We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hermes Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Medan
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We used this hotel as the transition between three weeks of living in the jungle of North Sumatra during a project with the rubber farmers and flying back to the UK. The rooms were air conditioned, comfortable and clean. The en suite bathrooms were really nice with powerful hot showers.

We agreed that the rooms were very good value for money but also that the bar was expensive with mediocre service. We eventually found that a short walk to the shop over the road saved us a fortune in bar bills.

The hotel concierge was very good at arranging a car and guide for a trip to the volcanoes about 3 hours away and our transfer to the airport.

The reception desk was efficient and polite.

If I was ever to need to stay in Medan again I would definitely try to book the Hermes Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwegbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermes_Hotel_Medan, General Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear pwegbr,

Thank you for this wonderful review of Hermes Palace Hotel Medan,

I am glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, especially with your room, restaurant and service that you received from our staff.

We look forward to serve you again in future.

Very Best Regards

Arif Setiawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

You can find food behind this hotel. And with 5 mins drive to Mutatulli business shops. Hotel room is small. I booked superior room but no window. Not so good without window, maybe is my habit. Room is clean and quite. Overall is good, breakfast served at rooftop cafe, u can have nice view of Medan city. Only wifi in lobby area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Dreamscometrue9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermes_Hotel_Medan, General Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Dreamscomestrue9

Thank you for having taken the time to share your recent experience at our property. Indeed We will change re-supplied about rooms for window in each rooms, then, actually We've provide Wi Fi facilities in each floor. We would like to express our apologies for the inconveniences you have faced. Your valuable comments help us in improving our internal processes.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Arif Setiawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is strategically located and has a roof top bar. Breakfast is ok but not that many choices. Staffs in general are very helpful but several might not be more alert if guests are waiting instead of busy on the phone/computer especially in the reception.

Room Tip: No swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahmad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermes_Hotel_Medan, General Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Rahmad D,

Thank you for choosing Hermes Palace Hotel Medan for your visit to Medan.

We are glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and courteous.

We have noted your comments regarding our reception services are not meet your expectation, We can assure you that we will follow up on this matter and we will improve on our services for the future.

Wishing you a pleasant and looking forward to welcoming you again at Hermes Palace Hotel Medan.

Best Regards,

Arif Setiawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It was my first time to visit Medan. Good thing that we chose the Hermes Palace, they had a good room rate and it's easy to find the hotel. The room was nicely kept, the size was big enough. Good to make me feel that it's not gonna be my last trip to visit Medan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImpulsivelyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermes_Hotel_Medan, General Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear ImpulsivelyMe,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive comments about Hermes Hotel.
We’re delight to know that you’ve enjoyed your stay and in particular our location, that our room rate price is right for you and the nice of our room.
We look forward to welcome you soon at Hermes Hotel Medan.
Sincerely,

Arif Setiawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in hermes for 3 days 2 ñight...upon arrival we managed to check in early 30 minutes however the receptionist not really friendly...they just so so...then we went to our room...its clean and very cosy...they have good wifi coverage at the lobby, inside the room up to the rooftop cafe...the hotel location is very convenient to shopping area such pajak ikan lama and others. The hotel served halal breakfast and its quite nice also. Upon check out, we check out late 1 hour and no additional cost incurred. Às conclusion, Hermes Palace Hotel is value for money to stay and its very convenient, confortable and cosy.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank WawaNie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermes_Hotel_Medan, General Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Mr/Mrs. WawaNie R,

Warmest Greeting from Hermes Palace Medan.....

We apologize sincere for failing to meet your expectation during check in that our reception staff is not friendly, and We assuring you that We have conducted a thorough customer care service training to improve our quality hospitality service.

Also, We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel.
Your comment on the room provided and the improvement our breakfast are most gratifying and will be share with the whole team.

Thank you for your review and we hope to be able to welcoming you back to Hermes Palace Medan in the near future.

Best regard,

Arif Setiawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nice room, pleasant stay. This is my first stay @Hermes. I chose the hotel because of its location, very close to city center. I like the roof top restaurant, where you can see a panoramic view of Medan city. Really nice in the morning, having an Al Fresco breakfast with great view. The room is comfortable with good wifi connection. I will definitely come back to Hermes Hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cendanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermes_Hotel_Medan, General Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Cendanary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive comments about Hermes Hotel.
We’re delight to know that you’ve enjoyed your stay and in particular our location, our fast wi-fi connection and the comfort of our room.
We look forward to welcome you soon at Hermes Hotel Medan.
Sincerely,

Arif Setiawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed there with my family on 1st May 2014, we book 2 superior rooms. The superior room has mo window, so if you dont like no window room, do not book it. The room is clean, pretty nice, the bathroom also clean, so everthing is okay. The breakfast does not taste good at all, they really should improve that. However the most annoying thing is that the receptionist is not nice at all, they dont even smile for a bit. I dont think that's appropriate for someone who work in hospitality business

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank cparamitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermes_Hotel_Medan, General Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear cparamitha,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to share your comments.
We’re glad that you find the room and bathroom clean to your expectation. However we’re extremly sorry that our receptionist was not friendly up to your expectation, this is definitely no the way we want to serve our clients. We apologise for that, the issue will be address with the receptionist concerned to ensure that we always provide friendly service at the reception.
We hope to welcome you back to Hermes Medan.

Best regards,


Arif Setiawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#10 of 75 in Medan
516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#5 of 75 in Medan
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
1.0 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN

Address: Jl. Pemuda no. 22, Medan 20151, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Medan
Price Range: £26 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermes Palace Hotel Medan is a prestigious place for all businesses as well as leisure travelers. The enchanting hotel offers comfortable accommodation for all senses and indeed is the best place to stay in the heart of CBD Medan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing