We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights at Angkasa. Did not know it is an Accor hotel or I would have booked through Accor instead of another website. Was given a room at suite floor. Spacious. Cheerful and helpful staff. Indonesian food was great but other cuisine such as Japanese miso soup and French toast leaves much to be desired. Certainly that part can be improved further. The room window was soundproof even though mine overlooked a busy junction, it was quiet. If tired of the hotel restaurant, there are others outside within walking distance. Do not walk alone in the pitch dark alley though, and the staff will always advise you to be cautious. At the suite floor, there is a private dinning lounge. Housekeeping needs to be a little attentive in the washroom area. The Siring bar behind the front desk is fairly lonely. Did not find anyone picking a drink 2 nights in a row.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces KFC and the direction of Marriott
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmund K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

When I booked this hotel it was quite inexpensive so I thought it would be a budget hotel. When I arrived I had a pleasant surprise. Under the name it had five stars. I don't think it was 5 star but it was good value. The rooms were large and well appointed with nice toiletries. Although it is aging it had a great feel. There was a sign up that it was closing for renovations - much needed I think as it looks quite tired. The pool and gym were good and there was an indoor spa pool - separate men's and women's spas. It is not a hotel where many westerners stay so some staff have difficulty with English. We were given late checkout till 2pm and used the pool then showered in the change rooms. breakfast was cheap but not inspiring and the buffet dinner was just passable. However, we ate at the Chinese restaurant and had a lovely dinner. Overall a good find.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SydneySandra31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

(+) Available for early check in. Hotel room is spacious but has kinda old fashioned furniture. Staff were friendly and helpful.
(-) doesn't offer airport transfer, limited restaurant choice nearby (only KFC, and several hotel restaurants nearby)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Wisnu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Most of the time I stayed at this hotel when visiting Medan. The hotel location is good. The room is spacious, well decorated and clean. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. But I think the check in process took too long more then normal time. The breakfast has variety of choices and good taste.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darnel-HDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is big and room is spacious. The location is in central of Medan. Opposite have a KFC. You cannot find others shops by walking. In room wifi is strong. Service of hotel is good. Overall is ok. I always stay in this hotel every time go to Medan for business.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Dreamscometrue9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Booked through Booking.com, and requested for non-smoking room. We arrived at 12pm and was told that there is no non-smoking room available in another 4 hours. Receptionist offered us the smoking floor with twin bed type. Need commitment from hotel for non-smoking room or confirmation. Receptionist was unfriendly but we didn't want to wait so long, so we take the smoking room, which in noisy aisle by the neighbors.

However the rest is fine. We spent the night peacefully and enjoy the room facilities to the fullest. It's old hotel, elegant and need modern touch a little bit.

Pros.
*. Complete facilities
*. Well maintained
*. Except the receptionist, all the staff were humble and very positive
*. Blue-Bird taxi pool integrated
*. TV Channels were fine

Cons.
*. A little bit far from Medan attractions
*. Aisle / Corridor very cigarette-thick air

Need change the carpet, there are few burnt mark

Room Tip: Choose price with breakfast
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flavius F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I booked this hotel through Agoda.com and after receiving confirmation, I emailed to the hotel management to request for non-smoking level. Hotel responded that the request has been acceded and we have been assigned rooms on non-smoking level. However upon arrival, I was told there was no more room on non-smoking level. I told them that it has been arranged, and they insisted that they had no more room except for those on smoking level. I surfaced the email with my iPad and they took my iPad into the inner office and then came back to say they will allocate non smoking level for me but we have to wait till 1-2 hours later.
From the condition of the room, it is obvious that the hotel has aged and maintenance was not tip top. Overall it was still not too bad staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank springriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.8 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 73 in Medan
612 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
1.4 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
0.6 mi away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa

Address: Jl. Sutomo no. 1, Medan 20235, Indonesia (Formerly Grand Angkasa Medan managed by AccorHotels)
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Medan
#4 Spa Hotel in Medan
#7 Luxury Hotel in Medan
Price Range: £35 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Medan's business and shopping district, the hotel is conveniently accessible for leisure and business. Approximately 39 km from the hotel, a 60 minutes drive away from Kuala Namu International Airport and a walking distance from Train Station (Railink - Airport-to-City train). Unrivaled spacious rooms for everyone, equipped with complimentary WiFi and contemporary furnishing, luxurious bedding and flat-panel TV. Our Grand Ballroom can accommodate up to 1200 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Angkasa International Medan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing