We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place”
Review of Hotel Deli River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Deli River
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Deli River just for two nights - the first and last nights of our trip in North Sumatra. The staff is charming and welcoming, the rooms are spotlessly clean and nicely setup. In reality, the hotel is at least as good as it looks on the photos! The hotel arranged our trip from/to the airport and everything went well. Food is very good. The only regret is that the kitchen closes at 9:30 pm (but maybe that was special because this was Ramadhan month).
One of the best things about this hotel is its peaceful location that comes as a welcome contrast to bustling Medan. Note that it still takes 1h drive to the (new) airport in Kuala Namu - but in fact this is still better than from a hotel down town.
Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better (nice view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    72
    17
    2
    6
See reviews for
78
138
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had 3 nights at the Deli river hotel in Medan Indonesia. Very nice and comforteble rooms, delicius food and perfect pool. All is very clean and the owners and their staff are so nice and helpfull. They arranged pick up at the airport and we had a trip to the Jungle in the mountains. All was just perfect. The locations is a little out of the center of Medan, but we loved it. The prictures on their webpage are good but it is more nice when you get there.
Thanks for a perfect stay in Medan, Indonesia.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stadsholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We slept in this hotel the first and last night of our trip in Sumatra last June. It is highly recommended! What a great service, big room with a good bed, nice shower (!), great food, and what a peaceful surrounding in the busy Medan.

The tour we booked through at the hotel connected travel agency Tri Jaya Travel. Again, highly recommended. We did a 7 day trip with private car and driver along Tangkahan, Bukit Lawang (please go rafting! Was a great day was that), Berastagi, Lake Toba and back to Medan. It was a great experience. Everything was organized with perfection.

We have an unforgettable trip to Sumatra!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_MvdVall2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was really excited about this hotel but it was nowhere near as good a deal for money as the Grand Aston which was more expensive but soooo much better. The hotel is Ok, clean with nice gardens, and a great pool. The beer is not so good but very nicely presented in a wee basket, food was bit weird we got a boiled egg of breakfast one day and we never got what we ordered when we asked for room service. Fried rice was boiled etc there was a bit of a communication issue but the food itself was not bad. The owners were great and very helpful and the staff tried very hard to be helpful. They arranged a trip to see the orangs which was very good and the driver was the best we had in Indonesia very safe. I would probably not stay here again as the Grand was just so much better but if you don't want to pay millions for a night then this is a good clean hotel with all the services you cold want. This hotel is far away from anything except the river but taxis are cheap.

Room Tip: We wanted a double bed but got two singles this might have been agodas fault so check what your gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nglenjarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medan10, General Manager at Hotel Deli River, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guests, Thank you very much for your comment. Since we are a small scale eco-friendly family hotel with only 14 rooms we try our best to give personal service to our guests. Our hotel is not comparable to an international chain hotel with a totally different concept such as the Grand Aston. The beer we serve is Bintang Beer which is a tasty Indonesian beer, we serve it cold in a chilled glass. If guests did not get what they ordered for room service there must have been some communication problem, our staff always do their utmost to serve our guests in the best way. We have rooms with twin and double beds, if guests did not get the requested double bed it was not booked by the online booking company. There is a television in each room. We are happy to read that you write so positively about our staff who tried to be helpful and about our driver who was the best you had in Indonesia.

Best Regards,
Management of Hotel Deli River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The perfect place to get away from the smog, noise and traffic in Medan. The rooms are clean and luxurious compared to other North Sumatra hotels/guest houses (air con and hot water!) and the gardens are lush. Expect to pay more but worth it to be able to escape the heat and chaos for a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We used this charming hotel in Medan as a base for a five-day round trip to Lake Toba and Berastagi. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, with its own excellent bathroom and a lovely high bed (although we found the pillows a bit small and hard). Diana (of Trijaya Tours) organised our travel in a comfortable car, with a reliable, considerate and friendly driver, for our trip to Samosir Island. We stayed on the island for 3 nights in the Toledo Inn (a very large hotel, beautiful buildings and gardens, a wonderful view of the lake, although rather impersonal in our experience - but choices on Samosir seem to be limited). Our driver showed us many fascinating aspects of Batak life in that area, and we spent the last night at the Grand Mutiara hotel in Berastagi . This was another large hotel, more luxurious than the Toledo Inn & catering for large tour groups. The dining room was excellent & there was a fantastic view of the volcano Mt Sinabung smoking away, from the hotel foyer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraH606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I had Juli from the hotel to arrange driver and tranportation to Lake Toba and back. It was a great trip and my family enjoyed it very much. Our last day in Medan was at this hotel and the children enjoyed a relaxing swim and later had a good dinner in the room. Food was tasty and nice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lauknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medan
6.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
6.1 mi away
Aryaduta Medan
Aryaduta Medan
#6 of 72 in Medan
561 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
6.0 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
23.1 mi away
Mikie Holiday Resort
Mikie Holiday Resort
#1 of 8 in Berastagi
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deli River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deli River

Property: Hotel Deli River
Address: Jalan Raya Namorambe 129, Medan 20356, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Deli River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Deli River is a small family hotel about twelve kilometers outside the historical city of Medan. It is located in a lush tropical garden area that overlooks the banks of the ancient meandering Deli river. Our garden is home for more than 25 different birds, native fruits and flowers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Deli River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing