We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old carpet smell” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Medan
Jakarta
Level Contributor
164 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Old carpet smell”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

This is a very old hotel. You can notice by theexterior of the hotel.

The hotel lobby was kind a classic look, meaning need renovation.
The one thibg that bothered me a lot was the smell of the carpet from the lift until inside the room.
Its kind a humid.

The bathroom had no sewer,except the one in the bathub only, so u would have to shower inside the bathub.

The tv was like 10 years old tube tv, not even flat tube. Unbelievable!!!!

Location close to sun plaza, but 10 minutes walking distance. There were nothing around the hotel, such as mini market.

Icouldnt believe though the crowd in this hotel still, there were tourist group were staying at that time.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    49
    39
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
20
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Pick up at the airport was free and went smoothly. Check in was smooth and we rec’d a complimentary drink of tea, coffee, or juice in the bar, breakfast was included. We also could choose between one dinner buffet or laundry service (not sure if this was because we went through an agent to book the hotel). Stayed on the 7th floor and room was spacious, fully stocked mini-bar and complimentary water, tea and coffee and WIFI which worked very well. Towels are a bit thin, no washcloths but plenty of soap, etc. Bed is super comfy with two pillows each. There was lots of storage, a TV, safe, a few hangars, and a balcony. Our room was clean and very quiet. The floors are carpeted. A/C does get chilly but we just turned it off till the room warmed up.

Bar has live music but very smoky. We only went to one dinner buffet, a BBQ outside on the open veranda – they had lots of fans running so it stayed cool, and they had live music. There was an adequate selection of food. Breakfast was okay, there is an egg station. I found the coffee pretty terrible so I stuck with the tea. There is a fitness centre with pool.

The hotel is close to Sun Plaza but use the shuttle. I would not recommend walking around Medan – it’s very dangerous as the sidewalks are not maintained and traffic moves quickly. Not a pedestrian friendly place.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gbonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Just before flying to airport medan, i called the hotel asking for pick up. Not informed in the phone, later the hotel charge for the pick up almost twice of normal bluebird taxi meter (10 minutes travel). Well designed and maintained bathroom, two individual faucet, one for the bathub and flexi shower, another for standing shower. Less than 5 minutes to 2nd largest mall (sun plaza) and 2USD taxi to the largest (medan fair), makes me not very liking to stay in bedroom. Not because shopalholic, but because toooo cooolddd inside bedroom. Central aircond, even shut off the fan, the cold of corridor entering bedroom from below of roomdoor. Free bad wifi inside room after all. Twice a day room cleaning and compliment drink refill. There is suttle van for those two mall above ... i used 3 trips .... hopes they are free ... will know when check out ... this is my last day

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santaraindeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
221 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

The room is very comfortable, no noise from neighbours. Hotel staff is very friendly indeed and the breakfast was much more than we expected. Location is great, close to an impressive shopping mall.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

I stayed at Tiara Hotel, customer service and room = good. However just a few tips, whenever u go out for shopping or sight seeing, please ask on how much the taxi fare to your destinations from your hotel receptionist/bell boy (if u plan to take taxi) so u wont be overcharged by the taxi driver later. Everywhere u go and anything u want to buy, please bargain - they will always quote the highest price first. Please bear in mind, EVERY service they offer especially at the airport comes with its own price - please prepare the tips/service charge. If u dont want to pay, u can always say no to them...this include the trolley they bring to u once u got out of your car at the departure airport!

Have a safe holiday!

Helpful?
3 Thank bitreaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Medan hotels

Italy
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2008

For the price of a hostel in a european capital city, we enjoyed one night stay in this 4 star hotel, probably the best hotel in Medan.
We were treated wery well, and overall was a very good choice

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank inabigcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

I have stayed at a number of hotels in Medan in this category and consider this one by far the best. Opt for the business package, it seems to cost much less than the regular room rate and I have yet to find a catch! You get free access to the comfortable Executive lounge for a more relaxing breakfast and early evening tea and snacks. The staff are very friendly, and although you have to be a bit careful as sometimes their understanding of English is not too good, they do try hard to get things right.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Difficult to adjust the air conditioning
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MikeWReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#10 of 69 in Medan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
0.5 mi away
Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN
0.4 mi away
Adimulia Hotel
Adimulia Hotel
#11 of 69 in Medan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Jl. Cut Mutia, PO. BOX 1327, Medan 20152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiara Hotel is located in the heart of Medan, less than 10 mins from Polonia Airport and next to the Business District. Sun Plaza Mall is a short walk away although we are happy to arrange transportation should you need it.Our guests are primarily business people, however everyone is welcome and we are popular with international tourists as well. We have a reputation for clean rooms, and friendly staff and as such we have many long staying guests. Several of Indonesia's presidents have stayed with us over the years.All food is Halal and currently we are a smoking hotel, although we have non-smoking floors if you prefer.Recently we celebrated our 30th Birthday, so we are an older hotel. Because of this we are slowly renovating the rooms and amenities, and the work should be complete by 2015. Renovation work is carried out during the daytime and should not affect you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tiara Medan Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiara Medan Hotel And Convention Center
Tiara Medan Hotel Medan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing