

In May 2013, we stayed for 2 days in this hotel. we stayed on the 6th floor with a room with no windows, but the room did not feel cramped rooms and room decor is quite good, also the cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel is quite good, for a restaurant where we had breakfast located on the top floor with the room itself partly open air, for breakfast itself we feel pretty good added with a friendly service make this hotel worthy enough to be recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    55
    57
    6
    6
See reviews for
22
21
8
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed in Hermes Palace for about one week. At first I stayed in the standard room which is essentially the same as the deluxe room. Only that is has no window. For me that is a no no because I hate the feeling of being locked up in a hotel room. Too claustrophobic!
The rooms are of average size, good enough for two persons with luggage. I wish they had more hangers in the cabinet to properly arrange clothes.
The bed is very comfortable, flat screen TV with international channels, free coffee and tea and water heater, a sparsely equipped mini bar and a small ref. Free wifi is provided. My standard room on the 6th floor had internetaccess via cable (only good for laptops) and after moving to the deluxe I luckily had also additional wireless connection for my phone.
The bathroom is sufficiently big with hot shower although the hot water could be a bit hotter for my taste. But no big deal, really. Overall, the rooms are quite nice, the brown thick carpets are perhaps not everyone's taste and show some cigarette burns.
Even when I don't exactly like Medan as a city the view out of the window on the 8th floor is nice. Even more so from the top-level Sirocco bar where breakfast buffet is being served. Breakfast is fine, a bit heavy on the warm meal side as expected in Medan. The staff is attentive and helpful.
The hotel also has a gym but I haven't tried it out.
For those who have business in downtown the location is ideal. Just a few minutes away from the Kesawan area and Merdeka Walk. Traffic, of course, is atrocious. But that is pretty much true for the entire city.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with windows. It makes all the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Q-Cuppster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I found this hotel thru agoda and i am happy with my choice. Service really attantive, simple little standard room ( no window) and wifi work really well in thir hermes sicorro resto at the top floor. I see Medan city from this resto. nice. Its match with the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuniErwinaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladesville, Australia
Level Contributor
465 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,790 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

For a Standard Room to be located up on level 7 was surprising. Everything looked great, the air smelt clean, the furniture looked modern & there was a large LCD TV hanging off the wall, something wasn’t right… there were no windows. The king bed in the Standard room was a firm spring mattress with fine 1000 thread count sheets but only 2 pillows. Our room had 2 pairs of slippers & no bath robes. The large wall mounted LCD TV, clock radio & bedside lamps for a soft room ambiance did plenty to set a relaxing tone for our stay. The room has an electric safe, a standard for any serious hotel & keyless lock which has become the standard. The mini fridge was inside a wooden cabinet with Tea & Coffee, kettle, drinking glasses including wine glass. A mould-free bathroom, large shower with clean glass instead of shower curtain. A hotel hair-dryer is also within easy reach, a great item for personal comfort. Another thoughtful feature is the large floor-to-ceiling room mirror, large mirrors are sometimes a good indicator of how much trouble a hotel has gone thru to design a great room & it’s also great for looking at yourself naked if you have a muscly body.

Our Hermes Palace room furnishings were of a high quality & custom made to fit the space rather than cheap off-the-shelf tables & chairs. Like all good rooms, the room has a hallway from the door to the main room space. This hallway has the walk-in wardrobe on one side & the bathroom on the other. I reckon this setup is better than stepping straight into a room with the bed in full view etc. Overall It was a very comfortable stay, so comfortable we slept in, I was lying comfortable in bed waiting for the sun to rise but forgot there were no windows, the naked woman next to me was also a distraction. Checking out 45 mins late at 12:45 noon, the reception desk didn’t charge me extra which was also surprising. Breakfast was included in the room rate but obviously we missed it by several hours.

The Hermes Palace Hotel reception desk was staffed 24 hours a day with a security guard at the door. Free WiFi was not accessible from our room. WiFi in the reception lobby was fast at about 100-80 Kb/s, good enough to make internet calls on. The lobby café ran out of some items but they do serve western style cakes & pastries. The hotel seems to have their own coffee brand which was very good & also served Kopi Luwak, poo coffee from the butt of a civet. We booked our room via one of the major hotel websites the day before & there were no problems at check-in. Check-out was literally less than 1 minute & friendly. The hotel has a policy of holding 200.00 IDR security in case you lose your room key. This was a very good hotel for its midrange price, I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights early Feb 2013. A friend made reservation for us and were promised a certain room rate, but upon check-in we were told a different rate which is higher. We were too tired to argue after a long day travelling from outside of Medan. Staff wasn't welcoming and don't expect a welcome drink as advertised. The room was in order BUT the bedsheet was not changed and it's blood stained!! Not much variety for breakfast but enough.
We chose this as it near to the airport and in the city. Many eating place just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Worth to stay Hotel. Reasonable price and you get 4 stars hotel luxury. Room very clean and breakfast very good... lots of choice breakfast menu... worth to spend and stay... will back again for sure.....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tiket.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Hendry18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Location wise is good cos it is near to the famous "tip-top" and also quite near to the old airport. The new airport will be ready by April 2013 as well as the MRT.
There are few seafood stalls just behind the hotel, Cheap and nice but we had a diffcult time in ordering as there's no pictures and they dont really understand English that much and we cant express our order in Bahasa. But it was fun cos we went looking at other tables' food.

Hotel- nice carpet, coffee/tea and kettle was provided.

Swimming pool isnt really or it might no exist at all.

Hermes coffee is a must try. Pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginger-tea-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#11 of 72 in Medan
484 reviews
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
1.0 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN

Property: Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN
Address: Jl. Pemuda no. 22, Medan 20151, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermes Palace Hotel Medan is a prestigious place for all businesses as well as leisure travelers. The enchanting hotel offers comfortable accommodation for all senses and indeed is the best place to stay in the heart of CBD Medan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing